List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

On further reflection the pick swap is reasonable.

Worst case scenario is 2022 #23 for 2023 #19. Meh a 4 pick slide.

Best possible (but unrealistic) case scenario is 2022 #23 for 2023 #36.

Very best case scenario applying the reality check - probably 2022 #23 for 2023 #25-30. So potentially a net improvement.

We already have 2x picks inside the top 18 in 2023 so the pressure to get at the early talent is already relieved slightly. We also traded in a known quantity (defined pick position) for an unknown quantity (unknown pick position).

Like a few of our deals this year (unlike other years) the deal looks better on review.

Very best case scenario applying the reality check - probably 2022 #23 for 2023 #25-30. So potentially a net improvement.

We already have 2x picks inside the top 18 in 2023 so the pressure to get at the early talent is already relieved slightly. We also traded in a known quantity (defined pick position) for an unknown quantity (unknown pick position).

Like a few of our deals this year (unlike other years) the deal looks better on review.
we also gave up pick 59 which would come in to about pick 46 after all the bids on fs (ashcroft, fletcher, davey x 2, michaelanny)

if anything we should have been given the sweetner to do this deal not have to give one up on top of it

100% my issue is in isolation this pick swap is not a good result.

now when the full picture comes around we can judge it properly but for now we can only judge just what is in front of us not predicting what could be
Fair enough. I think it's a good deal.

we also gave up pick 59 which would come in to about pick 46 after all the bids on fs (ashcroft, fletcher, davey x 2, michaelanny)

if anything we should have been given the sweetner to do this deal not have to give one up on top of it

We don't need it though and they'd want it for father-son currency.

Needing to get another future round pick what could we offer of the remaining picks in this years draft. Seeing as we have picks 40, 43, 70 and 77 and need 1 of these for Cooper Harvey would any of the others be enticing for another club and if so which ones?

If you follow sports that have always traded future picks the future pick is always worth less. 23 this year for next years 19 and a pick we aren’t going to use would be ridiculed for how good it is in our favour. You get the player in and get a year of development.

100%.

Can you imagine this board if we could trade 7 years in advance like the NBA?

This is particularly the case for a team that has won the last 2 wooden spoons. The sooner we start winning ames and get off the bottom of the ladder the better

Sounds right up Clarko’s alley considering where he spent most of the last year.

A few weeks ago we started off the trade period with 1, 55, 66… we now have 2, 3, 23, 40, 43… we have substantially increased our draft hand this year.

There's nothing to say we can't do the same again next year a player might want to be traded, we might turn 8 into 2 later first rounders
anything can happen. Enjoy the fact that we're going to get a very good kid with pick 23.

Absolutely bang on the money mate. All that increased value, plus a F1, plus a player everyone wanted to fill a need (Logue) and a depth player (Tucker) come in as well.

Loosing “he who will be struck from the records forever” will long be forgotten when this year’s 4 draftees and next years 2 first rounders are all jogging the MCG boundary on GF Day sipping champagne from a fancy cup.

Credit to the 2 guys left in our footy dept, pivotal really

Don't love it unless there's a definite plan to use 40 and 23 to go higher. Surely a future second in a stronger draft is better than 23 in this year's.
Sometimes when you're farming crops that can be smashed by rain there is a very good saying to remember.

"When in doubt
Rip it out."

Half a crop is better than losing the lot to rain. I'm glad I don't have garlic in the ground right now cos it saturated and the rain keeps coming.

Its not the same as drafting footy players but the principle makes sense. We know what we can get with pick 23 this year. Every next year's draft is a super draft.

I remember when people used to say 2017 was a crap draft too. Now it looks like providing two of the best mids for years.

Maybe they tried and failed, cactus if I know mate.
I guess I’m just just saying wait and see. We could draft the next Mahoney with that 23, how good would that be???
Mahony has played less than 50 games and was another player who went backwards under Noble.

I'll be waiting till the end of next year before I write him off.

Mahony has played less than 50 games and was another player who went backwards under Noble.

I'll be waiting till the end of next year before I write him off.
Ngl, I’m not writing anyone off. I’m expecting a number of men we have dubbed shitmen this year to improve next year.

I'm not all over the whole draft, future picks, points, academy picks, F/S picks etc etc. I'm a draft nuffie.

But what this draft nuffie is, is being over "being patient" so I want the players who are going to be part of the rebuild in the club now.

So, when we turn pick #1, then nothing, then more nothing, then 20ft of shit, then pick #50-something into #2, #3, #23, #40, #43 at the cost of a player who refused to be of any other value to us, and picks next year that we have little idea what they're worth - I'm in.

Long gone is the cunning draft plan of Scott/Joyce where we lost a heap of games, took just the pick we 'earned' to the draft and hope a FA from a premiership window club would accept some magic beans to join us.

A few weeks ago we started off the trade period with 1, 55, 66… we now have 2, 3, 23, 40, 43… we have substantially increased our draft hand this year.

There's nothing to say we can't do the same again next year a player might want to be traded, we might turn 8 into 2 later first rounders
anything can happen. Enjoy the fact that we're going to get a very good kid with pick 23.
Pretty much summed up exactly what I was going to say.

Brady and co. have managed to take us out of what was an extremely dire situation, with our prize no.1 draft pick having just shafted us at the 11th hour and general uncertainty across every level of our club to a point where we can confidently say we're back moving in a positive direction.
Do you remember the feeling we all had when we'd just signed Clarko, that feeling of hope and excitement we'd not felt in years? Well I have to say I again feel a spark of optimism.

Clarko's about to start, three picks inside the first 25 of the draft and most probably, almost certainly plans by Brady and co. to improve our hand again.
I'm also no longer screaming that CCJ has cost us our second round draft pick this year because we have it back and a very real likelihood that it could move up even further (no idea how, just a gut feeling that today's pick swap is the seed for something further planned).

Too many half glass empty types around here.

Its more likely 25 or 26 for next years 20/21 (at the earliest, maybe as late as 23 next year,) in a worse case scenario of us on the bottom. There are always F/S and compo picks that push the order back these days. We could end up with 25 this year for giving up 25 next year so it doesn't cost us anything but a pick we didn't use and we get another player this year.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III