List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Thought Dow looked solid when he came on last night, seemed to be always on the move. For low trade/cap cost I’m in

I was half watching but what I saw looked pretty good.

Coff hasn't played for nearly two years and when he did it was mostly VFL.

Not sure we can expect him to just come back and have an impact.
For someone who thinks they know a lot about AFL the kid was close, well in the top 50 to AAsquad a few years back , you're pretty quick to write him off

He's not s**t, he's just too much like what they have heaps of. Guys that are inside mids as their best position last year Stocker, Dow, Williams (best off HBF but taken to play inside mid), Cerra, Kennedy, Fogarty, Cripps, Carroll, Kemp, Walsh, Hewett and Setterfield. Then guys like Hollands and O'Brien on the outside and Cincotta and a few others that are potential mids like Binns.

Binns is killing it at VFL level and can't get a run either.
You seem to have a love affair with players who are just vfl and that's it , you're port Melbourne mate and freezer come to mind

Always looking for a few guys just off the pack. Spotted Hayes, Collins and plenty of others who stepped up.

For someone who thinks they know a lot about AFL the kid was close, well in the top 50 to AAsquad a few years back , you're pretty quick to write him off

I don't think I know anything, except for knowing that Coffield never made an AA squad.

He was very promising in the back half of 2020 but that was 3 years ago now and since then he's been dropped and had some bad injuries.

No doubt doubt he's got talent and I was a big fan in his draft year but I wouldn't be betting my house on him being a star

Re seagulls.

The point I was making is when you assess the viability of ANYONE you compare it to the opportunity cost and the person whose place they are taking.

I.e. Dow might not be what we want but if we don't get better and he is going to fill an empty spot on the list then the only question really is can we do better? If we can great, if we can't it doesn't mean he isn't improving our list.

Too many people looking for the perfect result instead of progress.

Re seagulls.

The point I was making is when you assess the viability of ANYONE you compare it to the opportunity cost and the person whose place they are taking.

I.e. Dow might not be what we want but if we don't get better and he is going to fill an empty spot on the list then the only question really is can we do better? If we can great, if we can't it doesn't mean he isn't improving our list.

Too many people looking for the perfect result instead of progress.

Exactly, you take out a player never likely to play a senior game and replace him with depth even and it's a gain. There would be 5 or 6 players who have their papers stamped.

Not sure we can expect him to just come back and have an impact.

That's a blatant lie. He played 34 games in the two seasons before he did his ACL.

I thought Bird was saying Coff is coming from a fair way back given he hasn’t played at AFL level since August 2021.
Go back and read the post then , its pretty clear to most

That's a blatant lie. He played 34 games in the two seasons before he did his ACL.
I do apologise for the exaggeration SS.

Although I was surprised.to see he managed 16 games in 2021. He was very average that year and in and out of the side.

Go back and read the post then , its pretty clear to most

No need to get your knickers in a knot captain grumpy

I do apologise for the exaggeration SS.

Although I was surprised.to see he managed 16 games in 2021. He was very average that year and in and out of the side.

No , you just cant cope when someone points out you're wrong then you go on the attack , jeez man we all make mistakes , no need to get all sh1tty and try turn it around that i was at fault

Just to remind you )))))

Coffield tested as one of the fastest players in the draft pool with a sub-three second 20m sprint time. Add to that his sizable vertical leap, 190cm frame and strong hands, and you have a ready-made AFL athlete. The most promising thing about Coffield is that he combines his athletic traits with a high-level football IQ, which has inevitably seen him draw comparisons to Scott Pendlebury.

Like the Collingwood skipper, Coffield provides a cool head amidst the mayhem of stoppages, weaving his way through traffic and turning on dimes. His clearance work has improved out of sight this year and more midfield time has really aided that side of his game. And with one of the most accurate kicks in the TAC Cup this season, Coffield’s efficiency has seen him stand out even more as clubs at the top level try to claim the best ball users.
Having watched them both playing up close, I have no doubt that Stocker is quicker off the mark and better evasive skills, Coff a better reader of the play, and a better mark, but jeez he is no superstar solution to any problem we might have, just would be very handy in the backline, but it will be a long way off.

No , you just cant cope when someone points out you're wrong then you go on the attack , jeez man we all make mistakes , no need to get all sh1tty and try turn it around that i was at fault
I apologised to SS, there's no need to get cranky.

Coffield has not played more VFL than AFL. But he was still very average and in and out of the side in his last year before his injury.

Smile mate

Having watched them both playing up close, I have no doubt that Stocker is quicker off the mark and better evasive skills, Coff a better reader of the play, and a better mark, but jeez he is no superstar solution to any problem we might have, just would be very handy in the backline, but it will be a long way off.
Coffield tested very fast no doubt, but we just never see it at AFL level. He's the type of player to get the footy and stop and prop.

It's be great if he could add a bit of burst to his game.

Stocker may not test as fast but he does occasionally put the burners on and takes the game on a bit.

jeez man we all make mistakes , no need to get all sh1tty and try turn it around that i was at fault

U2gM594.gif

Coffield has not played more VFL than AFL. But he was still very average and in and out of the side in his last year before his injury.

Smile mate

We seemed to drop him to VFL regularly after looking like a potential gun before that, then injury kicked in. He was a promising kid but he's no guarantee to make the step up from promising and he's got to get fit, build up to match fitness, start trusting his body and then make a leap in quality then move past Battle or others who have taken that role. He was meant to be fast but from the footy he played he looked a very static flat foot player.

There is no way we should dump him and he's got a lot more talent than some of the guys who've been taking spots on the list for years. We aren't getting anything back so you'd be best to try to build him up for next year and see what we have.