List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA

How would you feel about extending Fyfe's contract from one remaining year to three or four remaining years?

That's how that conversation goes.
Yeah, I'd prefer to wait until the end of next year. If he hasn't managed to get on the park he may retire early. Just suck it and see RE the dollars.

Don't want to extend him too soon.

A bit of hot news for you; we are dropping a large contract in front of Jackson. Salary cap squeeze is caused by that kind of thing as well.

Really no need to be condescending.

I'm not privy (as I assume none of us are) to exactly what we're paying everyone but given the breakdown and current profile of our list it's not hard to see we'd have some space to bring someone in, especially as a lot of our good players still haven't reached their peak (and maximum contract value) yet. With the necessary caveat that it's all based off media-driven rumours, we have a very competitive offer in front of Logue that he'd typically take if not for a few huge offers floating in from over East. I agree with your original premise that it's a bit ridiculous for us keyboard warriors to have a crack at someone who just wants to earn as much as he can in what is only a short career.

I don't see a Jackson contract causing problems with the cap now unless it's eye wateringly overpriced. Further down the line, we may start to run into trouble.

We have a player being paid over a million bucks watching for most of the season. That's where the problem
Don't agree.

We gave out a generous and long contract to lock down the games best player. The club wanted that certainty, and largely had a list that didn't deserve payments that would make that an issue. He comes out of contract next year. If we can't find a way to manage that I'd be amazed.

Really no need to be condescending.

I'm not privy (as I assume none of us are) to exactly what we're paying everyone but given the breakdown and current profile of our list it's not hard to see we'd have some space to bring someone in, especially as a lot of our good players still haven't reached their peak (and maximum contract value) yet. With the necessary caveat that it's all based off media-driven rumours, we have a very competitive offer in front of Logue that he'd typically take if not for a few huge offers floating in from over East. I agree with your original premise in that it's a bit ridiculous for us keyboard warriors to have a crack at someone who just wants to earn as much as he can in what is only a short career.

I don't see a Jackson contract causing problems with the cap now unless it's eye wateringly overpriced. Further down the line, we may start to run into trouble.
Apologies for the condescension.

My point is that we have a list profile which looks like having significant cap issues. Serong, for example should be in discussion for a large 5 year deal. Fine, but he is one of several that are going to take some management to prevent the poachers from coming.

I'm not saying we are low balling Logue, but I think it is very similar to what is happening with Jackson. He has had a contract put in front of him to entice him to leave.

On balance I think players loyalty to club is greater than club loyalty to players. I strongly object to him (or Fyfe) being denigrated for going about the business of his career.

On the flipside, as a contracted player I support the club being prepared to not trade Lobb if it is not in our best interest. Doesn't mean we're being twats either. It's business.

If Jackson falls through, who do we target in the offseason? Pickett or Bolton?

If Freo was a top four side and just lost a qualifying final... and key players were injured... and we had Pavlich on big deal footy media, I expect we would be having a story floated around this week about one of the players we are supposed to be losing potentially staying afterall.

Just to keep up morale.

Apologies for the condescension.

My point is that we have a list profile which looks like having significant cap issues. Serong, for example should be in discussion for a large 5 year deal. Fine, but he is one of several that are going to take some management to prevent the poachers from coming.

I'm not saying we are low balling Logue, but I think it is very similar to what is happening with Jackson. He has had a contract put in front of him to entice him to leave.

On balance I think players loyalty to club is greater than club loyalty to players. I strongly object to him (or Fyfe) being denigrated for going about the business of his career.

On the flipside, as a contracted player I support the club being prepared to not trade Lobb if it is not in our best interest. Doesn't mean we're being twats either. It's business.

Agree on all fronts :thumbsu:

For the record my worry with Jackson isn't the player, a Jackson/Darcy pairing has the potentially to be ridiculously effective (and that's simplifying the latter's role a lot). It's mostly the possible knock on effect in keeping our list together, given if he comes it clearly won't be for a carton and a Kayo subscription. I think the club have handled things relatively well so far by locking away players like Young and opening themselves up to a short-term loss of someone like Acres to make some wiggle room for a bit of extra on top of Serong's next deal. Can't deny it could spectacularly backfire though.

Those guys would be looking to come for massive coin, especially Bolton. Great to have, but not where I want our budget spent.

Acres for Rioli?
Yeah but with Lobb leaving and Jackson (in this scenario) out of the picture, we have decent cash reserves to spend. Picture Bolton alongside Amiss and Freddy.

Darcy Cameron would be the perfect replacement should Lobb leave and we miss out on Jacko.

Considering he signed a new deal recently and wouldn't be cheap anymore anyway thats a null and void post.

Yeah but with Lobb leaving and Jackson (in this scenario) out of the picture, we have decent cash reserves to spend. Picture Bolton alongside Amiss and Freddy.

You reckon he could bring the ball to ground consistently in marking contests?

We would have to reorganize our forwardline in the short term to match Richmonds/Collingwoods while our talls develop. But once we have Treacy and Amiss kicking bags, our forwardline will be deadly.

For the record my worry with Jackson isn't the player, a Jackson/Darcy pairing has the potentially to be ridiculously effective (and that's simplifying the latter's role a lot). It's mostly the possible knock on effect in keeping our list together, given if he comes it clearly won't be for a carton and a Kayo subscription. I think the club have handled things relatively well so far by locking away players like Young and opening themselves up to a short-term loss of someone like Acres to make some wiggle room for a bit of extra on top of Serong's next deal. Can't deny it could spectacularly backfire though.
Yea, but losing Lobb, Logue, Acres, Meek and Tucker would be ordinary. Would immediately set us back a season. We are better positioned next year with them than with Jackson. And largely they would be leaving due to cap management.

Hang on a minute! You forget mate ... it could be a carton of hazy IPA

Jackson & future 3rd
8 and future 1st
Acres for future 2nd.
Logue & Tucker to north - years compo pick & 55
Meek to WCE for 38
Lobb & 14
8 & 28

In
Jackson
Compo pick (19)
Future 2nd & 3rd