List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

What we paid in terms of draft picks to get Hill is now a sunk cost. No point worrying about it.

If we trade out Hill and don't have to pay any of his salary (regardless of what draft pick we get back), then it's a good deal if it enables us to get De Goey.

De Goey is three years younger, play a position of need and will match out playstyle a lot better than Hill ever has.

If it is simply Hill out and De Goey in then that is clearly a very big win for us. If we get a pick in the 20-40 range, then that is just gravy.

Obviously if we aren't getting De Goey or a player that uses that salary cap space then it makes sense to push for a better draft pick, even if that involves paying some of his salary.

Except we now have to trust the idiots that stuffed the last one up to do it all again.

So far under Lethlean-

Hanners, huge wage, not much capital but really just to help Swans salary dump. Wasted a lot of money and resources and a second round pick.

Hill, huge amount of cash and draft capital, could have started a rebuild with his picks. Absolutely diabolical trade. If we sell him for peanuts or pay part of his wage it's even more of a stuff up.

JDG- have to flog off Hill cheap to make room for his huge wage but no draft capital at least. High risk operator who could Andrew Lovett us. Worst case he plays blow average footy or injured and his huge wage stops us signing our good players in the future. Best case he gets better than he is now and becomes a star.

Hopefully JDG is at least one win for him but this should be his last attempt at a big name and then get in someone with a bit more skill if it all ****s up.

I remember when I took a break from football and started playing a lot basketball again. Once you return to footy you see the game completely different. It adds new moves and tricks to get the ball out of congestions either via a handball/kick or breaking away from the pack. It feels like you have more time.
I think that’s why Pendles is so good. Did you know he has a basketball background?

1000% I’d rather pay him $900k to run around at Sandy than trade him for a token pick AND pay some of his contract. Just an absurd thought
Paying any of his contract should only be considered with a top 10 pick. Otherwise forget about it. Definitely not for a pick in the 30’s. Absurd suggestion.

So the likes of

Aren't in the 8?

We did a mix of good and bad overall against that lot pre-bye, plus well against non finals teams pre-bye.

That's what got us to 8-3 pre bye.

Once games against non finals teams dried up post bye- our middling abilities against good teams was exposed for what it had been in reality all year (and all of last year too).

I and plenty of others around the bye could see this and wrote about it here, predicting we'd do well to simply make finals playing as we were, despite being 8-3 and top 4 on paper.

Nothing revisionist about it.
It's simply a case of things panning out how I expected it would.

Though I will admit it did take me by surprise that we managed to crap the bed so badly as to miss finals completely.
I thought at the bye we would at least manage to scrape into the 8 and make up the numbers playing as we were.

people are dreaming if they think we will get anything decent pick wise for hill. clarko likes hill but he's not a complete ****in idiot and neither are north.

we ****ed our selves getting into this position, no one is buying us out of it.

clarko and north will want hill for cheap i.e. a later pick, 3rd round at best. i.e. loose change.

in what world is anyone going to give up anything decent for hill?

this is where people will chest beat and say "well i guess we keep him then" that's not going to suddenly make the price for up.

But we have already got the cap to off DeGoey a hefty salary why do we need Hills for it.

Sorry to answer four of your posts in a row, however, they all have questions.

how do you know this though joffa?

no one knows what our salary cap is like.

hills 900k is a significant chunk, with the big IF that it hasn't been pre-paid and now he's trying to double dip similar to Gibbs at Carlton.

either way we dont know and the closest we have to info is the media speculation.

Re drafting and trading

Doc Brown GIF by Back to the Future Trilogy

Look mate I hope you're right I'd love to get a second rounder for Hill, I'm just reading the tea leaves and thinking we want him gone and I reckon it's a third rounder or worse and they cop the salary. Hopefully it's something better but if we switch him out for Amon on less money that's a gain for mine, the initial outlay is gone unfortunately.
i think people are over-estimating or cap space too.

every god damn clubs supporters think they have this massive war chest. the reality is completely different.

Paying any of his contract should only be considered with a top 10 pick. Otherwise forget about it. Definitely not for a pick in the 30’s. Absurd suggestion.
only way it makes any kind of sense, is if it really is a salary cap dump and we need the 900k ASAP to secure other players.

if that's the case though Gags probs needs to go. he's orchestrated this Hill situation. needs to own it. like Lethers needs to own the Hanners one. both end up promoted.

I think people are overstating Hill's current salary.

Remember the whole list took a 7.5% pay cut with covid and Hill's Salary was reported to be front-loaded.

My guess is it's more like 700k for the remainder of his contract.

Would also make sense that he's been paid the majority of his salary already and now he's looking for a new contract to top up with another club.

I think people are overstating Hill's current salary.

Remember the whole list took a 7.5% pay cut with covid and Hill's Salary was reported to be front-loaded.

My guess is it's more like 700k for the remainder of his contract.

Would also make sense that he's been paid the majority of his salary already and now he's looking for a new contract to top up with another club.
in other words, no one apart from Hill, his management and the club have any idea how much hill is getting paid and any guess on here would be absolutely miles off in accuracy, because its not something openly discussed for obvious reasons.

Throwing this out there if NWM says he wants a trade this year..

Three way trade

Adel get NWM and St Kilda second rounder, hand over first pick and Frampton
Collingwood get Frampton, give up Poulter
St Kilda get Poulter and Adelaides first
How then does Adelaide get Rankine if we’ve got their first?

The only noises are coming from North. Not a word from St. Kilda.

Why do you people want the Saints to take nothing for a contracted player who is being actively sought by another club?

Minimum would be pick 20 and 200k.of contract. 2nd pick plus they take all salary.

We have the whip hand.
It's being realistic. You can talk a big game on here about what we will demand or that we can ask for the world, but it means nothing.

The word from the media - which usually has a lot more substance than scenarios thrown around on here - is that he will leave and we won't get a huge bounty in return.

Best prepare yourself now then spend the next month talking a big game to find out what you want as the return isn't what reality has as the return.

Sounds like Hill 2.0.

We said we wanted him from so long out that it would’ve looked bad not to land him, so in the end we paid him whatever he wanted and gave Freo whatever they wanted
How many dp's are we using to get DeGoey.

They play different positions as well.

Why people don't want us getting good players to make the team better is a mystery to me.
Is it people are comfortable supporting a mediocre club? Is it a convenient target to lay ones lifes grievances?
I don't know, but in the wash up, we replace Hill with DeGoey, the team is better and that's all that matters.

Except we now have to trust the idiots that stuffed the last one up to do it all again.

So far under Lethlean-

Hanners, huge wage, not much capital but really just to help Swans salary dump. Wasted a lot of money and resources and a second round pick.

Hill, huge amount of cash and draft capital, could have started a rebuild with his picks. Absolutely diabolical trade. If we sell him for peanuts or pay part of his wage it's even more of a stuff up.

JDG- have to flog off Hill cheap to make room for his huge wage but no draft capital at least. High risk operator who could Andrew Lovett us. Worst case he plays blow average footy or injured and his huge wage stops us signing our good players in the future. Best case he gets better than he is now and becomes a star.

Hopefully JDG is at least one win for him but this should be his last attempt at a big name and then get in someone with a bit more skill if it all *s up.
Are they the same idiots who have picked up
Wilkie
Wood
Sharman
and drafted
Naz
WIndhager
King
Owens
got Crouch FA

Or we conviently forget any successes in trading and drafting
Even Hill hasn't been a disaster. Butler has been ok, Higgins pretty good, Paddy a success.
This catastrophising and repeated criticism of people at the club is extreme hyperbole.
We all know the Hill trade didn't work, give it a rest, it is boringly repetitive.

Oh yeah this time of year as a Saints supporter life gets interesting.

List discussion .....goes back decades, draft and pick discussion.

the intrigue of it all

f.... finals we'll get there; lets enjoy being a Saints supporter

how do you know this though joffa?

no one knows what our salary cap is like.

hills 900k is a significant chunk, with the big IF that it hasn't been pre-paid and now he's trying to double dip similar to Gibbs at Carlton.

either way we dont know and the closest we have to info is the media speculation.
Hard to offer a FA what has been reported if you don't have it.
Also we kept SC and picks for Ben King
We also have retirement of
Hanners
Kent
Paddy
Geary

All on at least 400k.
Isn't difficult to work.out.
And O'Meara proves Clarko is no recruiting guru either.

For what it’s worth. The money for JDG was in a large part the Ben King money.

Hill is completely seperate and at no point did we plan to lose Hill to accomodate JDG.

If the club throw away Hill for nothing. I’d be concerned. I would want something of value.

Hill might not be the best fit for us. But he has elite traits our playing group doesn’t.

only way it makes any kind of sense, is if it really is a salary cap dump and we need the 900k ASAP to secure other players.

if that's the case though Gags probs needs to go. he's orchestrated this Hill situation. needs to own it. like Lethers needs to own the Hanners one. both end up promoted.
According to the rumors the club has well over a million in cap space now , why would we move on Hill because no matter what we think Hill is still in our best 22 and however giving us another 800k would give us money to land Grundy and DeGoey.

For what it’s worth. The money for JDG was in a large part the Ben King money.

Hill is completely seperate and at no point did we plan to lose Hill to accomodate JDG.

If the club throw away Hill for nothing. I’d be concerned. I would want something of value.

Hill might not be the best fit for us. But he has elite traits our playing group doesn’t.

Never seen it since he's been with us. The number of times the commentators talk up Hills disposal for him to then clanger it, is impressive. I would like however you to list these elite traits if you don't mind.