List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread

We got a quality mid this year in Rowbottom (I think we agree squarely that he's the real deal). We have another coming next year in Gulden.

Correct re Rowbottom. I can't say the same for Gulden as he's just a big TBD at this point. I'm excited by him based on what I've heard from non-bias scouts, but to pretend like his size won't be a factor may be a bit naive. I've heard he's played his best footy as a kind of half forward who causes the most damage on a flank (like a shorter Dawson or Blakey.)

Either way I don't see how Rowbottom at 19 next year and Gulden who will be in the U18s next year, will help our midfield at all, but we've already been well over that already!

‘Free’ is a loose term. Might cost us more in salary cap if we have to outbid Essendon (so they don’t match) to get him without a trade next year.
Yes but then if the Bombers 'match' the offer it is their problem, not ours, as we can walk away IF they want too much.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Then we don't get Daniher.

Pick 4 (will become 6) should be used squarely on a midfielder.

Hopefully that dice roll becomes an All-Australian. If he doesn't, we lost out by not trading for an All-Australian.

Daniher to sure up the forward line and transition away from Buddy eventually, Williams to bolster the defence and possibly allow a Mills rotation.

Not bad.

Hopefully that dice roll becomes an All-Australian. If he doesn't, we lost out by not trading for an All-Australian.

We don't need an All-Australian forward anywhere near as much as we need an All Australian midfielder. Use the pick 6 for that and I'd have no complaints.

Correct re Rowbottom. I can't say the same for Gulden as he's just a big TBD at this point. I'm excited by him based on what I've heard from non-bias scouts, but to pretend like his size won't be a factor may be a bit naive. I've heard he's played his best footy as a kind of half forward who causes the most damage on a flank (like a shorter Dawson or Blakey.)

Either way I don't see how Rowbottom at 19 next year and Gulden who will be in the U18s next year, will help our midfield at all, but we've already been well over that already!

No one we draft this year will. Rowbottom is the exception. Not the rule. Kennedy may drop off over the next couple of years and Rowbottom fills that spot. Parker and Hewett are relatively young. I'd expect to see Gulden as one of those exceptions and playing seniors almost immediately. He's not TBD. He's the real deal. I've seen enough in the last 2 games. It would be nice to keep one of the first round picks and get a Serong. Equally, we might on trade our Jones pick for Constable.

So you haven't been watching him in the reserves?

But you have no idea you are getting a AA midfielder with that pick we dont have pick 1 or 2.

Trade one in? I'd much rather that than bank on a teenager but if you're giving me the choice between a teenager who is a midfielder and a 25 year old who is a forward, sorry but I'm going the teenager. That shouldn't be a surprise to anyone though. Haven't exactly been shy about how dire I think the midfield situation is.

That’s a nice assumption you’ve made there.

You think I’m not aware of the opposition? It’s the reason I want Florent in there who is a lot better at evading opponents than the current trio. It’s the reason I want Rowbottom in there who seems acute at understanding how to use time and space when you have it.

I’m rather enamoured with Parker and Kennedy as a Swans fan since before either of them started, but frankly I’ve had with them doing things that I PERCEIVE (arrest me) to be dumb as rocks. Refusing the simple handball to the team mate on the outside in space and instead opting to charge through the pack instead. It only SEEMS to lead to one of three outcomes:

1. The pack (aka the opposition you think I’m so unaware of) stopping Parker/JPK in their tracks and forcing a hack kick under pressure.

2. The pack (aka the opposition you think I’m so unaware of) stopping Parker/JPK in their tracks and forcing a hospital handpass under pressure, or in short, making it somebody else’s problem.

3. The pack (aka the opposition you think I’m so unaware of) stopping Parker/JPK in their tracks and flat out not letting a disposal out at all, which results in a HTB (where we lose possession) or another ball-up, where we’re so fatigued as you put it, and then have to do it all again.

As I said, none of that seems smart to me. When I look back at this season, the single image that stands out in my mind is the image of a Swans player getting themselves into a really good position, worked themselves into space, waving their arms and calling for possession, and Parker and JPK (and Hewett second half of the year) still deciding the better option was to try and take the opposition on themselves.

So don’t for a second think I don’t acknowledge the opposition. I see them very clearly and see the players who can work around the opposition and who cannot, those who play smarter to the team’s benefit, and those who play to the opponent’s benefit. The ‘opposition’ is the whole basis of my argument, an argument you may not agree with, but one that’s nevertheless caused you to bash my character over.

Williams?

Heard a few rumours that Dalrymple wants to get one of his old draft picks Bailey Williams up to Sydney since he is on the outer with Bulldogs.

Very good player imo.

Heard a few rumours that Dalrymple wants to get one of his old draft picks Bailey Williams up to Sydney since he is on the outer with Bulldogs.

Very good player imo.

I was hoping it wasn't him. We should not be giving away anything more than a 3rd or 4th rounder for him. Every year someone is going to free Mills up to move into the midfield. Horse has ruined Mills career.

So you haven't been watching him in the reserves?

I have. I'm seeing a little go-er who has a real crack but I'm also not seeing the creative and dangerous play-maker off half forward that has got him so much hype. That's no fault of his, he's a boy playing against men, but I think playing as an inside mid hasn't helped him show his best assets yet, and not sure they will.

No one we draft this year will. Rowbottom is the exception. Not the rule. Kennedy may drop off over the next couple of years and Rowbottom fills that spot. Parker and Hewett are relatively young. I'd expect to see Gulden as one of those exceptions and playing seniors almost immediately. He's not TBD. He's the real deal. I've seen enough in the last 2 games. It would be nice to keep one of the first round picks and get a Serong. Equally, we might on trade our Jones pick for Constable.

Well Bruce we may have to agree to disagree re our midfield stocks. Constable would be a great get though, not sure how we'd get him.

Mate I'm down with criticism. I really am.

But the way you word it it's as though you've played 300 games and have 3 Brownlows, yet the substance says you've never played a game. And you don't have to have played to have an opinion. My criticism is of the disrespectful way you deliver it. And the pedestal you place yourself on when you do.

Play a few games in the midfield and then tell me a ruckman isn't important. Understand the difference between chasing and tackling to win the ball rather than having it tapped into your lap and what that does to fatigue. It's as though, when you write, there isn't an opposition side out there doing their utmost to prevent our blokes doing what it is you say you want them to do. Do you not see them? You should look, because as much as we hate them, they're actually pretty good. It's not as simple as just "sharking the opposition taps". And even if you do (and Kennedy managed it many times) the opposition ruckman has tapped it to a place where the opposition mids KNOW it is going to go, so they're going to be right there when Kennedy sharks it! Are you blind to that?

Do you know where we sat this year for forward efficiency? 6th. That's right. 6th. With a bunch of midfield headless chooks and a key forward who you'd happily trade. And that's without Buddy pinging them from 50 out on the boundary. How in the world were we so high up in this stat if our mids are butchers and Reid is a hack? It's not culture. And it's not Rampe, Aliir, and Mills. It's partly Dawson and Blakey I'd say. And Heeney. But someone has to get it to them. And I tell you they'll be getting it to them more often if Naismith is palming it to our mids.
I’ve simply been following people’s comments and inside information and enjoy some posts more than others ..never registered as a login till now until your post made me say what a balanced and sensible post you’ve made which fits in with the way I’ve seen the year we’ve had ..created a logon to thank you for your post and maybe I’ll post again one day