List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

nope because pretty good midfielders turn games. Don’t know too many ‘pretty good’ defenders who turn games. Paddy Mccartin couldn’t get near it as a forward and has had multiple concussions yet everyone lauds how good he is a key defender. Waste of a top 10 pick to spend it on a key defender.
A 'pretty good' defender can lose you a game though. Having an elite key defender is just as impactful, it's just not as noticeable because they don't kick goals

It's not overs if he ends up being a gun
I don’t have an issue in the slightest with the idea of spending a pick around 10 on someone who plays key defence, if that’s a major need.

Those taken around that area have been extremely “bankable” over the years, with a very very high strike-rate. Very few “busts”, if any.

Gibcus last year (pick 9) looks a ripper, the year before Hawthorn took Grainger-Barrass at 6 and they seem thrilled with him and here are a bunch of others from the last 20 years who were taken between 5 and 15:

5: Michael Hurley
8: Ben Reid, Lachie Henderson, Griffin Logue
9: Darcy Moore, Aaron Naughton
10: Phil Davis, Nathan Brown
12: James Frawley
13: Daniel Talia
14: Jake Lever
15: Robbie Tarrant

nope because pretty good midfielders turn games. Don’t know too many ‘pretty good’ defenders who turn games. Paddy Mccartin couldn’t get near it as a forward and has had multiple concussions yet everyone lauds how good he is a key defender. Waste of a top 10 pick to spend it on a key defender.
Yet most premiership teams of late have been built around great defence

Lever and May

Grimes and Rance

Barrass and McGovern

An average defence can you lose you a premiership just as much as a good midfield can win you one

Not sure why you keep saying they have much higher bust factor.

So far McAsey looks the only bust, along with maybe Marchbank due to injuries
Looks like I’ve been Sandra’d.

Yeah if that’s what he’s been saying it’s completely and utterly untrue and is actually the opposite of the case.

I’d say over the last 20 years they actually have by far the lowest “bust-rate” of any position. It’s quite remarkable really.

McCasey might be the only one in 20 years and everyone raves about Marchbank’s talent, so it’s just been injuries holding him back.

Yet most premiership teams of late have been built around great defence

Lever and May

Grimes and Rance

Barrass and McGovern

An average defence can you lose you a premiership just as much as a good midfield can win you one

I mean the Dogs won a flag with Joel Hamling, Fletcher Roberts, Dale Morris, Easton Wood.

But also:

Lever pick 14
Rance pick 18
May GC concession pick
Barrass pick 43
Grimes PSD pick 2
McGovern rookie pick 44

Not sure that shows that you definitely need to spend an early pick to get one.

Look mate I hope you're right I'd love to get a second rounder for Hill, I'm just reading the tea leaves and thinking we want him gone and I reckon it's a third rounder or worse and they cop the salary. Hopefully it's something better but if we switch him out for Amon on less money that's a gain for mine, the initial outlay is gone unfortunately.
Who cares Hill sucks

Not sure why you keep saying they have much higher bust factor. When you go through the drafts key defenders in the first round look pretty safe.

Sure there are some busts amongst them but no more than other positions.

2021: Gibcus, Aleer
2020: Granger-Barass, Chapman
2019: McAsey*, DeKoning
2016: Logue
2015: Weitering, McKay
2014: Moore, Lever, Marchbank* (injuries)

To me it looks pretty safe to take key defender in the first round.

So far McAsey looks the only bust, along with maybe Marchbank due to injuries

I may have missed a few scimming through the drafts and also haven't include players like Naughton and King who played in defence as juniors and went forward or McCartin who was drafted as a forward and is now in defence

Traditionally they have been. You know we'd take the spud one because too many have worked out. DGB is pretty meh so far too. Not sure Heath Chapman is a pure tall back either. More like a third intercept tall. Logue would be a disaster too. He seems to have missed about 5 years of footy.

That's a cracker. Who would complain about that? Some precious creatures out there.

Quality reporting here:

View attachment 1491916
That’s hilarious. Those who would be offended by it are highly unlikely to know what that’s slang for anyway though (I’d never heard of it), and nor would many if any kids who they might be worried about hearing it.

Loved Dane Swans answers too!

So does a midfielder have to be Greg Williams crossed wirh Chris Judd

Or a forward Plugger mixed with Riewoldt?

The Chances of getting anyone that good with pick 10 is low, no matter what the position

I doubt too many of the club's that have taken key defenders in the last 7 or 8 years are regretful
Not necessarily, however I think the current Premiers got Trac, Oliver, Brayshaw and Viney before recruiting May.

I mean the Dogs won a flag with Joel Hamling, Fletcher Roberts, Dale Morris, Easton Wood.

But also:

Lever pick 14
Rance pick 18
May GC concession pick
Barrass pick 43
Grimes PSD pick 2
McGovern rookie pick 44

Not sure that shows that you definitely need to spend an early pick to get one.
Nah, I didn't suggest you definitely need to spend an early pick to get one?

What I did say is that premierships were built around quality defence

And also disagreed that you are more likely to get a bust by taking a key defender in the first round, because that just clearly isn't true

Fact is though, Melbourne gave up 3 first rounders to get Lever and May in the door and I highly doubt they regret that.

Just like most of the club's that have taken key defenders in the first round in the last 10 or so year woukdnt regret it either.

Nah, I didn't suggest you definitely need to spend an early pick to get one?

What I did say is that premierships were built around quality defence

And also disagreed that you are more likely to get a bust by taking a key defender in the first round, because that just clearly isn't true

Fact is though, Melbourne gave up 3 first rounders to get Lever and May in the door and I highly doubt they regret that.

Just like most of the club's that have taken key defenders in the first round in the last 10 or so year woukdnt regret it either.

Sure I guess. I just think it’s hard enough to get good mids and you can’t win a flag without quite a few of them. A first round pick has the best chance of filling one of those mid roster spots with quality.

Not necessarily, however I think the current Premiers got Trac, Oliver, Brayshaw and Viney before recruiting May.
I'm not sure it matters what order you get your positions into the club as long as you end up with them all.

Used to be people suggesting you need to get your spine first and then build from there.

I just think you take it year by year and see what's available. If there is a quality key defender there that we think will be the next May we would be stupid to pass on that.

Sure I guess. I just think it’s hard enough to get good mids and you can’t win a flag without quite a few of them. A first round pick has the best chance of filling one of those mid roster spots with quality.

Yeah I'm all for getting a gun mid if they are available to.

They might all be gone by the time our pick comes along though and we'd end up looking pretty silly if we passed on a quality key defender for an average midfielder or a flanker with "potential to go into the midfield"

What I find about this sort of reporting is how they mention grovelling apology to an s rated answer, which was so offensive they say what the answer was and then show a copy of the profile and then explain what the comment was a reference to. How about just letting it go?