Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Hey Mutineer do you know how it is that a Lions Academy prospect in Sam Marshall came to be in the APS and CTL in Melbourne? Do you know if Melbourne private schools are scooping up talent from other states on a regular basis (I recall Cyril Rioli being on a scholarship some time back)? Wonder if this is a feature or a bug of the junior pathway in that talent is gravitating into the Vic system even pre-AFL ranks...are SA schools doing this too?

It's happening plenty, they get Sports scholarships.

Dan Rioli and Jacob Hopper both schooled at St.Pats here in Ballarat , played school footy and for the Rebels in the then TAC Cup.

Happening in SA too, Zac Bailey (NT) PAC a recent one.

It even happens within Victoria, both Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Warrnambool) and Finn O'Sullivan (Koroit) are zoned to the GWV Rebels but got sporting scholarships to Xavier and Scotch and played for the Oakleigh Chargers when not required for the school's team..

The big Melbourne schools do this regularly. Some have set up clear pathways where they 'support' indigenous regions, but actually use it as a recruiting tool. They would claim it as mutually beneficial, but I'd say it is far different.

It's happening plenty, they get Sports scholarships.

Dan Rioli and Jacob Hopper both schooled at St.Pats here in Ballarat , played school footy and for the Rebels in the then TAC Cup.

Happening in SA too, Zac Bailey (NT) PAC a recent one.
Kozi was shopped around to multiple schools in SA, but because it was for 1 year only (Yr 12), no-one was interested - except PAC. Kozi failed every subject, but played in their footy team, so I guess they would say it was worth it.

Which player is it? I want to know who we should avoid because he isn't going to pass the Adelaide culture test - you know before he goes on to become a 3 time premiership player, 3 time norm smith medalist, 4 time All Australian, 3 time Gary Ayres medalist, 2 time B&F winner and Brownlow medalist.
Sam Lalor

Yep, all of this. He's nice and he dominates at Under 18 level as his limitations are easy enough to be put aside. But at AFL level his lack of pace, burst and strength will render him right back to the pack. He's one I find hard to rate because he has been truly dominant in some games but I have to back my eyes. 10-15 range for me.
Yep around 13-15 for me and not even an option at all for what we need

What's his weight? ;)
73kg in 2023 before weights were ridiculously disallowed to be published publically.

Lalor 88Kg at the same time.
Travalgia 72kg
Ashcrofy 75kg
O'Sullivan 70Kg
Smith 68kg
Smillie 90kg
Langford 85kg

I think the essential job of a high-end inside or inside/outside midfielder is to either cleanly distribute to a team mate who is in a better position, or they take possession and get themself into a better position through agility or burst speed and then dispose of it well themself. Ideally you want someone who can do both, but you’d be happy with a really great distributor (eg Pendlebury) or great burst player (eg Reid) or great agility player (eg Butters, or hopefully Soligo).

Based on three YouTube videos I have not seen much ‘clean hands’ if that means getting the ball out of a contest effectively to a teammate in better position. But I defer to people who have seen a lot more of him than I have.

YouTube videos do show Drapers burst speed tho.

I guess the other kind is the run all day midfielder (Walsh) but I’m not sure that’s what we really need. We need better in close mids.

I think the essential job of a high-end inside or inside/outside midfielder is to either cleanly distribute to a team mate who is in a better position, or they take possession and get themself into a better position through agility or burst speed and then dispose of it well themself. Ideally you want someone who can do both, but you’d be happy with a really great distributor (eg Pendlebury) or great burst player (eg Reid) or great agility player (eg Butters, or hopefully Soligo).

Based on three YouTube videos I have not seen much ‘clean hands’ if that means getting the ball out of a contest effectively to a teammate in better position. But I defer to people who have seen a lot more of him than I have.

YouTube videos do show Drapers burst speed tho.

I guess the other kind is the run all day midfielder (Walsh) but I’m not sure that’s what we really need. We need better in close mids.
Jagga Smith has the best hands in this draft of the top lads
Finn O'Sullivan has the best foot skills...Xavier Lindsay not far behind
Harvey Langford has the most penetrating kick
Levi Ashcroft the best all rounder
Leo Lombard the best tackler
Sid Draper probably the quickest but several as good acceleration/burst wise.
Sam Lalor the best overhead closely followed by Harvey Langford.
Sam Lalor the absolute powerful brute of this draft.

But there is only one gamebreaker...Sam Lalor :):fire:

Jagga Smith has the best hands in this draft of the top lads
Finn O'Sullivan has the best foot skills...Xavier Lindsay not far behind
Harvey Langford has the most penetrating kick
Levi Ashcroft the best all rounder
Leo Lombard the best tackler
Sid Draper probably the quickest but several as good acceleration/burst wise.
Sam Lalor the best overhead closely followed by Harvey Langford.

But there is only one gamebreaker...Sam Lalor :):fire:
The marking aspect which other than Dawson in our mids we lack around the ground is why I reckon we rate Langford so high add that penetrating left foot kick and his high footy IQ, I reckon we think he's a Dawson type clone and how often have we said we wished we could have two Dawson's.

His kicking inside 50 to advantage looks pretty good for an 18 year old too.

The marking aspect which other than Dawson in our mids we lack around the ground is why I reckon we rate Langford so high add that penetrating left foot kick and his high footy IQ, I reckon we think he's a Dawson type clone and how often have we said we wished we could have two Dawson's.

His kicking inside 50 to advantage looks pretty good for an 18 year old too.
Langford's big query is his pace and agility at the next level IMO , tested subpar at the preseason testing and I'd be sure the AFL recruiters will have big interest to see if there's improvement in those areas..

I just don't think Langford has the upside/potential/ceiling of the Lalor/Draper type.

Lalor wins the 'most powerful' award for mine. Those types are always good footballers.
Are you surprised Langford's teammate Cooper Hynes isn't getting more love, I don't think he's too far behind Langford in what he could be at AFL level with more time in the midfield? I think he's a genuine later 1st round chance talent wise?

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)