List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

For what it’s worth. The money for JDG was in a large part the Ben King money.

Hill is completely seperate and at no point did we plan to lose Hill to accomodate JDG.

If the club throw away Hill for nothing. I’d be concerned. I would want something of value.

Hill might not be the best fit for us. But he has elite traits our playing group doesn’t.
Ditto

I think Hill has been disappointing. 900k disappointing for that money you want a Bont Cripps or Pendles a player who can break a game open or win it. Hill cannot.
Sincs chase down tackle pick up on the run in the last few weeks inspires players to think if he can so can I....viz Long last game.

Hill has never done that...he gives us Billings output and is a GOP with elite kicking at times....but not all the times.

If I was a player I'd be thinking even if he was a great bloke...overpaid and not at elite level.

Must be hard on Hill as well...as he knows deep down he is not matching expectation and for those who play with him....no one is winning.

Best for everyone move him on with dignity to North stay respectful and play FRDP, NWM or DMac or Bytel in his spot and move on.

Bank the money and go shopping to fit our needs.

Collingwood are doing it with Grundy Ade with Rankine Haw did it with Omera....some you get right some you don't.

Do not try and make a bad decision right accept it make a choice and move on. Hill has not worked as expected.

Only one question to be answered can Hills money be deployed better elsewhere? If yes then trade if not he stays.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

people are dreaming if they think we will get anything decent pick wise for hill. clarko likes hill but he's not a complete *in idiot and neither are north.

we *ed our selves getting into this position, no one is buying us out of it.

clarko and north will want hill for cheap i.e. a later pick, 3rd round at best. i.e. loose change.

in what world is anyone going to give up anything decent for hill?

this is where people will chest beat and say "well i guess we keep him then" that's not going to suddenly make the price for up.
I don't know what scenario will end up happening,but Clarko coached him previously in premiership teams,and probably knows he can get more out of him than what he has produced at Saints.
We ask for a good deal for him and don't change our mind if he is still at St Kilda come end of Trade Period so be it.

Hill, huge amount of cash and draft capital, could have started a rebuild with his picks. Absolutely diabolical trade. If we sell him for peanuts or pay part of his wage it's even more of a stuff up.

Nope. I would much rather we admit we got it wrong and trade him, than be stubborn and keep him for another three years.

If we sell for peanuts or pay part of his wage then it's just being mature.

Unless we legitimately think he will get better for us, it is better to actually assess where he is and move on than to double down and just hope it will get better (we have enough evidence to say that it won't).

Also have to remember that Hill only has 2 years to go on his contract.

North Melbourne traded out their experienced players and would have heaps of cap space. If they want him, I don't see his salary being an issue for them at all. Maybe it's a negotiating point, but I would imagine that if they actually want him then we wouldn't need to pay any part of it.

They could always sign him for three years to reduce the yearly amount.

Never seen it since he's been with us. The number of times the commentators talk up Hills disposal for him to then clanger it, is impressive. I would like however you to list these elite traits if you don't mind.
When he first joined us, wasn't he nailing a lot of his kicks - and people were talking about how much our forwards are going to love leading to that stuff e.t.c?
I feel like he had a better footy year this year, but his kicking just really dropped off, both under pressure and with no pressure.
Was really looking forward to having him and Nas and getting a lot of precision kicking happening - but Nas lost a bit of his mojo as well in that regard.

McRae and some other coaches (Hardwick e.t.c) have had some success with getting players to enjoy their footy again and play to their strengths. I feel like we played about like our preseason motto. "Why not us?" - gets you thinking about all the reasons it might NOT happen. I don't think the players need to be focusing on results, or wondering when our time will come. Just get them remembering why they play footy, how they get the best out of themselves and playing to get better.

Coming back to Hill, I think he probably plays best when he's the icing on the cake. We're short on cake, and were kind of carrying 2-3 first year players all year so maybe Hill felt pressure that possibly affected his kicking. Sinclair didn't seem to be affected by that, even when he was about the only guy playing well. Still nailed his kicks. Everyone's different -just gotta make it work.

Also have to remember that Hill only has 2 years to go on his contract.

North Melbourne traded out their experienced players and would have heaps of cap space. If they want him, I don't see his salary being an issue for them at all (or at least not for the next two years).

You have to use your money on someone and at the moment they don't really have many stars to pay.

When he first joined us, wasn't he nailing a lot of his kicks - and people were talking about how much our forwards are going to love leading to that stuff e.t.c?
I feel like he had a better footy year this year, but his kicking just really dropped off, both under pressure and with no pressure.
Was really looking forward to having him and Nas and getting a lot of precision kicking happening - but Nas lost a bit of his mojo as well in that regard.

McRae and some other coaches (Hardwick e.t.c) have had some success with getting players to enjoy their footy again and play to their strengths. I feel like we played about like our preseason motto. "Why not us?" - gets you thinking about all the reasons it might NOT happen. I don't think the players need to be focusing on results, or wondering when our time will come. Just get them remembering why they play footy, how they get the best out of themselves and playing to get better.

Coming back to Hill, I think he probably plays best when he's the icing on the cake. We're short on cake, and were kind of carrying 2-3 first year players all year so maybe Hill felt pressure that possibly affected his kicking. Sinclair didn't seem to be affected by that, even when he was about the only guy playing well. Still nailed his kicks. Everyone's different -just gotta make it work.
Interesting comments about getting players to enjoy their footy- I think that was one of the things GT did well at the time with the playing group. Our guys in the last couple of seasons seem to be trying too hard and don't seem to be enjoying it...dunno

Our trading has been fine but we are slowly destroying the guys we took.
Snags, Jones, Hill and Butts are now all shadows of the players we recruited. Doogs probably isn't as good either.
Agree with this

We send players backwards after a year or 2

It's being realistic. You can talk a big game on here about what we will demand or that we can ask for the world, but it means nothing.

The word from the media - which usually has a lot more substance than scenarios thrown around on here - is that he will leave and we won't get a huge bounty in return.

Best prepare yourself now then spend the next month talking a big game to find out what you want as the return isn't what reality has as the return.

Aren't you the guys that always cried if anyone put down Hill's performance? Now we are meant to think he's a spud and anything we get should be seen as a great trade by a very clever club? Like when you fumed because I said we should be playing finals like it was insane to have any expectations.

So this LOL
like another poster that would jump down my throat at the mention of Hill, now he's worth a late 2nd and SC dump LOL

Nope. I would much rather we admit we got it wrong and trade him, than be stubborn and keep him for another three years.

If we sell for peanuts or pay part of his wage then it's just being mature.

Unless we legitimately think he will get better for us, it is better to actually assess where he is and move on than to double down and just hope it will get better (we have enough evidence to say that it won't).

You guys are the kings of cognitive dissonance.

Carlton have delisted Jack Newnes. 207 career games, done before turning 30. I am not advocating a return.

But in 2016 he averaged 23 disposals, 3 tackles, 4.73 inside 50s and kicked 15.3. After 2017 he was never quite the same, but his 2015-2017 numbers were more than adequate.

Also the joint record holder for most consecutive games played at St Kilda (123, held with Ian Syman, Callum Wilkie is currently on 85).

He's playing more on ball these days. Nearly identical stats to Gresham and a similar amount of on ball time.
He will come in as our highest or 2nd highest player depending on what happens with Hill. Get a guy in from another club with plenty of warning signs to be in our top 2 paid players on the list thinking they will make a massive difference. They may never learn

Carlton have delisted Jack Newnes. 207 career games, done before turning 30. I am not advocating a return.

But in 2016 he averaged 23 disposals, 3 tackles, 4.73 inside 50s and kicked 15.3. After 2017 he was never quite the same, but his 2015-2017 numbers were more than adequate.

Also the joint record holder for most consecutive games played at St Kilda (123, held with Ian Syman, Callum Wilkie is currently on 85).

Careful, the Saints will probably offer up their first round pick for him. We delisted him because we got Hill who revolutionised our wing position. Jack Newnes got told he was going to play at Sandy so left for nothing.

He was pretty solid citizen except in his last 2 seasons where he came back from an injury and never got going. I doubt he'd want back in and he's too old now though. Was one of our few guys with a bit of leadership though. He had a bit of presence JN.

He will come in as our highest or 2nd highest player depending on what happens with Hill. Get a guy in from another club with plenty of warning signs to be in our top 2 paid players on the list thinking they will make a massive difference. They may never learn

We are modelling off Essendon. Hopefully Lenny knows a good pharmacist.

I don't think it's a coincidence the Rumours of hill being unhappy come when he has only 2 years left in a front loaded contact.

Hill could play out his contract at st Kilda and earn a million. Then maybe get a 1 year contract on minimum wage .

Or

He can say he is unhappy and tell clubs he'd take a pay cut from 850k-900k a year to 500k a year if he is given some security in a 4 year contract seeing out his career.

Results netting hill close to an extra million when all said and done.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

He lost them their second last game against the Dees when he didn't tackle Pickett when he kicked the winning goal.

I don't think it's a coincidence the Rumours of hill being unhappy come when he has only 2 years left in a front loaded contact.

Hill could play out his contract at st Kilda and earn a million. Then maybe get a 1 year contract on minimum wage .

Or

He can say he is unhappy and tell clubs he'd take a pay cut from 850k-900k a year to 500k a year if he is given some security in a 4 year contract seeing out his career.

I don't think his contract is frontloaded, he left after 3 years at freo on a frontloaded contract. Hasn't been reported anywhere and don't think the club is that stupid

Or

Where has this been reported Hills contract is front loaded.
Can't recall reading this before.
If that's the case, no point getting rid of him if he is only on 500k.
And if he is on that his output currently is fine for a 500k player.
Keep.

Where has this been reported Hills contract is front loaded.
Can't recall reading this before.
If that's the case, no point getting rid of him if he is only on 500k.
And if he is on that his output currently is fine for a 500k player.
Keep.
Obviously no one can know for sure but it has been speculated before on sen.

As the poster above said he has done this before so I wouldn't be surprised if he did it again.

Hill is a professional and obviously doesn't have interest in being loyal or any of that stuff.

He isn't a spud, and is worth way more than a late second.
Depends on his actual contract. If on 900k, I would accept pick the proposed PP and maybe pay 200k. Not ideal but personally could live with that.
If on say 700k, well it would be the PP and all his contract.
If it was front loaded and 500k, would be a high first or we keep. Hill @500k is pretty good value.