Preview 2022 Rd 23 Carlton vs Collingwood Sunday August 21 3:20PM @ MCG - Team Post #1305

Don't you just love Charlie.
He loves the club and will bleed for the club.
Really want him & Harry to have a monster day.
I sense that our whole team are really switched on.
As has already been mentioned. The penny has dropped. They all know they can be a force and take it up to any side.
Forget about Movie world or Dream world. Strap yourselves in folks, we are in for the ride of OUR LIFE !!! :D
I want to see him get busy early. 4 goal first half.
Him being involved gets the crowd involved, and lifts the players around him
If Charlie kicks 5+, we win

We have seen time and time again that Voss likes to go back to his best 22 when given the opportunity and that is what he will do this week IMO.

Named a few guys on the bench who will need to prove their fitness and if they do they will play IMO.

B: Marchbank Young Docherty
HB: Saad Weitering McGovern
C: O'Brien Cripps Cottrell
HF: Martin McKay Owies
F: Durdin Curnow Fisher
OB: Pittonet Cerra Walsh
IC: Williams Hewett Setterfield Silvagni
SUB: Stocker
EM: DeKoning Motlop Newnes Plowman

It's an exciting team because it's pretty much our best 22 with Setterfield replacing Kennedy in that midfield spot. It's the first time we have had a look at our best 7 defender. 7 defenders, 5 followers, 2 wingers, 7 forwards, 1 main ruck which has been our preferred structure.

I doubt TDK comes in for Silvagni, he wasn't good enough in the VFL despite the weather being extremely poor however Voss has indicated on one occasion that he may prefer this option but it failed dismissably when tried last as TDK has not done anything as a forward yet.

Fair enough to state that Williams may not be fit but Stocker is not fit. Blind Freddy can see that his running capacity is low. It's his biggest knock, it's obvious. he can play footy but struggles big time to run both ways. So I think if Williams, who has been great for us this season, if he trains well he plays.

As for Hewett, we have seen how good he is over and over again and how good he was against this mob last time. If his back is good then he plays IMO.

The way I see it, we need these guys going as well as they can to do any good in the finals this season and to achieve that we need to get games back into them and do that now. Getting a game into Hewett, Cerra and Williams (who we need to do well in finals) is what we need now before finals/the break, not them playing their first game back in finals. No point making finals and just bombing out like Essendon last season, if we are to make it we may as well be primed to do well.

Voss will back the quality of these guys and back them in to play well and back this team in to beat Collingwood which IMO, it should.

Fielding that team will put us in the best possible position going into finals and that is the way we will see it IMO.
Assuming everyone is fit, this is a great side to have on the park

I have to admit, Cottrell was never part of my best 22 - but, his performances this year has changed my mind

Don't know where to put this, but just purchased 3 slabs of Baggers22!

Putting them on ice until we play in a GF.....don't make me wait to long!!!
Unless we somehow make this years GF then I'd scrap that idea, beer's got a pretty short shelf life. They'll be garbage by finals 2023.

Stubbies?? (Refuse to drink tinned beer)

Full strength??

Carlton Draught cans mate

I come in peace

Bitter sweet for me this weekend as I lost a close mate this year who loved the blues. Watched most of your games with him on the tv.

All the best on weekend, there is a part of me that wants you to win even though the Dogs miss out. Prefer we win and you win rather we lose and you lose.

Either way around 6 pm Sunday there will be a tinge of sadness and happiness in me and if you play finals I will support the Blues.

Go Blues

I come in peace

Bitter sweet for me this weekend as I lost a close mate this year who loved the blues. Watched most of your games with him on the tv.

All the best on weekend, there is a part of me that wants you to win even though the Dogs miss out. Prefer we win and you win rather we lose and you lose.

Either way around 6 pm Sunday there will be a tinge of sadness and happiness in me and if you play finals I will support the Blues.

Go Blues
Sorry to hear that mate. All the best for the weekend

I feel we're too good a team this year to lose 4 in a row. We hadn't even lost 2 in a row before this latest 3 game stretch, which can largely be attributed to losing so many best 22 players at various times, or brining some back too soon.

Not sure how that relates to the current status, with Kennedy, Newman and a couple others potentially being out, and Cerra, Williams and Hewett possibly being underdone.

If we don't, 1 week ban for you jimsta :p

Will Smith Fainting GIF

agree, cotters on the wing and give a job to someone else to nullify Daicos.

I love Cotters - but if Sidebottom plays wing he'll be too smart and experienced for him (or LOB). Newnes a better matchup for Steele IMO.

Cotters on WHE. Leave LOB out.

On this week’s inclusions:

“If you look at the one that’s coming in with Zac Williams who’s had the longest layoff, he’s had a good month where he’s been out on the training track so he’s got all the loads in. The great thing about our modern environment is that we track them pretty closely and there’s not a metre missed in terms of how they prepare themselves.

"He’s fantastic in the way he’s gone about it – he’ll be a great inclusion for us. The other boys have missed a bit of footy but they’ve also had a fair bit under their belts so we feel confident in them.”

On George Hewett:

“He’s progressed well, he’s increased his training loads. It’s also how he pulls up so we’ve got to be mindful of that.

"We’ve still got some things that we need to get through today before we have our final confirmation.”