Autopsy 2021 Swans Vs Giants Elimination Final. Lost by 1 point

If we knew how bad the bottom half the 22 would be, we risk Mills. A hobbled Mills would have provided way more than some near the bottom

Correct. Once again though I will ask didn't we trade one away that is now All Australian ?

We don’t trade him and we don’t have Hickey…

Fox was solid in the last. Shows more attack on the ball then Bell ever has.

Mate don't get excited. I stated Fox should have played I'm just replying to a once again knee jerk ill informed stupid summation. Bell could have won the game but he certainly did not ****ing lose it like some idiots are suggesting. I'm actually at peace with the Bell miss because I never expected him to kick it. Parker yes I certainly would because he is Luke Parker. I am not focussing on James Bell losing the game I am focussing on the 22 losing it over the 100 minute period it was played. And that is exactly what happened.

What a ******* joke CD is. Are they taking the piss??
He took some intercept marks in the last as can be seen in his last quarter score. Their system punishes guys who miss kicks for goal, so I reckon they should also punish defenders whose opponent kick goals on them.

As much as it hurts, we almost certainly weren't winning the flag. I'm consoling myself that our picks are better, we massively outperformed expectations this year, and we have a longer offseason for all our players to recover.

Also, now Buddy has the chance to get a genuine ground invasion going when he kicks 1000.
That's how I'm reconciling with it. The pain tonight saves us pain in a week's or two week's time. Don't think we would have beaten Brisbane/Melbourne in a Preliminary Final, regardless of the Semi.

It also feels markedly different than 2018 which had been a frustrating season, and entering finals off the back of AJ's ACL. It feels more disappointing that we won't get to see the boys play any more great football this year, as compared to the frustration back then. I still remember going to a gig after that Elimination Final, and just being pissed off all night lol.

Mercifully for me, I really closely follow Brisbane as well, so can firmly hop on that bandwagon.

Florent drives me fu**ijg nuts

Trade bait imo. He has no impact because others have leapfrogged him and he can't get into games.

Melican 3rd best player 🤔 🧐 🤨 Better than Hogan 🤣

Feel like one of the major issues with CD (and in fairness, it applies to all player rating systems really) is it doesn't account for direct opponent well. Melican was actually really good with ball in hand - he was just a liability 1v1 for three quarters.

Which is also a super frustrating thing about him. He has all the tools. He's shown immense potential and actually delivered plenty of times. But he's just not there any more. His confidence seems shot - losing his feet and/or his man early in 1v1s, punching instead of marking... just be the player you were 3 years ago!

No love for McCartin and Rowbottom on here who I thought were two who did not look even remotely phased by the increased finals intensity. Neither blew up the stats sheet but they were steady as rocks I felt.

Edit: Oops I see Superstar swan you've covered it kinda haha

Yeah, impressed with Rowbottom.

He had a real dip late in the season but he finished the last couple of games of year in respectable form. Relieved, as I thought there must have been something seriously wrong with his knee.

Glad to see that he's got his confidence back!

Florrent is a weird one. For every good tackle or evade he did, he'd just fu** up the kick. There was one passage where he did something awesome and as I was screaming "Yes Ollie" he kicked it to an uncontested GWS player

Forward 50 on the boundary, I had the same reaction lol

Well, at least the future looks bright. Gould needs to step up to the level, another per season into Logan and Campbell and some smart trading. Should be a busy summer. Hopefully we can enjoy a season not COVID affected and get back to the footy…lAFL and local.

Well. Gutted is the perfect word.

I've said enough about Melican and Bell in the past. Fox was a permanent fixture in our defence for over half a season and then somehow finds himself on the out. Didn't make sense then, doesn't make sense now. Arguably the defence is the line you need the most stability then. Bell? Jesus. Apparently he had a run with role on Whitfield? That was non existent. He should never have been selected.

Heeney was elite. Big game player. Though he really does need to do it on a consistent basis.
Papley was very good. And almost was better in the middle then forward. He's had that Stringer like role for the better part of the last month and hes excelled at it.
Buddy, was thereabouts. Could've put money on him kicking that goal in the final minutes. He's had a good year.
Parker I thought was good. Gulden was good. McInerney was somewhat good. Lloyd was bad.

I dunno. I'm gutted. Purely cuz it's GWS. If it was a higher placed team I'd be okay considering where we were last season. But it's GWS. This one will sting for a bit.

Bring on Round 2 v Hawthorn Friday night SCG.

Correct. Once again though I will ask didn't we trade one away that is now All Australian ?
All done now Wolfy.
Shits me but all done.
We can make some hard decisions on players that won't be part of it going forward.
Cut our losses wityh those that want too much to stay & stick to our guns. Parker, Heeney, Gulden. Look after them.
Dawson.........you were lazy early days then you were hurt. You owe us some of your time.
People have bagged Melican. He had a better game than McCartin. Made some errors but McCartin is no angel.
COR just isn't part of any solution though.

I look at Melican like a younger Grundy who had some putrid games early days where he kept falling over.
I will back him.
Yes Aliir is a fail on our part but if we don't have $$$$ the who is the one biggest drain on the $$$$, no matter how much worth it he has been?

Autopsy 2021 Swans Vs Giants Elimination Final. Lost by 1 point