List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

CARLTON​

Draft picks: 10, 29, 49, 66

List needs: Outside run, wingman, key defensive depth

Who could be available at first pick: Ollie Hollands, Mattaes Phillipou, Jedd Busslinger, Cam Mackenzie

Who’s in the mix after that: Max Gruzewski, Jaxon Binns, Jason Gillbee, Tyreece Leiu

If Carlton moves up the order from pick 10, powerful midfielder-forward Bailey Humphrey or smooth-mover Cam Mackenzie would give their midfield mix a point-of-difference. The Blues secured Blake Acres on the cheap but their outside run remains an area it can bolster at the draft. Ollie Hollands, the brother of Gold Coast’s Elijah, took out the 2km time trial with a sizzling time of 5:54 and can play all over the ground. He would be a nice fit at the Blues, having risen into top 10 calculations after a strong finish to the year. Taller midfield-forward Mattaes Phillipou also ran a strong 2km and would be around the mark at pick 10. Or if they look to shore up their tall defensive stocks for the future – having been depleted in that department mid-year – then WA interceptor Jedd Busslinger fits the bill. Wingers Jaxon Binns and Jason Gillbee present as outside midfield options with their next two picks. Overlooked 2022 prospect Tyreece Leiu is one to watch late in the piece after an exceptional finish to the year in Carlton’s VFL side as a key defender, with the club impressed with his development.

Latest word: Carlton made their intentions clear during the trade period that club wishes to improve its draft hand – whether that be on draft night or beforehand. Would the Blues give up pick 29 or a future selection to shuffle further into the top 10?

I really like konstanty, reckon whoever picks him up gets a ripper
I do too. Ex soccer player so has endurance and quick feet. Not sure we go another small but agree he’ll be a ripper.
Nice crack, but think Allan and Knobel get picked up earlier
I love you man, but you’re like my big brother and bring me constant heartache and break all my toys.
I'll go with Phillipou, Hotton, Keeler, Van Es (dependent on getting the extra pick ~20 that we're after)
Nah, nah, naaaaaaaah. We don’t got no extra 2nd rounder (yet). If we get another 2nd, thatd be easy. Try the 4 we got. I used your list by the way. That’s why Arrow yelled at me. I got no idea otherwise.

I do too. Ex soccer player so has endurance and quick feet. Not sure we go another small but agree he’ll be a ripper.

I love you man, but you’re like my big brother and bring me constant heartache and break all my toys.

Nah, nah, naaaaaaaah. We don’t got no extra 2nd rounder (yet). If we get another 2nd, thatd be easy. Try the 4 we got. I used your list by the way. That’s why Arrow yelled at me. I got no idea otherwise.

We all love you wooly

Alright, Arr0w I'll pay it. Olli Hotton looks legit. Fast, clean and passes the eye test. Could see him playing R1, 2023 in our side.

Question is, what kind of player is our list management team looking at - esp if we jump up the order?

Phillipou, Hotton, Hollands all in that same 'type' of player (mid-sized mid capable of playing around the ground) but all with different strengths.

Is a lad like Olli Hotton a clear upgrade or better potential than a Josh Honey?
Great question. Honey needs a huge offseason for mine to stamp his place in the R1 side. For various reasons, didn't deliver in 2022. Has so much potential but right now I'd give even odds of him making it or fading to black.

Hope its the former.

My best 3 x 'smalls' right now from what we have is Durds, Mots and Owies but hoping someone like our upcoming R1 pick or Honey usurps him.

NB: not including Jack and Jack here, who are both in the best 7 with Harry and Charlie.

Alright, Arr0w I'll pay it. Olli Hotton looks legit. Fast, clean and passes the eye test. Could see him playing R1, 2023 in our side.

Question is, what kind of player is our list management team looking at - esp if we jump up the order?

Phillipou, Hotton, Hollands all in that same 'type' of player (mid-sized mid capable of playing around the ground) but all with different strengths.

Is a lad like Olli Hotton a clear upgrade or better potential than a Josh Honey?

Great question. Honey needs a huge offseason for mine to stamp his place in the R1 side. For various reasons, didn't deliver in 2022. Has so much potential but right now I'd give even odds of him making it or fading to black.

Hope its the former.

My best 3 x 'smalls' right now from what we have is Durds, Mots and Owies but hoping someone like our upcoming R1 pick or Honey usurps him.

NB: not including Jack and Jack here, who are both in the best 7 with Harry and Charlie.

I do believe Hotton is the "type" we need, also similar to others in this draft like say a Burgiel.

Athletic, quick, with scoreboard impact. The benefits are that these types are balanced/outside mids first, but dangerous inside 50

I believe Hotton has better footy IQ compared to Honey, and their junior years indicate, that Hotton finds more of the ball

The other benefit, Hotton can play in any arc. A running, atracking, rebound defender, a balanced mid and a genuine forward

I do believe Hotton is the "type" we need, also similar to others in this draft like say a Burgiel.

Athletic, quick, with scoreboard impact. The benefits are that these types are balanced/outside mids first, but dangerous inside 50

I believe Hotton has better footy IQ compared to Honey, and their junior years indicate, that Hotton finds more of the ball

The other benefit, Hotton can play in any arc. A running, atracking, rebound defender, a balanced mid and a genuine forward
Hotton seems like too much of a reach at #10, we should trade down if we are keen on Hotton and therefore trade #29 up

Intriguing how we differ. Discussion was on the perception of Phillipou, Hollands and Hotton, followed by a Hotton/Honey comparison.

You see Hotton as rounded and Phillipou as more a forward. I see the opposite. Hotton is effective as a midfielder, but absolutely is a forward first at the next level. As suggested in another reply to your post, Hotton is a reach at 10/11. If we are determined to gain another pick between 10 and 29, I see Hotton as the target for that reach. For mine Phillipou and Hollands have much more long term midfield upside, although all three have the scope to start their careers “on the outside”.

Honey as a comparison is just not there. Honey is a maybe, a strong body with great traits, but questionable forward smarts. He would benefit from being exposed to other areas of the ground, but as yet has been stymied by niggling injuries denying him a solid run at his “prime” position. I would like him to consolidate his potential in 2023, but be utilised in defence or as a winger as well to round his development and explore his potential. As a genuine forward threat, Hotton would be significantly ahead of Honey for mine.

Looking forward, we need multiple throws at the stumps from a midfield perspective. We have parted with Setterfield, Hayes, Newnes and Stocker as perceived midfield options in recent weeks. A quick glance at next year’s possible or even probable delistings, we have Ed Curnow, Dow and Fogarty, with the jury out on Philp and even Cuningham. It is not inconceivable, we could part with them all in certain circumstances. Our developing midfield would be left arguably non existent outside of Carroll and possibly Kemp. We have short term cover in the top team with Doc, Williams, and a couple of others who could pinch hit inside, but need to start on a new crop of midfielders.

I like the suggestion of drafting two mid/forward hybrid types, key defensive depth and definitely a key forward who can ruck. Midfield capable players surely take up the top end of the draft. We need depth keys, not generation next at the top end of the draft.

Intriguing how we differ. Discussion was on the perception of Phillipou, Hollands and Hotton, followed by a Hotton/Honey comparison.

You see Hotton as rounded and Phillipou as more a forward. I see the opposite. Hotton is effective as a midfielder, but absolutely is a forward first at the next level. As suggested in another reply to your post, Hotton is a reach at 10/11. If we are determined to gain another pick between 10 and 29, I see Hotton as the target for that reach. For mine Phillipou and Hollands have much more long term midfield upside, although all three have the scope to start their careers “on the outside”.

Honey as a comparison is just not there. Honey is a maybe, a strong body with great traits, but questionable forward smarts. He would benefit from being exposed to other areas of the ground, but as yet has been stymied by niggling injuries denying him a solid run at his “prime” position. I would like him to consolidate his potential in 2023, but be utilised in defence or as a winger as well to round his development and explore his potential. As a genuine forward threat, Hotton would be significantly ahead of Honey for mine.

Looking forward, we need multiple throws at the stumps from a midfield perspective. We have parted with Setterfield, Hayes, Newnes and Stocker as perceived midfield options in recent weeks. A quick glance at next year’s possible or even probable delistings, we have Ed Curnow, Dow and Fogarty, with the jury out on Philp and even Cuningham. It is not inconceivable, we could part with them all in certain circumstances. Our developing midfield would be left arguably non existent outside of Carroll and possibly Kemp. We have short term cover in the top team with Doc, Williams, and a couple of others who could pinch hit inside, but need to start on a new crop of midfielders.

I like the suggestion of drafting two mid/forward hybrid types, key defensive depth and definitely a key forward who can ruck. Midfield capable players surely take up the top end of the draft. We need depth keys, not generation next at the top end of the draft.

We certainly differ on Hollands and Hotton. I see limited hurt factor in Hollands, polar opposite to Hotton

Phillipou is a naturally better player than both, but as stated previously, I have go-home concerns. So if he was to slide to our pick, I would let him to continue to slide

Rating will always be discussed in 3 ways, reach, just, slider, until of course when they start producing at the next level.

Hope its the former.

I see him as a direct upgrade on Owies. Honey will have his work cut out for him this year if Cuningham, Martin, Motlop, Fisher, Acres, Kemp, and O'Brien are all up and running.
Hotton seems like too much of a reach at #10, we should trade down if we are keen on Hotton and therefore trade #29 up
This. Would be trading down to secure him due to limited midfield exposure.

I want Phillopou now.

Just read somewhere he would take himself with the number 1 pick. Liked the confidence it gave off. Something we need
Read that, too. Wasn't the only one either - Tsatas backed himself. That confidence can be a great driver but can equally give off FIGJAM signs.

No idea which is which for those two.

I want Phillopou now.

Just read somewhere he would take himself with the number 1 pick. Liked the confidence it gave off. Something we need

Agree, I love confidence in a kid. If you’re crossing the white line the number 1 thing you need is confidence, attitude is number 2 so if he has a great attitude to get the best out of himself on the training track and in his own time then it wouldn’t be often that player doesn’t make it.

I see him as a direct upgrade on Owies. Honey will have his work cut out for him this year if Cuningham, Martin, Motlop, Fisher, Acres, Kemp, and O'Brien are all up and running.

This. Would be trading down to secure him due to limited midfield exposure.
OMG I totally spaced on Fisher who is obviously first choice half forward-mid. I can see a world where Owies struggles to get a game in 2023. If so, we'll be better for it. But I do love Matty's endeavour and has come from a further back so is far from 'done' in his development.

Nothing wrong with FiGJAM signs. Some athletes thrive with it.
View attachment 1538148
Reckon a certain ex-Roo and recent Pick 1 has big FIGJAM vibes and he does NOT appear to be thriving with it. Need to be team-first in this game above all, with self-confidence and flair a distant second place.

I’d still be contacting COL for a draft trade. 10/29 for 16/25/27.

Controversely, I’d (now) then take George, Lemmey and Teal. George is that power mid/fwd ala Petracca/Martin and worth the gamble. Lemmey is a pure silk KPF we can develop. Teal i have been told is way underrated after a late start to the year. 190cm rebound and run with great foot skills - wing option. Asscoiate who knows Oakleigh Chargers well says he’s worth a second rounder plus. Pick 49 - take Hagan or Noble (polar opposites I know).

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft