2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Ross Lyon offence

2007: last
2008: 9th
2009: 4th. Lost GF to cats 2nd.
2010: 8th. Lost GF fo pies 2nd.
2011: 12th
2012: 12th (now at freo. We jumped to 4th after he left.)
2013: 12th. Lost GF to hawks 1st.
2014: 7th
2015: 11th
2016: 16th
2017: 17th
2018: 16th
2019: 16th
2022: 15th (two previous seasons we were 4th and 12th).
2023: 15th

I'm sorry but if you think this is going to get you a flag you're delusional.

all three instances where he got close he was ultimately beaten by a coach who got his side top 4 for attack. I'm sure the finals exits will show something similar.

If Ross wants to keep the job he needs to get us into the top 8 for offence. If he wants to challenge for a flag it needs to be top 4.

I like what we’re doing but you’re not selling an LDU promise or he’d stay at north. If we want him or any quality players we need to show we can win and we’re on the rise.

It was always a quiet rebuild imo and we’ve shed some loyal servants and fan favourites. We’ve been pretty ruthless really and now we need to see the results or the pressure will rightly start to build. We need to sign guys like wang and people have to realise that we’re out of guys to sell of.

The young guys we need to keep, the older guys are past their sell buy date to get the sort of return that would justify it. Ok I’m actually happy with that I don’t want to see any more battle deals but it’s time as Bruce buffet would say, let’s get ready to rumble.
I agree with this.

You can't land sought after free agents on a promise. Hell just money isn't enough anymore.

They need actuality. They want to see the club winning games. They want stability. They want guaranteed $$$. If anything $$$ have taken a back seat to onfield success. Where players are taking pay cuts to get a shot at a flag.

Our biggest problem with acquiring free agents is we have had no onfield success.

Doesn't matter what location we are in. Doesn't matter who's the President. Ceo. Coach. List boss.
Doesn't matter if it's the world's greatest offer of all time.

If we don't have on field success they'll just go across the road to Hawthorn. Collingwood. Carlton. Or decide the tranquillity of Geelongs bogans are suddenly very appealing.

I'm pretty sure RTB knows what it takes for a flag......On the Couch (I think) on Fox Footy has a great "premiership window" graphic that shows where teams have to be, relevant to the competition, in both defence and attack, in order to be contenders.....

I doubt anyone has ever believed you can win without scoring, but I also think the game style he is trying to build is the modern key to unlocking a contending level of scoring......

I'm pretty sure RTB knows what it takes for a flag......On the Couch (I think) on Fox Footy has a great "premiership window" graphic that shows where teams have to be, relevant to the competition, in both defence and attack, in order to be contenders.....

I doubt anyone has ever believed you can win without scoring, but I also think the game style he is trying to build is the modern key to unlocking a contending level of scoring......
When has he been able to do it?

I'm not sure his approach works. Every session in season 1 people were commenting how worked up he was getting because he wanted players to move the ball wide along the boundary.

That's great defensively but it's terrible for offence.

I'm not sure his approach works. Every session in season 1 people were commenting how worked up he was getting because he wanted players to move the ball wide along the boundary.

WTF are you moaning about this time?
We all agree with you. Now find something positive to talk about FFS.

Ross Lyon offence

2007: last
2008: 9th
2009: 4th. Lost GF to cats 2nd.
2010: 8th. Lost GF fo pies 2nd.
2011: 12th
2012: 12th (now at freo. We jumped to 4th after he left.)
2013: 12th. Lost GF to hawks 1st.
2014: 7th
2015: 11th
2016: 16th
2017: 17th
2018: 16th
2019: 16th
2022: 15th (two previous seasons we were 4th and 12th).
2023: 15th

I'm sorry but if you think this is going to get you a flag you're delusional.

all three instances where he got close he was ultimately beaten by a coach who got his side top 4 for attack. I'm sure the finals exits will show something similar.

If Ross wants to keep the job he needs to get us into the top 8 for offence. If he wants to challenge for a flag it needs to be top 4.
22 was ratten

I don't think Ross should be under any pressure at all. Cut pretty much all the deadwood over the last couple of years. Think we have almost the most exciting list of 25 and unders. A good run with injuries and who knows
Agree. Media won’t understand that or bother even looking at the list. So it’ll be newsworthy I’m sure.

Can’t wait for Gerard Healy’s hot takes.

1. Lyon should be under the pressure everyone else is under at a League football club. Does that mean he should be sacked? Nobody is saying that, but he just doesn't get a pass.
2. Nobody denies Lyon has been a defensive coach and the middle of the season was a hard going dirge when we haf virually no midfield so he made them into a scrap. I take confidence that once we got a semblance of a midfield and Clark, Dow, Jones and a lesser extent Phillipou got a decent run at it we handily beat some top 8 and top 4 teams and kicked well over a 100 quite a few times.

The problem is although you might not care what the margin is its unfortunately the biggest weakness in Ross Lyons coaching career.

He just can't get his sides to score fluently enough which means you inevitably drop games. It ultimately costs his club and means he never reaches premiership land.

If he can't improve that we are just treading water.
Defence wins afl, wins nfl, wins nrl etc etc. We need to step up in the midfield and in attack but we have the foundation's to be a top 8 team.

I would have thought the fact we kicked 99 points or more in 4 of our last 7 games, and 5 of our last 10 (including twice against eventual preliminary finalists)- after not having done so once in our first 13- was just as promising for us going forward as the 5 wins from our last 6 games, and 8 from our last 12.

In the first half of the year we were the no.1 scoring team from the back half, but worst at scoring from forward half turnovers, but after the bye we clearly significantly improved the latter part of our game, and unlocked our ability to score in the process.

Ross is no fool. He would know damn well that in order to win a flag these days you have to be able to score, and the fact we started doing so with regularity to finish our season ought to be hugely promising going forward.

Especially with what ought to be a significantly better midfield to play with, all-things-being-equal.

We kick straight & we win one if not two flags.

Freo kick straight & they beat the unbeatable in 2013.

Every track watcher has reported that the ball movement at training is always focused on going through the corridor.

We were #1 on ball movement from D50 to F50 for most of last season.

Your post/s simply don't stand up.

I don't know why you're bringing your usual negative rubbish to the Draft thread.

RTB took over a squad that was firmly entrenched in no mans land ..... firmly stuck making mud pies in that 7 to 12 trench

He has now had time to assess the list and with a firm eye on the Tassie start up we have now cut a lot of the muddy dead wood that had stopped growing and planted some new vibrant fresh saplings whose initial growth phase looks very promising.

We need to give RTB the time to nurture and tend to his new garden

Defence wins afl, wins nfl, wins nrl etc etc. We need to step up in the midfield and in attack but we have the foundation's to be a top 8 team.
Hey I agree defence does ultimately win but you need a passable offence. Under Ross tenture is extremely rare that is considered passable. Hence he hasn't won the premiership yet and we've struggled in his two seasons back to really make a dent.

When we were going well in his first season we were hitting the score board. That dried up and it was back to the norm for Ross.

Hey I agree defence does ultimately win but you need a passable offence. Under Ross tenture is extremely rare that is considered passable. Hence he hasn't won the premiership yet and we've struggled in his two seasons back to really make a dent.

When we were going well in his first season we were hitting the score board. That dried up and it was back to the norm for Ross.
To be fair to Ross. In both GF’s at the saints it was more luck then any of his cos hung within those games. Ie , the games were so close it had nothing to do with his coaching that we lost.

We kick straight & we win one if not two flags.

Freo kick straight & they beat the unbeatable in 2013.

Every track watcher has reported that the ball movement at training is always focused on going through the corridor.

We were #1 on ball movement from D50 to F50 for most of last season.

Your post/s simply don't stand up.

I don't know why you're bringing your usual negative rubbish to the Draft thread.

But we didn't and we didn't win it. Neither did freo. Comprehensively outplayed in two of the four.

You're trying to argue against something that actually happened and the results that have occurred. But you're standing there saying could have and then accusing others of making stuff up.

Disagree on the corridor statement. I have the PMs from the first off season from those at training to prove it.

This is a poor response even by your head in the sand standard.

In any case, NM would be more likely to let a wantaway LDU go to recuperate a high end Round 1 Pick (which they don't currently have).

LDU would be an enormous get.

On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app
It’d be interesting conundrum. Let’s say LDU left to a team with say pick 6-10 (which will get pushed back due to FS & Academy). And they wanted 2 first rounders for LDU. Surely you’d rather pick 3 vs Say 8 + F1?

RTB took over a squad that was firmly entrenched in no mans land ..... firmly stuck making mud pies in that 7 to 12 trench

He has now had time to assess the list and with a firm eye on the Tassie start up we have now cut a lot of the muddy dead wood that had stopped growing and planted some new vibrant fresh saplings whose initial growth phase looks very promising.

We need to give RTB the time to nurture and tend to his new garden
Especially since all these guys that are being brought in fit the mold of how he wants us to play.

If you ditch him and bring in someone new, they’re going to have a different way they want us to play, and it will then potentially take years for them to build the team that suits how they want us to play.

Which can set you back years.

We’ve pretty much gone all-in on Ross, and as such, we really need to get behind him as a whole club and give him the best chance to finish what he’s building here.

As much as we might not like his dour style at times, I reckon he’s squeezed just about every drop out of this group over the last two years.

Everyone reckons we lack talent (especially in the all-important midfield) and on top of that we’ve been smashed by injuries going into both seasons, yet he’s gotten us to 6th, and then a season of 11 wins and 6 losses by 10 points or less.

Very very few other coaches would have squeezed anywhere near that much out of the hands he’s been playing with.

We’re essentially in “rebuild mode”, yet we’re winning at least every second week. That’s no mean feat.

In 09/10 we weren't a quick side hence the dour defense game plan to play to strengths.

The last 4 years we've recruited fast agile players so imho the intent of the coaching team is to play a much faster game and run clubs off their feet. Game plan will also be different when some of these alpha young blokes get going with their careers.

Exciting times ahead imo.

RTB has been in the job for 2 years .... what exactly are some expecting to have happened in that time .... with a list that was clearly not good enough?

We have the 5th youngest squad in the league and some if those players have barely turned 20 yet played nearly 50 games

I would be more worried as a Blues supporter or Pies supporter with their aging lists and a Tassie team just around the corner .... compared to them we are in great shape

good post

Wasn't so much the losing early this year it was the brand of footy we were losing with
Can’t recall which loss it was after early-mid this season, but it was a real low point as a Saints supporter - instead of the usual ribbing from mates, one asked me, completely sincerely, if it might be time to give it away and follow another side. That’s how bad we looked, and everyone knew it at that stage.

That rubbish has to disappear entirely 2025 onwards

He revolutionised the way the game was played last time he was with us. He clearly has a plan now. You'd have to be blind not to see it.

Bee's dick away from multiple flags. Players let him down.

Can’t recall which loss it was after early-mid this season, but it was a real low point as a Saints supporter - instead of the usual ribbing from mates, one asked me, completely sincerely, if it might be time to give it away and follow another side. That’s how bad we looked, and everyone knew it at that stage.

That rubbish has to disappear entirely 2025 onwards

I agree we looked dreadful.

Think they turned it around though.

2024 Draft Thread.