2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

But we didn't and we didn't win it. Neither did freo. Comprehensively outplayed in two of the four.

You're trying to argue against something that actually happened and the results that have occurred. But you're standing there saying could have and then accusing others of making stuff up.

Disagree on the corridor statement. I have the PMs from the first off season from those at training to prove it.

This is a poor response even by your head in the sand standard.
Out played in 2/4?

• Dominated Geelong.
  • Struggled H1 in draw. Dominated H2.
  • Replay was an even game in H1 - we kicked 1.8 they kicked 6.5.
Roo. Gilbert X3 Joey Fisher all missed consecutive shots either side a Didak goal. That was the game. Second half it was over and we got smashed.

- Freo. 5.5 to 1.6 at half time. Twice they got the game back to 3 points in the third.

Was a very even game. 11.11 v 8.14

Makes it all the better that they have no F1 or Tauru instead of Tauru and 2 F1 ( still at least 1 F1 if they traded ours to Richmond for Whitlock).

How do you deal with that type of abject stupidity and incompetence?

I will sit here comfortable that we kept 7 and 8 and used them wisely.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
A few posters looked at the trades they knocked back 12 months ago.

I believe there is a scenario where they could have had Dan Curtain and Tauru instead of one of Mckercher/Wardlaw.

Imagine slotting those 2 players across half back for them and taking out Mckercher. They still land Fos this year.

Wowee.

A few posters looked at the trades they knocked back 12 months ago.

I believe there is a scenario where they could have had Dan Curtain and Tauru instead of one of Mckercher/Wardlaw.

Imagine slotting those 2 players across half back for them and taking out Mckercher. They still land Fos this year.

Wowee.
If that's the case Rawlings should be extremely thankful he still has a job.

1732434341498.png
Sad Oh No GIF by BrownSugarApp

But we didn't and we didn't win it. Neither did freo. Comprehensively outplayed in two of the four.

You're trying to argue against something that actually happened and the results that have occurred. But you're standing there saying could have and then accusing others of making stuff up.

Disagree on the corridor statement. I have the PMs from the first off season from those at training to prove it.

This is a poor response even by your head in the sand standard.

It's amusing reading your drivel at times... but your highjacking of this thread just shows what a miserable campaigner you must be.

Happy to stand by my 'poor response' backed up by people who actually attend training, watch games live & have contacts within the club.

Including myself.

Might pop down to training this week & send you a 'PM' to give you an update.

🤡

Sure but there's nothing in our situation to suggest we couldnt afford to re-sign TDK next year. Williams massive contract will be ending the year after, that alone should be enough to make up the difference with TDKs new contract let alone the rest of the OOC players that will be moved on or be in line for pay cuts.
Didn’t you just cut your depth due to cap pressure - including making out owies was asking for 3/4 of a million dollars 😂?

In 09/10 we weren't a quick side hence the dour defense game plan to play to strengths.

The last 4 years we've recruited fast agile players so imho the intent of the coaching team is to play a much faster game and run clubs off their feet. Game plan will also be different when some of these alpha young blokes get going with their careers.

Exciting times ahead imo.
Interesting in examining our draftees this year:

Travaglia; 189cm, strong overhead, line beaker, competitive, endurance, interceptor

Tauru : 193cm, strong overhead, versatile, competitive, athletic, interceptor

Barrat; 194cm, strong overhead, versatile, competitive, athletic, interceptor

Boxshall; 188cm, strong overhead, competitive, quick, good hands, aggressive

Dodson : 203cm, strong overhead, mobile, competitive, athletic, endurance

Said ; 180cm, speed, endurance, elite kick.

They share similar characteristics. Tall (with the exception of Said), versatile, good overhead, competitive, athletic and read the play well.

Lyon wants us to be big, quick, skilful and mean. He wants players who can read the play, want to win, and who can perform multiple roles.

Complete flexibility. Covering all bases.

I wonder if we (or the AFL) has anyone over there full time over that period to give him specialist kicking advice/training.

Would be great for him to hit the ground running when he got over here with his ball use.
I'm tempted to try and find him. Give the Saints my number, and we'll work out a fee 🤣 I was pretty good back in the day & still fit and fast (for a 48 year old) His training standards should be good from GAA anyway. Skills probably not. I'd have him able to bounce the ball, shrug a tackle, and drop punt by next June no worries. After that the club can shift my family over and move us into a nice 3 bedroom Brighton pad (no, feck that...NOT Brighton, maybe a cheaper, quieter, more rustic version with trees and space) up my wage, and give me the life I so richly deserve.
Ah, dreams...#GiveMeEverythingIwant

Didn’t you just cut your depth due to cap pressure - including making out owies was asking for 3/4 of a million dollars 😂?
Not that I know of. We had very limited list spots and needed to rejig our list. All the players we got rid of would have been on most peoples chopping blocks other than Kennedy. Pretty much cut all our most injury prone players who'd plagued our rehab group for years on end.

Either way cutting 10 senior players this year and having 17 more OOC next year would make it borderline impossible for us to be under any substantial cap pressure atm.

Travaglia; 189cm, strong overhead, line beaker, competitive, endurance, interceptor

They share similar characteristics. Tall (with the exception of Said), versatile, good overhead, competitive, athletic and read the play well.

Lyon wants us to be big, quick, skilful and mean. He wants players who can read the play, want to win, and who can perform multiple roles.

Love it, players that are combative, skilful, and can outlast the opposition, win games of footy.
It 'aint rocket appliance 🥴

RTB has been in the job for 2 years .... what exactly are some expecting to have happened in that time .... with a list that was clearly not good enough?

We have the 5th youngest squad in the league and some if those players have barely turned 20 yet played nearly 50 games

I would be more worried as a Blues supporter or Pies supporter with their aging lists and a Tassie team just around the corner .... compared to them we are in great shape
And getting younger and younger

Beating Carlton, Sydney, Essendon and Geelong on the run home was no mean feat. With a style of play that augurs well for the future. Tanking for higher draft picks was just not on.

Halfway through the season with us injury riddled and seemingly out of luck and form high draft picks were the thing to cling onto. I will admit this was my comfort zone. But gradually we started to play better as injured players returned and confidence levels rose.

I was sort of glad to ditch notions of high draft picks for a glimpse into what might be of our future playing style. And Pou, Sharman, NAS, Wilson and some other young guys started to show the way. All this time with no Max King. Really think a new fit version of him will make a huge difference.

For years I have advocated getting the draft and development right and then showing a bit of patience. PATIENCE. Stop getting GOP’s from other teams and handing over draft picks. Get our own and then let other teams trade us picks for our fringe players.

We have had no extra draft capital each and every year. Pretty soon we still start accumulating some. Not before time.

And behind the scenes all the necessary pieces of a successful club are being put in place. I could list them all but it seems well publicized. But that word patience is still required. You can’t fix years of stuffing it up overnight. As impatient as we are, and for good reason, we just have to wait a bit longer.

And the talls are mobile.

Guys

What can you tell us about Ben Paton? What type of player is he? Strengths/wraknesses?

Cheers
Honestly it's hard to say anymore. Since the leg break he's been in and out of the side perhaps not being given the role he excelled at early days. He was a very reasonable interceptor and excellent lock down defender with a bit of burst speed. I think he probably didn't show enough offensive capability and Jimmy Webster has remained evergreen so it's limited his opportunity. However as has been said, he hasn't seemed the same since the incident.

Guys

What can you tell us about Ben Paton? What type of player is he? Strengths/wraknesses?

Cheers
The leg break has been a real sliding doors moment on his career. Lockdown small defender who got involved on rebound, tidy enough skills, ultra reliable for a time there. Unsure (and maybe he is too?) if he gets back to that?

Wish him very well up there!

Yes Ross Lyon deserves to be under pressure just like any coach.

Saying Ross doesn’t have the game plan to win premierships is just complete nonsense.

Are we talking about the same Ross that has been to the big dance 3 times?

I’d say he’s got a pretty good idea how to build a premiership game plan and with just a small bit of luck would already be a premiership coach.

Yes I’m biased because I love Ross and I have absolutely no doubt he has us trending back in the right direction.

Yes Ross Lyon deserves to be under pressure just like any coach.

Saying Ross doesn’t have the game plan to win premierships is just complete nonsense.

Are we talking about the same Ross that has been to the big dance 3 times?

I think there is 2 ways you can look at Lyon. Your way

Or, that it is almost criminal that he did not win a flag with the list he had 2004 - 2010.

My view, I think he has to show something different in 2025. I don't think his immediate future is about ladder position next year. I think it is about showing us and the footy world that he is putting together a team structure that can cope with the modern game, play some watchable footy and is ready in 26 and 27 to compete at the pointy end.

LDU will be a restricted FA. North will have the cap space to match. Won’t be easy, even if he wants to come.

If they match and we still want him, it will cost us a bomb.

TDK on the other hand would come easier if he decided he wants in. Carlton won’t have the cap to match.

NWM not yet signing is a massive watch also.

Interesting times ahead.
Oh North... If they want to match an offer on LDU, and have sod all money in the coming years to pay all of Duursma, Sheezel, FOS, Wardlaw, McKercher, Simpkin, Larkey, Whitlock, Xerri etc etc, then they can commit list building seppuku all they like.

I can't see them matching. LDU is no longer a player they desperately lack, quite the opposite now..

Mind you, i didn't see them trading a top 5 future pick for 2 x picks in the mid 20's either.

I think there is 2 ways you can look at Lyon. Your way

Or, that it is almost criminal that he did not win a flag with the list he had 2004 - 2010.

My view, I think he has to show something different in 2025. I don't think his immediate future is about ladder position next year. I think it is about showing us and the footy world that he is putting together a team structure that can cope with the modern game, play some watchable footy and is ready in 26 and 27 to compete at the pointy end.
I agree that we had an insanely talented team from 2004-2010.

So much talent and they was a pleasure to watch.

Gutted they never won a flag.

When you break it down and look at our grand final side from 2009 there was plenty of role players that played the Ross system.

Here’s the 2009 grand final team

ST KILDA v GEELONG
B:
Jason Blake, Zac Dawson, Steven Baker
HB: Brendon Goddard, Sam Fisher, Sam Gilbert
C: Farren Ray, Lenny Hayes, Nick Dal Santo
HF: Andrew McQualter, Justin Koschitzke, Clint Jones
F: Stephen Milne, Nick Riewoldt, Jason Gram
Foll: Steven King, Leigh Montagna, Adam Schneider
I/C: Luke Ball, Raphael Clarke, Sean Dempster, Michael Gardiner

I’d agree that Ross was an exceptional coach and got everything he could’ve from the likes of

Jason Blake
Zac Dawson
Steven Baker
Farren Ray
Andrew McQualter
Clint Jones

2024 Draft Thread.