List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part IV

ohhhh mid season trading - Shiel can be got in June

Happy Season 5 GIF by Friends
He's falling apart, by mid season next year he will be sharing a room with DMac at Healing Hans sanitorium in Germany.

Here we go 😂

Mate, you can’t handle a nothing player. Is getting moved on for nothing.

Go burn your membership. Bin the jumper.

Billings done. Saints for the spoon.
You’re much better at copy and pasting tweets than understanding basic discussion.

I can handle anything footy related after the amount of disappointment I’ve experienced… but you’re just sounding like an arrogant, rude flog.

You’re much better at copy and pasting tweets than understanding basic discussion.

I can handle anything footy related after the amount of disappointment I’ve experienced… but you’re just sounding like an arrogant, rude flog.
Yes super arrogant because a discussion about a player for a decade is ultimately going to end in underlining exactly what Billings has been - a disappointment.

As opposed to people barking that he is this best 22 player using everything but fact and the fact is that when fit. Under his first genuine top tier coach at this level. He want an automatic inclusion into the 22.

His manager made clear he was fit for the last few weeks and our final and he wasn’t an emergency for the giants game.

Says it all

He’s got a lot of things right mate. Better than some idiot making a fake acc and pretending he’s ITK and everyone believing it. Etc owen78
I couldn’t care less if his nieces friend is Lethlean secretary’s cousin. You can know someone at the club and still be a complete flog.

Would rather hear from a flamingo having a laugh than some attention seeking loser who claps in peoples faces when a player they like gets binned.

If Collingwood can have the balls to trade a number of players better then Billings and get better.

then it says it all about the mindset of our supporter base.

10 years and not once in the top 10 (copying sen/trade radio - definitely not top 5) of our BnF.

And people a miserable like we are trading prime Montagna.

Talented. Never delivered consistently. Mental midget infront of the big sticks. Unlucky with injury.

Thank you next.

Collingwood had played in grand finals with the bulk of their list. Lost Treloar, Stephenson and Grundy. Their back up ruck was adequate and they inherited a generational talent for free and JDG, Josh Daicos and Crisp stepped up to cover the loss of Treloar. Got Hill for pocket change.

Honestly heard the club spinning this shit as a model and it's one of the most naive things you could come up with. Not all lists start equal. They had one bad year where nearly their entire elite backline went down injured. They didn't get better because they traded. They got better because they already had under-utilised talent and grabbed some cheap missing pieces to top up.

Collingwood has one of the most old and consistent sides in the league. They have changed personnel over the last 6 years probably less than anyone. They are almost a model for a stable list. They have 13 left from their 2017 list and another 3 playing at other clubs still. Most are still absolute best 22 and plenty are stars.

No-one thinks he was s star but paying someone to take him away seems a weird move.

lets see if Billings can prove anyone wrong after getting to Melbourne, Paddy Mcartin getting to Sydney and almost getting AA in defence after 4-5 years out of the system shut a lot of people up who said he was one of the worst number 1 picks ever. Personally i hope Billings becomes better than the Bontempelli now wouldn't that be funny :)

Well I liked Billo but as I’ve said before who cares, whatever gets us closer.

Has anyone had a think about what our salary cap would look like next year?
Feels like we’re making room for some big moves.

We will have wanted his money off the books or some of it as it turns out som we can pay Shiel 🤣🤣. Seriously this club refuses the hard road every time in favour of some half smart cunning plan. Destined to be stuck in the shadow lands for another decade. We are absolutely ruthless with the list just so long as we don’t rate them in the top 15 on the list, in 5 years we’ll still be picking through the other clubs bins.

We weren’t in an easy position but I feel like we’ve taken the easy way out again.
Yeah the Shiel stuff is woeful

Honestly, if true that is pathetic. It means they end up with an earlier pick than us because we will finish lower than them (probably).

And we are contributing to his wage?

If all this stuff is true then I am absolutely distraught.
Sounds like he wants a fresh start and we are happy to give it to him.

Been a good, consistent player for his 150 games. Sometimes clubs take a loss to do the right thing for the player.

Collingwood had played in grand finals with the bulk of their list. Lost Treloar, Stephenson and Grundy. Their back up ruck was adequate and they inherited a generational talent for free and JDG, Josh Daicos and Crisp stepped up to cover the loss of Treloar. Got Hill for pocket change.

Honestly heard the club spinning this s**t as a model and it's one of the most naive things you could come up with. Not all lists start equal. They had one bad year where nearly their entire elite backline went down injured. They didn't get better because they traded. They got better because they already had under-utilised talent and grabbed some cheap missing pieces to top up.

Collingwood has one of the most old and consistent sides in the league. They have changed personnel over the last 6 years probably less than anyone. They are almost a model for a stable list. They have 13 left from their 2017 list and another 3 playing at other clubs still. Most are still absolute best 22 and plenty are stars.

No-one thinks he was s star but paying someone to take him away seems a weird move.
It’s not about comparing talents. It’s about having the balls to make a call.

Let’s hold a player after 10 years of bang average.

Why? To appease supporters who think he is best 22?

The pies traded the best ruck. A gun mid. A kid who was showing a lot.

Getting daicos isn’t the argument. It’s the willingness to make the deals. Move on then back your draft experts to make you better

I don’t at all get the point of bringing in Shiel, but keeping Seb Ross…

Similar age, similar size… Sure when Shiel is up and firing he’s probably a more impactful player, but when’s he ever up and firing?

Don’t get it. Just keep Seb.

Yes super arrogant because a discussion about a player for a decade is ultimately going to end in underlining exactly what Billings has been - a disappointment.

As opposed to people barking that he is this best 22 player using everything but fact and the fact is that when fit. Under his first genuine top tier coach at this level. He want an automatic inclusion into the 22.

His manager made clear he was fit for the last few weeks and our final and he wasn’t an emergency for the giants game.

Says it all
Stravo, any chance of a Haynes Salary dump?

You know I love ya Yawk, but I think there is something to be said for a player (or players) that stick around when it's easy and leave when it gets too hard.

Think there's a bit of separating the wheat from the chaff going on down at Moorabbin, and I'm loving it. If you're not mentally, physically or emotionally ready to give everything you have then the door is just over there.

Billings Gresham and others more than happy to collect a pay cheque for running their own pre-seasons and piss-farting around at the club during the week, but want out when the games are over and its time to properly work.

I'm not laying the boots in because they are leaving, I've wanted them gone for a while. You can see who is and who isn't putting in the work, or doesn’t have it in them, from a mile away.

If you aren't willing to work under Lyon then what chance do you have of getting the most out of yourself anywhere else?

We've done well this trade period not for who we've brought in but who we've let go. It's about time!
I have no problem with players being traded, it’s the trades we don’t make that disappoint me. I really rate ross Lyon but I feel like we needed to drop back to move forward and he’s imo not a guy to buy into that. I think we’re still desperately short of A grade talent and have neither the willingness to endure a year or two down the bottom nor a reasonable alternative to bring in that talent.

I‘m not worried in the slightest about anyone who’s been traded I’m just not a fan of bagging out players. I’m especially not a fan of bagging out guys who have suffered from slumps due to injury, Gresham, billings, coffield and DMac all fall into that category imo. I guess we can hope toce has another great year at the draft because we really need it.

any billings move has to be done with opening slightly more salary cap next year right? because doing a nothing trade with him doesnt really net us anything unless they really want him out of the club.

Or is this a matter of the club trying to put a player friendly image by showing that they will work for the players best interests despite the result not really impacting the club on any meaningful level?

We’d want to get Shiel for next to nothing if he comes.

I'd want them to pay most of his wage and give us a pick back. He is not even going to be be able to play most of next year.

List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part IV