Preview 2018 1st Semi Final: Hawthorn v Melbourne, 14 September 2018, 7.50pm @ MCG

Caught up with my brother in law today at a family function . Cats supporter but actually a really decent fella and very knowledgeable about footy

He thinks we a real chance Friday night . Thought Melbourne were very good but he was filthy at the Cats. Said they were lazy , disorganised and played into Melbourne hands .
Then when they worked into the game they fluffed their lines and got selfish again .

He also said Melbourne started getting well ahead of the ball and thinks our more organised play will hurt them if they do that against us .

Always interesting to hear a neutral supporters view on the game , plus he has seen both sides in the last month .
I wonder what he would have said if they kicked 10 1 instead of 1 10

Best against best ?? Hawthorn would ( and have) creamed Melbourne!!!
You on Shrooms mate??
Your frwd line is a revolving door of who the phuc is that types who are only dangerous when things go your way ( another words , downhill skiers ) Hawks frwd line may have had a mare vs Tiges but three AA’s and 14 premierships between them!! Your back line is held together by a ex Hawk Champ!! He was easily your cleanest ball handler/decision maker against cats!
As for midfield battle? Your Viney, Oliver, Brayshaw, Jones, Harmes and Tyson vs our Mitchell, O’Meara, Burgoyne, Smith, Henderson, Worps, Shiels, Howe and Morrison!! Don’t forget, these mids had heap of the ball against tigers mids and more than matched them, so underrate the Hawks at your own will!
Hawks by 28 points.

With all due respect, I’ll give you Smith and O’Meara, but Mitchell will turn over half his possessions, Burgoyne is a dead set champion of the game but looked slow and past it against Richmond, Shiels is a battler, and Worpell and Morrison looked so far out their depth in finals. Howe performed ok, but I’d still pick him after all our mids you listed. Henderson did look pretty good on Thursday night too, but can he play to that level again?

Don’t get me wrong, I would never right off the Hawks, far too accomplished a team for that, and I’m expecting a tough contest, but I think the one area we win comfortably is the midfield, you can exploit our forwards and backs.

I also think you should be praying for rain. Our round 4 clash we smashed you in the dry in the first quarter. When the rain came we sucked (not saying that’s why we lost). Same happened against Adelaide late in the year. We were up by 30 odd points, rain came early in the last and we almost lost it. We are dead set pathetic in the wet.

Good luck for Friday night, let’s hope for a cracking game!

Massive backward step if Duryea comes back in. Too many deer in the spotlight moments that can be catastrophic in a final! Not a massive Mirra fan either but I know he will give it his all and play his role whilst Stratts is out. Just don’t understand what Miles did wrong? Has pace and poise and was a major factor in us winning our last 6 games. Quieter against the Swans but so were his opponents!

Neither do I mate, he looked a class above today and it forces impey in defense which further weakens our side. We have limited line breakers in the middle especially no Cyril. Impey& Smith must play prodimatlly wing and fwd.
Put hendo or poppy or silk back if you need not our 2 best line breakers.
I think duryea will come in for nash .
Mirra for statts. Not really happy
Maybe schoe for cegs

People have short memories, up until 3 weeks ago Melbourne hadn't beaten a top 8 side. They then beat WC with no Kennedy and Darling went off half way through the first quarter in that match, they then beat GWS missing a bunch of players from yesterday's demolition of the Swans including no Toby Greene who is a star and then they beat Geelong who finished at the bottom of the 8. Well done Melbourne but lets see what happens on Friday night, you reckon a few of our boys aren't going to be reminding their lot about their mental demons.

I am not a fan of Duryea but without Stratton the defence is very inexperienced. I can see Clarkson picking him. For all his flaws he is a premiership player.
Put silk back in Stratton spot.
Defence with frawley,silk,Sicily,burton,Hardwick,impey still very capable.
Every yr they ride of the team that loses first wk of the finals. They usually come out and prove a point. Remember smashing adelaide after westcoast beat us

With all due respect, I’ll give you Smith and O’Meara, but Mitchell will turn over half his possessions, Burgoyne is a dead set champion of the game but looked slow and past it against Richmond, Shiels is a battler, and Worpell and Morrison looked so far out their depth in finals. Howe performed ok, but I’d still pick him after all our mids you listed. Henderson did look pretty good on Thursday night too, but can he play to that level again?

Don’t get me wrong, I would never right off the Hawks, far too accomplished a team for that, and I’m expecting a tough contest, but I think the one area we win comfortably is the midfield, you can exploit our forwards and backs.

I also think you should be praying for rain. Our round 4 clash we smashed you in the dry in the first quarter. When the rain came we sucked (not saying that’s why we lost). Same happened against Adelaide late in the year. We were up by 30 odd points, rain came early in the last and we almost lost it. We are dead set pathetic in the wet.

The fact you think Mitchell turns over half his possessions shows you know **** all

First of all Shiels is not the designated battler. That is just a load crap. Mitchell stats don’t suggest he turns half his possessions over no more or less than handball at all costs Oliver/Viney/Brayshaw. Worpel and Morrison overawed?? You think there will be a repeat of that effort? Our mids have been great this year. One A grade away from having a Top 4 mid group and you just push it aside like nothing?? Remember mate, your coach tagged Mitchell with your captain the last time we played so he MUST rate quiet highly.
Come Friday night, whether if it rains, hails or shines, we WILL be ruthless!!
I like how you and your like expect Burgoyne, Breust and Gunston will play poorly two weeks in a row!!

The bold points are where you were categorically wrong, the rest wasn't a bad assessment.

I love how we are considered hopeless after one poor game against the best in the business (and reigning premier) in the wet which they excel in.

This team was supposed to finish outside the 8 and we stormed into a double chance. We are better for the run and cannot see us crumbling as many suggest.

We have tightened up our first quarters on recent matches which is needed.

The build up is shortened and it is back to business for us, week by week.

As I mentioned last week, all it takes is an injury and the game changes. We were on the receiving end and it didn’t help.

Oue triple premiership heroes owe it to our newbies to taste some success.

I feel Friday night will set up our next era and be a defining moment. The prelim the following week is another free hit similar to the QF. A win this week will produce extraordinary belief.

KOLOKOTRONIS

I love how we are considered hopeless after one poor game against the best in the business (and reigning premier) in the wet which they excel in.

This team was supposed to finish outside the 8 and we stormed into a double chance. We are better for the run and cannot see us crumbling as many suggest.

We have tightened up our first quarters on recent matches which is needed.

The build up is shortened and it is back to business for us, week by week.

As I mentioned last week, all it takes is an injury and the game changes. We were on the receiving end and it didn’t help.

Oue triple premiership heroes owe it to our newbies to taste some success.

I feel Friday night will set up our next era and be a defining moment. The prelim the following week is another free hit similar to the QF. A win this week will produce extraordinary belief.

KOLOKOTRONIS
Mate there is one constent as a Hawk. Actually two. One we will keep winning finals and premierships, despite what the AFL community say and two we will consistently be written off by said people.

It's consistently stupid and consistently bizarre, but I'd feel weird without it.

We will smack Melbourne and I actually believe if we do we will win in Perth too.

Write off Burgoyne at your peril.

You know nothing about footy if you’re judging him on one final.

He’s just as likely to rip you to shreds this week. He lives for big finals.

So Burgoyne has one bad game and he's on the scrap heap and past it. He was almost best on ground both of the weeks before. But good on your for playing. Sally will give you your door prize.

On the rain. We used to be a briliant side in the wet, but we relied heavily on rioli for his tap-ons and 1%'s at ground level. :(

I think it will be an amazing game with Melbourne trying something that will surprise hawthorn and work for 22 minutes and then Clarkson will plaster that crack and game on.

Mate there is one constent as a Hawk. Actually two. One we will keep winning finals and premierships, despite what the AFL community say and two we will consistently be written off by said people.

It's consistently stupid and consistently bizarre, but I'd feel weird without it.

We will smack Melbourne and I actually believe if we do we will win in Perth too.

Not beyond the realms of possibility we win these 2 games, but we'd need Collingwood to somehow knockout Richmond to have a chance of winning the big 1.

Never say never mate.

Richmond is the best team this year by far and almost always the best team wins the flag, but not always. Occasionally some incredibly determined, well-structured team gets on a roll and causes an upset. It sounds like us to me.