Yes the last thing they need is a aging star - they need to hit the draft badlyIf Geelong puck up Stuv they are fast becoming a retirement village. Think he’d give them plenty but with Gablett, Selwood, Danger and Co they are seriously old.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yes the last thing they need is a aging star - they need to hit the draft badlyIf Geelong puck up Stuv they are fast becoming a retirement village. Think he’d give them plenty but with Gablett, Selwood, Danger and Co they are seriously old.
Crouch 10 best gamesCrows would want our first round pick for Brad Crouch for sure.
I feel Dunstan is not much below B.Crouch , I just hope we find value when ever we decide who we want.
This is why Coniglio would be so good to get - just cash required - can Allan pull it off.
On form Brad Crouch is a grade above , anyone averaging 30+ touches is pretty good.
People want us to improve our list but don't want us to move on players that haven't been good enough to get us up the leader, we need to make hard decisions and be brutalOn form Brad Crouch is a grade above , anyone averaging 30+ touches is pretty good.
and Crouch gives a bit more spread.
I still feel we keep Dunstan if we can't get any value for him - what that value is I don't know , but if we don't get the big fish he stays.
Gerard Healy continuing his good form of making it up on the go. Talking on Steven - “he hasn’t played any good footy with intent for a couple of years.” Yep just a b&f and 18 Brownlow votes last year.
People want us to improve our list but don't want us to move on players that haven't been good enough to get us up the leader, we need to make hard decisions and be brutal
he went hard at Battle constantly on the weekend. Like really targeted him. Does he have a bee in his bonnet regarding the Saints?
What's the knock on Constable?
Tank apparently. And not the quickest.
Doesn't appear to be much else wrong with him and you'd think the tank issues will get better within a couple of pre-seasons.
Yeah, that's pretty much why so many Cats fans and others see him as having such great potential and why they aren't happy he's not getting many games. Still racks up the numbers despite his issues meaning you'd think he'll only get better (my old man is a Cat's fan so I get the inside word from him... haven't see a great deal of Constable myself).If he's getting 30 possessions he's going alright for no tank.
Haven't followed his career.Tank apparently. And not the quickest.
Doesn't appear to be much else wrong with him and you'd think the tank issues will get better within a couple of pre-seasons.
Interesting. Others threw his name up a while back.Yeah, that's pretty much why so many Cats fans and others see him as having such great potential and why they aren't happy he's not getting many games. Still racks up the numbers despite his issues meaning you'd think he'll only get better (my old man is a Cat's fan so I get the inside word from him... haven't see a great deal of Constable myself).
From what I hear, his strength is he's a natural footballer and ball winner. As Gringo mentioned, he has been able to rack up over 30 before quite early in his career.Haven't followed his career.
Is he an inside type that we need?
Tank is a concern given the game involves Two way running.
Skills?
Thats ridiculous if true. Dunstans much improved this year. Would be in our bests nearly every weekRegardless of what any of us think, the club have offered him a one year deal, that's pretty in your face and I'm surprised at it, I thought three for sure. The alarm bells are ringing
Hope we don't lose Steven and Carlisle , because when fit they are in our best 5 players - I think we do a better job of retaining players than most clubs.I still think you stock pile. Geelong don't move out a Mitch Duncan just because they have Ablett back. You want layers of depth and Dunstan is good enough with upside to keep, he costs little in wage but contributes and wouldn't get much in a trade. He's absolutely the type you ken. We probably lose half a dozen players this year easily as it is with Armo, Stuv, Billy Longer, Pierce, Roberton and Paddy all unlikely at this stage to go on. Could lose Carlisle as well. Those guys ike Dunny and Acres I would hold just for back up or improvement. If they get displaced they aren't worth heaps so won't lose much value.
In AFL player ratings we have Steele and Ross as 37 and 38 in midfield ranks and Stuv and Luke at 41 and 42. Gresham is classed as a small forward but is our top ranked player. I know you love those things.
Yes. AND would be absolutely what we need. Walks in best player and captain. With Hanners and Parker that would have our on-field leadership and experience heading in a much better direction. Would take a monster deal, but IMO absolutely gettable.Would luke Parker be gettable?
I like to call it the Goldilocks syndrome...Yes. AND would be absolutely what we need. Walks in best player and captain. With Hanners and Parker that would have our on-field leadership and experience heading in a much better direction. Would take a monster deal, but IMO absolutely gettable.
But be prepared for the avalanche of criticism you get with throwing a midfield name like that up. A player is always either too inside, too outside, too old or would cost too much, too injured etc
Fyfe (cant kick)
Crouch (not outside enough)
Bont (cost too much)
Cripps (not outside enough)
Gaff (not inside enough)
McCrae (cant kick)
Caldwell (too injured)
Cunnigton(too slow)
Treloar (cant kick)
Sloane (too old)
Jelly (cost too much)
Constable (too slow)
Hanners (too injured)
Sheil (cant kick)
Pendlebury (too old)
Danger (cant kick) etc etc etc
The player might indeed be 'gettable, but that's not the point in here. Unless the same player is between 21-24, is equal balance inside and outside, is quick, is an elite kick and costs less than a second rounder then this board doesn't want him. And if this mythical hybrid perfect mid did somehow appear for a second rounder, someone will say they aren't gettable because the player will only want to play at a successful / big club.
My guess is most people will just ignore the actually 'gettable' part with Parker is most comments will either say too old or too slow.
Its exactly the same circular conversation going on in here with ruckman. If you mention making an offer for an established / good ruckman, a couple of posters will jump on and say "that would be bad for Marshall's development" and / or "they wouldn't want to play 2nd ruck." If you mention a backup level ruckman, the same person will say "they are no good and we should stick with what we have." If you stay stick with what we have, the same posters say "why would we do that. We need to improve". Ones that are experienced are too old with no upside, and ones that are young are too inexperienced and we need someone ready to play. And around and around we go …
But the one rule seems to be that any suggestion has to be a mid / ruck. Absolutely cannot suggest any other tall or flanker because this board is absolutely obsessed with 'fixing' the midfield. The forwards only perform badly because of the midfields delivery. The backs were beaten because the midfield didn't help out. Our midfield cant compete with other good midfields etc etc.
It has become almost cult like.
Personally I think the backline is easily our biggest issue. But you fit in much better if you just say mids mids mids. Its just that we don't want and / or cant get any of the mids mentioned ...
Animal you just summed up the board perfect - when we are getting flogged they want to get rid of everyone , then when you mention a B.Crouch he is to slow can't kick and is always hurt.Yes. AND would be absolutely what we need. Walks in best player and captain. With Hanners and Parker that would have our on-field leadership and experience heading in a much better direction. Would take a monster deal, but IMO absolutely gettable.
But be prepared for the avalanche of criticism you get with throwing a midfield name like that up. A player is always either too inside, too outside, too old or would cost too much, too injured etc
Fyfe (cant kick)
Crouch (not outside enough)
Bont (cost too much)
Cripps (not outside enough)
Gaff (not inside enough)
McCrae (cant kick)
Caldwell (too injured)
Cunnigton(too slow)
Treloar (cant kick)
Sloane (too old)
Jelly (cost too much)
Constable (too slow)
Hanners (too injured)
Sheil (cant kick)
Pendlebury (too old)
Danger (cant kick) etc etc etc
The player might indeed be 'gettable, but that's not the point in here. Unless the same player is between 21-24, is equal balance inside and outside, is quick, is an elite kick and costs less than a second rounder then this board doesn't want him. And if this mythical hybrid perfect mid did somehow appear for a second rounder, someone will say they aren't gettable because the player will only want to play at a successful / big club.
My guess is most people will just ignore the actually 'gettable' part with Parker is most comments will either say too old or too slow.
Its exactly the same circular conversation going on in here with ruckman. If you mention making an offer for an established / good ruckman, a couple of posters will jump on and say "that would be bad for Marshall's development" and / or "they wouldn't want to play 2nd ruck." If you mention a backup level ruckman, the same person will say "they are no good and we should stick with what we have." If you stay stick with what we have, the same posters say "why would we do that. We need to improve". Ones that are experienced are too old with no upside, and ones that are young are too inexperienced and we need someone ready to play. And around and around we go …
But the one rule seems to be that any suggestion has to be a mid / ruck. Absolutely cannot suggest any other tall or flanker because this board is absolutely obsessed with 'fixing' the midfield. The forwards only perform badly because of the midfields delivery. The backs were beaten because the midfield didn't help out. Our midfield cant compete with other good midfields etc etc.
It has become almost cult like.
Personally I think the backline is easily our biggest issue. But you fit in much better if you just say mids mids mids. Its just that we don't want and / or cant get any of the mids mentioned ...