2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

So which clubs hoarding 3rd and 4th rounders they don't need can we trade a future pick to?

Brisbane have 3 x 3rd rounders and 2 x 4th rounders, a future 3rd rounder for picks 45 and 56?

Have had a gander at some of the suggestions in here and some of the later draft options and seems like there are still some highly rated juniors who didn't excel this year or bolters. Moraes, Gross, Boxshall, Shanahan, Ivisic, Ough all look more than decent prospects from the randoms clips I've watched.

If someone bids too high on Cole, Mraz is a good option as a tall defender.

Just watched Moraes highlights. Petracca Mk2 , let’s do it.

He's a little mobile type more than a big bull but plenty of potential. He was shit in the champs but he played one game where he put in about 20 minutes of footy that was probably the most dominant individual patch I saw. It looked like there were 4 of him playing.

The Saints were searching for midfielders with their first two picks, but it was hard to pass up on Tobie Travaglia and Alix Tauru. Travaglia played mostly as an elite-running half-back this year but believes he can be a Will Day-type player who can transition into a midfield role. Tauru is a 193cm utility who can play anywhere and could be anything, so he looks another good fit and should excite Saints fans in the years ahead.
St Kilda football boss David Misson said Travaglia is a “hard-running player” who “possesses great leadership skills”, while Tauru is “an aggressive and powerful intercept defender who can go forward and hit the scoreboard”. The Saints see Tauru as being “a great addition to our defensive stocks”.
St Kilda now holds the fifth pick of night two, with plenty of good players still on the board to pick from. Could a key forward slider in Jack Whitlock or Jobe Shanahan get there?
South Australian ruckman Alex Dodson has also been linked to the Saints, as has WA bolter Hugh Boxshall. The Saints have two NGA prospects who they will likely need to match bids on after that in defenders Lennox Hofmann and Adrian Cole. But with Tauru already being added to the backline, do they need two more defenders? Maybe not. There are suggestions Hofmann could attract a bid as early as the 30s. Meanwhile, the Saints also have father-son Elwood Peckett linked to them and it will be fascinating watch to see if they take him considering their president Andrew Bassat's strong views.

It's hard to not be a little flat after last night, when the seven best mids in the draft were all gone by the time our picks came.

In the end, I think we've gone best available and both kids looks very promising.

But neither help fill the void in our midfield.

I'm pretty excited to see what Tauru brings to the table though, he could be an absolute star of the comp.
It sucks, it seriously genuinely sucks. The news that we may have had Draper slip through was euphoric. He will have an incredible career. But can't pick from what you don't have available.

But our U25 list of people who could go through the midfield has Garcia, Pou, Windy, Carroll, Wilson, Owens, Henry, Hastie, Stocker, Shoey, Nas, Hall, TT, Byrnes and McConnell.

Simplistic to say why can't a superstar mid take the next step from our current crop - but honestly why not?

We have a lot of options to develop on top of Steele, Macrae, Hill, Dow, Clark and Jones. Dow will be like a new recruit to our midfield this year such was his interrupted 2024 season and Macrae will finish top 5 in our B&F. I'd almost guarantee that.

I really think most have also underestimated the impact that Jack Carroll will have for us as well. He isn't there to make up the numbers let me say that much.

Pick 32
Any blondes left?
To complete our children of the damned set

village of the damned wolf rilla GIF by Maudit

So what are you supposed to draft for? The game plan for the next coach that comes in?

F*** me dead there is some ridiculous chat on here :tearsofjoy: These overreactions are hilarious.

Three of the top four in our 2024 B+F weren't selected in the AFL National Draft. Sixth, seventh and 10th were traded in also.

Point is that the National Draft is not the be all or end all.

When a new coach takes over from Lyon, there will be a transition period as with every new coach but it's comical to be concerned about that. Couple of trades, couple of rookies and couple of draft picks and a list can be flicked on its head.

What an arrogant take. You draft on a club based philosophy, thats the modern model like other elite sports. Coaches are here today gone tomorrow especially at St Kilda. I couldn’t care less if a player is a ‘ross lyon type’ the club is bigger than Lyon and SOS favourites.

If Dodson falls to our pick.

Does that change the situation much?

If we can slide the pick back & grab another pick then sure.

I honestly wouldn't take Dodson with our pick.

Decent ruck options can be found anywhere.

The Saints were searching for midfielders with their first two picks, but it was hard to pass up on Tobie Travaglia and Alix Tauru. Travaglia played mostly as an elite-running half-back this year but believes he can be a Will Day-type player who can transition into a midfield role. Tauru is a 193cm utility who can play anywhere and could be anything, so he looks another good fit and should excite Saints fans in the years ahead.
St Kilda football boss David Misson said Travaglia is a “hard-running player” who “possesses great leadership skills”, while Tauru is “an aggressive and powerful intercept defender who can go forward and hit the scoreboard”. The Saints see Tauru as being “a great addition to our defensive stocks”.
St Kilda now holds the fifth pick of night two, with plenty of good players still on the board to pick from. Could a key forward slider in Jack Whitlock or Jobe Shanahan get there?
South Australian ruckman Alex Dodson has also been linked to the Saints, as has WA bolter Hugh Boxshall. The Saints have two NGA prospects who they will likely need to match bids on after that in defenders Lennox Hofmann and Adrian Cole. But with Tauru already being added to the backline, do they need two more defenders? Maybe not. There are suggestions Hofmann could attract a bid as early as the 30s. Meanwhile, the Saints also have father-son Elwood Peckett linked to them and it will be fascinating watch to see if they take him considering their president Andrew Bassat's strong views.
Editor to flog clueless journo, not a bad copy paste job from AFL website but don't forget to include something about Bassats views in the article at the end - that'll definitely get the clicks

Next year when we still have FRDP I think people will be happy. All of this crop look good but all have question marks. Jagga is a bit low hurt factor, Smilie looks like he might be a big kid pushing smaller ones around, Langford is slow, Lalor might be more forward than mid etc. I think we have a bit of a mix of high potential and safe. Travaglia looks safe as houses with potentially a little lower ceiling, Tauru is raw but could genuinely be he best player in the comp type.
Well said, just on next year, we all know it's compromised but if anyone thinks there won't be at least a handful of elite players from the open draft they are kidding themselves.

The way it is spoken about is as though the first 30 picks will be unavailable to us.

He's a Crouch replacement. The midfielder we need (and could get) now, to be competitive.

I don't think a sugar hit is the right term for giving ourselves a winning chance. Without that, we might lose or stunt players, and guys like LDU/Callaghan won't even consider us.
Ross said all year that Steele needs support and McCrae will give him that and will take some of the heat off him. Any first or second year mid wouldn’t be helping with the heavy lifting in the middle.

What an arrogant take. You draft on a club based philosophy, thats the modern model like other elite sports. Coaches are here today gone tomorrow especially at St Kilda. I couldn’t care less if a player is a ‘ross lyon type’ the club is bigger than Lyon and SOS favourites.
But at the same time - if we don't draft and recruit players who suit the game style the coach wants to play, they are less likley to game a game, their development will likely be slower without those opportunities and then they will be out of the system quicker making the pick wasted.

Like anything, it's about a balance.

If the best available were all CHF’s would you draft four of them? I bet not. Where is the drafting to balance the list and address our biggest weakness.
You just got an AA mid who plays day 1, not to mention the guys who due to injury we got very little out off. We also had a heap of injuries so it’s not all doom and gloom plus we were very hard to win clearances against. It would be nice to smash teams out of the middle but who at or after our picks was walking into the side next year and doing that.

:tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: We are not Barcelona, mate. You are living in an absolute fantasy land.

You stinking up big St Kilda events on Big Footy is one of my favourite forms of entertainment.

Name one AFL club that has drafted and traded with regards to their next AFL coach.

Richmond went all in on Taranto, Hopper, no plan for Yze
Hawthorn mulled about with Clarko before Mitchell gutted their list
Did Essendon plan for Scott?
Did Carlton plan for Voss?

There is literally no examples other than shit clubs stockpiling talent such as Gold Coast and West Coast.

Clubs are trying to win premierships in the short-term, mate. You have less control over the long-term. Just ask our fans. Kosi, McCartin, Dempster, Roberton, Stevens, probably even Crouch (I'm sure there is others) have all had their careers cut short unexpectedly.

As for a club philosophy, who is to say we aren't starting a club philosophy based on transition football?

I'm not suggesting this and I'm not as ridiculous as you to think I know what's going on at the club.

Plus there is a salary cap in AFL. With the cyclical nature of what a salary cap does, it's difficult to be strong for eternity like a Barcelona and do what you want.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The main point to take away from this is that your chat is hilarious, an overreaction and makes this board a comedy for me.

Keep it up xx

He's a little mobile type more than a big bull but plenty of potential. He was shit in the champs but he played one game where he put in about 20 minutes of footy that was probably the most dominant individual patch I saw. It looked like there were 4 of him playing.
He’s also one of the youngest in the draft pool, as are Toby & Alix

Ough is the same size as Smilie, but a full seven month younger than him, younger than Tauru and Travaglia, and only 3 days older than Levi Ashcroft…

Pulled a handy 21 disposals, 7 marks, 5 tackles, and 5 clearances up against the stacked Sandy midfield in the CTL Grand Final, despite a head knock in the third quarter.

I’d be delighted with him.

Edit: Just FWIW, was in the Vic Country side with Trav and the Viking too…

That is a lousy highlights package, have you seen him play ?. What’s he like, can he kick, does he have a left foot, any breakaway pace ?.

The only person throwing toys out the cot was you I’m afraid. Saw a lot of your histrionics and straw man arguments

Still waiting for you to point out all the posts shit canning TT you were stomping your feet about yesterday.

Accountability not big character trait for you I see.
And wasn't Trav compared to Nathan Wright by someone yesterday? You?

That's a fair whack anyway you want to cut it

That is a lousy highlights package, have you seen him play ?. What’s he like, can he kick, does he have a left foot, any breakaway pace ?.
Haven't seen him much, but he's tidy by foot and more than useful by hand.

Pace isn't superb, but he's not exactly slow either. Very strong in the hips.

Our best 22 midfield should have Steele, Macrae, Phillipou as the starting mids. Wood, Hill, Henry, Wilson on the outside wings/ f flanks and running HBs in Nas and Sinclair. Then have Dow, Garcia, Windhager, Clark and Jones in the reserves or bench.

Spots are going to be super tight if we don't have many injuries. Also would like to feed in Schoenmaker and Hastie a bit more off HB and a big bunch of new kids needing games.

I think Jones best position for the team going forward is on a wing. The couple of late games he played the wing he looked really good and he could still come in and provide that dash when required. Jones is more a straight line player and doesnt have the game to play full time mid. It was suggested much earlier in the thread, that perhaps the club might try Wood in the CHB position. I wonder if that occurs, although his wingman marking front and back is very damaging.

Garcia needs to be given as much midfield time as humanly possible this year. He and Phillipou are the kids who are going to take off as a genuine AFL midfielders and give us that punch we crave out of the centre.

I dont know where we fit Travaglia and Tauru into the side immediately. There is going to be huge competition for the defensive positions excluding CHB. Perhaps Travaglia will possibly fill the Bonner role and we ease Tauru in via a flank forward or back. But Tauru is going to need a bit of extra time.

Other than Travaglia, I cant see any of the other 2024 draftees having much an impact next year. Perhaps if we grab a mobile ruckman they can work in with Marshall, but hopefully Keeler steps up to fill that posi.

It's hard to not be a little flat after last night, when the seven best mids in the draft were all gone by the time our picks came.

In the end, I think we've gone best available and both kids looks very promising.

But neither help fill the void in our midfield.

I'm pretty excited to see what Tauru brings to the table though, he could be an absolute star of the comp.
I'm with you Birdy.

Was flat as a tack as soon as Melbourne read our Langford's name.

Coincidently I was chatting about the draft to another dad at my son's rep cricket training yesterday arvo... He's from Bendigo & brought up Trav & raved about what a gun he was. Tough as teak, relentless and can seriously play.

Very excited about getting the Viking in. Will become an absolute cult hero.

Looking forward to what we do tonight to compliment T & T and the rest of our young group... all those complaining about mids should probably wait til the draft is actually over.

Maybe don't buy into the lazy media commentary of 'Ross Lyon' types.

Ok, I hope our Merch team actually follow this thread because I've come up with a couple of options.

First option:

images-7.jpeg
More your traditional fancy dress party type outfit. The blonde braids are definitely on point with Tauru.

Second option:

images-6.jpeg
My personal favourite, clearly the Danish flag to be replaced with our crest and black introduced throughout. Will be s great option for those cold winter games.

Third option:

images-5.jpeg
I only included this at Barrels' request, whilst not quote full gimp, pretty close to and an option nonetheless.

I’m sorry but that’s just not how it works, you’d have the tail wagging the dog and internal wars with that approach. It’s the coach and his coaching panel that determines game plan, strategy etc. Yes he has to cut his cloth according to what he has avaliable but surely to realise the direction he’s sold the board that appointed him he needs the players to do it.

Coach I want abc, recruiters nah xyz, yep that will work out well.

2024 Draft Thread.