List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

I heard with Fyfe it was more that he has refused to speak to Freo or any other club. I think we just got fed up with him playing everyone and not opening lines of communication with us. We have fingers in several pies and if one of those pies looks a bit lukewarm and keeps getting moved around you need to start looking at others.
I know we discussed figures months back. It was explained to me that Fyfe then increased those figures and I believe we baulked

Would it be smarter for saints to take their early draft picks for this year, and put all their eggs into Tom Lynch next year? With Riewoldt about to retire, it would seem like it would be amazing list management if the saints could pull that one off.

But obviously there's no guarantees in that sort of situation, so everything gets thrown at what looks appealing at the present time.

In the event Jelly selects Gws/North, then grabbing those early picks and throwing everything at Lynch would be a must.

Mccartin Bruce membrey. Plus others like battle coming through... Oldest of them turns 25 this year. Same as Ben brown coincidentally.

Lynch would be amazing but for what we'd need to give up... we've got a desperate need of midfielders, we've drafted key position players specifically for this reason the past few drafts.

Armeet has been outstanding so far but he won't earn his pay packet until he has to manage a team playing finals with at least 6 guys who could earn huge dollars elsewhere. Right now I could manage our cap pretty well because we have Jack Steven the only guy really deserving of anything over $650,000. Carlisle probably the next most expensive as he was poached so getting overs. It would be hard for him to hit minimum cap not keep dollars down. It's like going to the shops with $1000 to spend and still having $50 left over when you already have everything you need. We would be pretty confident no-one wants any of our old boys so no pressure and Billings the only guy who looks like needing a pay rise and his form doesn't warrant ridiculous figures yet.

Yep the way sport goes into the future will be very interesting, it was pretty simple once, we are going to have to get some very good digital marketing people to help sell the sport somehow once the TV landscape dissolves. As much as people don't care about newspapers going, the constant talking about football 7 days a week makes us always front of mind in the south and western parts of the country. When you are finding Hutch and Caro painful they are actually still helping build the brand up ironically. One day all the chatter might stop and then we are in trouble as a sport.
Exactly, couldn't agree more.

I know we discussed figures months back. It was explained to me that Fyfe then increased those figures and I believe we baulked

I heard this as a rumour from a mate who follows Freo and has an insider there. Sam Mc Clure said on radio that he'd heard the same thing this morning so he's either heard from the same source or it's coincidental.

Perhaps it's just Freo who aren't getting spoken too and haven't put an offer in yet.

Not quite as bad as Dom Sheed . Can't believe someone threw his name up yesterday . I nearly vomited

You have to remember he's in Blake Acres draft pool so he's not a finished article. He's probably a bit like Koby Stevens but with a bit more scope due to his age. He's had a few games where he's got over 30 possessions already so he has talent there.

If schache is commanding 700k... lynch is 10x the player so 7mil a year about spot on

Schache is a number two pick though so there is always going to be clubs betting on his potential over his output. Especially so early on in his career.

If the rumoured contract offers are correct then so would I. 2 x $800k vs 9 x $1M. I reckon in the long run he would earn more if he stayed at GWS. But if the offer increases to 9 x $1.3M ($12M deal) then he should take it & run.
I don't see how if GWS win the flag this year that Kelly could honestly turn down $9mil 7yr deal elsewhere.

He'll have the flag on the resume & be a multi-millionaire before the age of 25

We should so our intentions to Kelly subtly.. converting the pool at Seaford into jelly should suffice.

Ghost we'll supply you the powder in bulk, you just need to accidentally trip and pour into the pool.

If we get Whitfield you might need different powder.

I don't see how if GWS win the flag this year that Kelly could honestly turn down $9mil 7yr deal elsewhere.

He'll have the flag on the resume & be a multi-millionaire before the age of 25

You don't get it up front though, he would be on about 60% of the actual pay-packet every year with portions of it reduced if match payments aren't paid. He will be guaranteed set for life if he doesn't do anything stupid from there still.

???

Of course it's not up front.

He's currently 22, 3 years of $1.2mil before he's 25 means he'd be a mutli-millionaire by 25

???

Of course it's not up front.

He's currently 22, 3 years of $1.2mil before he's 25 means he'd be a mutli-millionaire by 25

I'm not having a go at you. It's pretty hard for him to turn into multi millionaire though, he has to live on it, will probably buy a property bayside which is minimum of $2 million etc. The footy players get heaps compared to people their age but very rare they end up multi millionaires from salary alone unless like Buddy you are already set up then can just chuck your spare million a year into investments.

Lol at Plugger making a typo ( Blackman instead of Backman) and someones comment about Allir Allir turning into a a whole debate.
I don't get the love for Weller.

To be honest I don't either and i was being facetious. Surely there is more to football than being really really good looking.

If Kelly does re-sign for 2 years and we go after Whitfield (although he'd be expensive being contracted) we'd still be getting a gun with massive scope, probably not the complete player kelly is but will be an absolute gun in his own right, our firsts this and next year with a second coming back (ironically our second) by the end of the year would be a fair deal, take the hawks pick to the draft for a Rayner/LDU type and that's a very good haul.

Obviously would rather Kelly though hands down.

If Kelly does re-sign for 2 years and we go after Whitfield (although he'd be expensive being contracted) we'd still be getting a gun with massive scope, probably not the complete player kelly is but will be an absolute gun in his own right, our firsts this and next year with a second coming back (ironically our second) by the end of the year would be a fair deal, take the hawks pick to the draft for a Rayner/LDU type and that's a very good haul.

Obviously would rather Kelly though hands down.

I don't rate Whitfield in any way close to to Kelly but if it can save us picks and dollars I'm warming to him. I reckon until we sort out our contested centre work he will drop off a lot. He's not a guy who wins much of his own ball and needs supply like Gaff. At a club with a lack of inside ball winners he might struggle at first.

We could see if we could do a deal to get him and he French rent boy as a duo for the Hawks pick. Buntine has a knee injury but was starting to look a pretty reliable player last year. Rumours he's going to be shunted for cap space next year anyway. Whitfield isn't worth 2 firsts to me even with Buntine thrown in.

Lol at Plugger making a typo ( Blackman instead of Backman) and someones comment about Allir Allir turning into a a whole debate.

To be honest I don't either and i was being facetious. Surely there is more to football than being really really good looking.

He had some flashy games early on, that made him look exciting which raised his hype a fair bit. His brother turning into half the player he was has tainted the pretty boy by association.