List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
We all need to stop being precious with athletes and their let’s say recreational habits.

These are all men in their 20’s who at the lower end are on 200k+ a year and in ripping shape.

When I was in my younger 20’s I was barely on a decent wage and I was making Sam Fisher proud with my behaviour and carry on.

Obviously I don’t know Oliver or anything he does but I’ve been around enough players including some of the “good” guys on our list to know that 80%> have at least tried a bit of booger sugar.

I hope we don’t trade for Oliver just because I think his timeline doesn’t really fit with ours and the cost but if we can snag the bastard for a cheapened deal than I’ll bite their hand off. He walks in as our best midfielder since Robert Harvey.

Absolute gun
As someone who has said "pump the brakes" on De Goey and Bailey Smith, I would simply add this:

Oliver is only an absolute gun if he plays. He's absolutely what we need, but if he doesn't play for whatever reason, that gap remains open.

So firstly the club should be finding out what the likely price we'd have to pay Melbourne is.

$1.01 Clarry uses his Gatorade sponsorship to turn the gameday bottles into bongs 😵‍💫
It sounds like a bit of education might be in order😊, bongs are bad, water on the lungs, big wack, tar on the lungs...
Oil, Lolly pops , gummies and brownies much better delivery system...also adds to life skills for after footy...drug manufacturing and alike😉

We do some investigating as to what Oliver's issues are.

Think Melbourne clearly want pick 1, so that's probably part of the motivation for letting him go. Garry Lyon met with Harley Reid's family a while ago.

If things aren't completely out of control with Oliver, I'd have zero issue giving up whatever compensation we get for Gresham plus our first rounder for him.

Try and get Melbourne to pay for some of his salary.
I would agree except that he's is nearly a million a year for 6 years, I feel Melbourne have ****ed themselves by giving him such a long contract (ala Collingwood and Grundy). I would offer only the compo pick and maybe a future second.

We haven't stayed on a straight path in 10 years, all of a sudden when a generational player comes up we become rigid. I'm not even sure the plan we have makes any sense to be honest as it is. We all turn into puritanical christians if any player with a whiff of a social life comes on the market, but give us an injured solid B grader who wants a retirement package and we're all over it like a rash.

DeGoey and Dusty were too naughty for St Kilda apparently. Lucky we avoided them, imagine how s**t we'd be if we had them on the list.
Jesus where do we start with this.

All year we have heard Lyon saying it is a year of exploration, we will go to the draft to build on the past two, 'gill said to me don't try to rebuild all at once' etc etc etc.

It is a complete trashing of the strategy to build into the finals and be sustainable for years not a flash in the pan.

Where is this puritan christian bs come from? We went all out for DeGoey, all out, we did not stop until he re-signed with Collingwood.
Many at the club wanted Dusty and were overruled by Watters and that was over a decade ago. Stop making absolute crap up.
I don't give a stuff about his off field activities, the huge concern is
1. his huge salary for 6 years
2. question marks over his preparation for football - raised by his teammates
3. Why would Melbourne trade him if he there isn't some huge issues going on.
4. Sacrificing our future for a shiney new toy

It is the wrong strategy and a desperation throw of the dice where we mortgage our future burning 3 first round draft picks.
I am prepared to wait a season or two than for us to crash and burn and be in for another 10 years of rebuilding.

Hope I haven't triggered you by having an alternative opinion.

It sounds like a bit of education might be in order😊, bongs are bad, water on the lungs, big wack, tar on the lungs...
Oil, Lolly pops , gummies and brownies much better delivery system...also adds to life skills for after footy...drug manufacturing and alike😉
Cheers Clarry 👍

I would agree except that he's is nearly a million a year for 6 years, I feel Melbourne have ****ed themselves by giving him such a long contract (ala Collingwood and Grundy). I would offer only the compo pick and maybe a future second.
Get him for that, where do I sign. But we wouldn't get him for anywhere near that.

As someone who has said "pump the brakes" on De Goey and Bailey Smith, I would simply add this:

Oliver is only an absolute gun if he plays. He's absolutely what we need, but if he doesn't play for whatever reason, that gap remains open.

So firstly the club should be finding out what the likely price we'd have to pay Melbourne is.

Everything's a gamble and you want to be doing due diligence on all deals but gambling like selling required players to get picks to use in the draft to hopefully get a player as good back is a lot lower pay off if it works out. Spending $10 on the pokies might buy you a pint at the end of the day if it pays off but if you pull in the first division in Tatts it's going to substantially upgrade things.

We are interested in the powers future first.

A couple Of second rounders is the apparent asking price.
So we offer the Doogs (or one of 12 or 13 and keep the Doogs first) first plus two futures for Oliver?

Means we keep at least one first this year and sort of move our FA grab from next year to this.

Could work in that sense. In that scenario
Oliver
Dow
Henry
FRDP (or two) this year

Ok would be happy with that.

How was this from a Saints supporter on Dwanye earlier.

Jade Gresham, first pick and Zaine Cordy for Oliver :D:D

Wednesday ruined.

Have seen multiple people saying weary instead of wary too. Another day closer to snapping.
There's another hidden gem in there too but gave the benefit of the doubt that it may be a genuine human error. Two youlds though is taking the piss

See if you can find whic word it could be!

So we offer the Doogs (or one of 12 or 13 and keep the Doogs first) first plus two futures for Oliver?

Means we keep at least one first this year and sort of move our FA grab from next year to this.

Could work in that sense. In that scenario
Oliver
Dow
Henry
FRDP (or two) this year

Ok would be happy with that.
Not even thinking Oliver mate.

Gresham sounds like leaving us with 19 or 33.

Moving 33 and a future second for ports future first could be anything from 8-18 next year.

Not even thinking Oliver mate.

Gresham sounds like leaving us with 19 or 33.

Moving 33 and a future second for ports future first could be anything from 8-18 next year.
We getting Gres for 33 now? Wow that is a come down from the lofty 13 or even 19