List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread

Hogan's averaged more goals and have you forgotten which club he played for most of his career? I'd argue Melbourne's culture is just as bad as Essendon's.

And you missed my point re Buddy. He had quiet games, but very rarely poor ones where he actually played terribly. By his second year, he was averaging 2 goals a game, in his third year he kicked over 70 goals, and in his fourth year, he kicked over 100 goals in a premiership season. He'd then kick over 60 goals in his next six seasons. That is consistency. You don't get numbers like that by playing poor games. You've gotta have more going for you than one season, two years ago, to warrant the price Essendon will be expecting us to pay.
Comparing footy even in the mid to late 2000s to now is just silly though. Do you think a bloke like Gehrig would kick 100 these days?

And Melbourne may have had a bad culture, but they didn't get all their players banned for a year. Paul Roos was also coach for most of Hogan's career. Not nearly on the same level as Essendon's problems.

Hogan's averaged more goals and have you forgotten which club he played for most of his career? I'd argue Melbourne's culture is just as bad as Essendon's.

And you missed my point re Buddy. He had quiet games, but very rarely poor ones where he actually played terribly. By his second year, he was averaging 2 goals a game, in his third year he kicked over 70 goals, and in his fourth year, he kicked over 100 goals in a premiership season. He'd then kick over 60 goals in his next six seasons. That is consistency. You don't get numbers like that by playing poor games. You've gotta have more going for you than one season, two years ago, to warrant the price Essendon will be expecting us to pay.

joe has played in wins 37% of his total games

spent his career in a rabble

Still very much into crouch I’m told and will probably here about it this week

We have Spoken to him and his management
Wonder if the people complaining about Daniher will complain about Crouch given he has had OP problems himself.

Comparing footy even in the mid to late 2000s to now is just silly though. Do you think a bloke like Gehrig would kick 100 these days?

And Melbourne may have had a bad culture, but they didn't get all their players banned for a year. Paul Roos was also coach for most of Hogan's career. Not nearly on the same level as Essendon's problems.

Okay then I'll run with your perspective. We'll forget Daniher's 2014 and 2015 seasons when he was young. We'll also forget 2016 because Essendon were fielding their reserves team. And we'll forget 2018 and 2019 too because it's not his fault he had injury problems. That leaves... 2013 and 2017 to fairly base his career off?

What a career! We should give up pick 5, pick 9 and why not throw in Isaac Heeney too!

The 1980’s and 90’s Swans needed a high profile drawcard to bring in the crowds.

The 2020 Swans need on-field success to bring in the crowds.

If we give up the farm for Daniher, I’ll conclude that the club hasn’t quite come to that realisation.
That's simply not true though. We need both. Look at the effect Buddy has had.

Okay then I'll run with your perspective. We'll forget Daniher's 2014 and 2015 seasons when he was young. We'll also forget 2016 because Essendon were fielding their reserves team. And we'll forget 2018 and 2019 too because it's not his fault he had injury problems. That leaves... 2013 and 2017 to fairly base his career off?
Not saying we should ignore them, but you're acting like his seasons at 19-21 years of age are completely below average for key forwards in the modern game. Given Daniher's 28 goals in 2014 as a 20 year old obviously signaled that he's not a gun, McCartin's 11 this season must suggest he's a spud... right?
What a career! We should give up pick 5, pick 9 and why not throw in Isaac Heeney too!
C'mon mate, if you're just going to post nonsense like this, I won't even bother.

Heeney is a drawcard. Aliir is a drawcard. Swans fans love the Great Dane.

We no longer rely on the Capper/Plugger/Hall/Tippett/Buddy to attract fans.

Swans fans have matured in their understanding of the game.
Guarantee you Daniher is a bigger drawcard than anyone on our list other than Buddy.

Anyway, there's no point sooking about it on BF. It won't change anything. IMO we may as well be positive. One of the biggest names in the competition wants to leave a big Victorian club to come to us - that's pretty important in on itself.

im really kind of over the 'we need superstars or the Home and Away crew wont come to games' view that sometimes gets pushed.
It's not my POV, but it makes sense from the club's perspective. They're a business at the end of the day, whether you like it or not.
Are we are serious football club or a joke?!
This is a bit dramatic haha.

Agreed.

Go to an Auskick game & you’ll see just as many kids wearing no.5 as no.23.
Jumper sales disagree mate. And they disagree comfortably.