2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Starting to really like this guys. Had a good VC games as well. Reminds me a bit of Jordan Dawson
Good player but I don't want us to draft another def/mid or fwd/mid. Need to go for the pure inside mids. It's either Jagga, Draper or Lalor for me atm

they will put him in the def. or fwd, isn't that what has occured with Hall?

Hall was always capable of playing half forward

Also, theres a difference between a def or fwd being moved into the midfield and a midfielder building their craft in def or fwd

For that reason you may get a very good player for cheap.
Not that l disagree. It's Lalor then Jagga for me, with Haynes after that.
Generally though you can pay overs to target individuals like GWS do, or strategize around the whole draft like we did last year.
If we can land Lalor I'll switch off happy.

For that reason you may get a very good player for cheap.
Not that l disagree. It's Lalor then Jagga for me, with Haynes after that.
Generally though you can pay overs to target individuals like GWS do, or strategize around the whole draft like we did last year.
If we can land Lalor I'll switch off happy.

I have a feeling Jagga will be the less likely to bust of the two but for pure needs Lalor is the exact type we want. The danger is that Lalor is a bit Dunstan and Jagga is more Butters but happy to see how they both go for the rest of the year before making a call.

There are heaps of similar types of inside mids later in the draft and if players like Harvey Langford aren't drafted before or second round pick it would be worth chasing a couple of them as insurance.

I have a feeling Jagga will be the less likely to bust of the two but for pure needs Lalor is the exact type we want. The danger is that Lalor is a bit Dunstan and Jagga is more Butters but happy to see how they both go for the rest of the year before making a call.

There are heaps of similar types of inside mids later in the draft and if players like Harvey Langford aren't drafted before or second round pick it would be worth chasing a couple of them as insurance.
Hopefully we get both :)

Plenty of cheap talls we can target - Haynes, Tomlinson, Khamis, Butts, Gardiner (when he recovers from his ACL), Burton, Fox - the list goes on

Ironically, the way this kid runs reminds me of LDU

Also plays like Cooper Simpson from last year's draft, who I remember being very keen on along with many other Sainters in the late 2nd round

Worth losing Battle if it means we get Lalor AND Travaglia on top of Jagga?

Hopefully we get both :)

Plenty of cheap talls we can target - Haynes, Tomlinson, Khamis, Butts, Gardiner (when he recovers from his ACL), Burton, Fox - the list goes on

Haynes and Thomplinson would be a huge no. Both are going to need to be wheeled out in wheel chairs. Khamis won't leave. Just re signed last year and getting regular games. Butts is shit and Fox is as old as those first crew. Gardiner is a below average KPF.

I'd rather play Van Es to be honest. Ari can probably take Battles spot and be a longer term replacement.

Very much a player that would normally be ranked around 20+.

There are lots of those types in this draft and I reckon. few could be the best in the draft types from nowhere.

Which is why I want to use our Second Rounder in this draft (Let Dalyrmple doo what we brought him i to do), and not trade it for an experienced player who would just be their to prop up our youth fora couple of seasons.

We need an excellent draft haul in 2024 to build on our haul from 2023.

Haynes and Thomplinson would be a huge no. Both are going to need to be wheeled out in wheel chairs. Khamis won't leave. Just re signed last year and getting regular games. Butts is shit and Fox is as old as those first crew. Gardiner is a below average KPF.

I'd rather play Van Es to be honest. Ari can probably take Battles spot and be a longer term replacement.
Tomlinson’s body is fine, he’s playing consistently, just can’t get a look ahead of May Lever McDonald. Would be good cover to help take pressure off Van Es. Khamis got dropped a couple of weeks ago. Butts is not shit lol, he was very good to start last year and has been solid to start the year. He’s the best you can get considering age for cheap. If you think Gardiner is a below average kpd then you have no clue

You don’t just play kids raw, what if they underperform? Then you’ve got no other options and you’re completely screwed

Which is why I want to use our Second Rounder in this draft (Let Dalyrmple doo what we brought him i to do), and not trade it for an experienced player who would just be their to prop up our youth fora couple of seasons.

We need an excellent draft haul in 2024 to build on our haul from 2023.
If Battle leaves for band one, we could easily have 3 picks in the first round and the second rounder. 3 chances at a potential gun, then a more speculative potential gun. It could be a massive haul if we do it right

Maybe, but though there are lots of them they are also no better than average for their place in the pool.
Moving our 2nd pick into that area would be a good move, as would getting another pick around that one. I think I'd puke if we traded our F1st though.

If Battle leaves for band one, we could easily have 3 picks in the first round and the second rounder. 3 chances at a potential gun, then a more speculative potential gun. It could be a massive haul if we do it right
Three? Where's the 3rd coming from?

And yes we have one second round pick, Adelaide's, not our own. They will probably be of similar value anyway.

If his bit of Dunstan is the bit that collects the ball, that's great.
If his bit of Dunstan is the bit that kicks it.......ewwwwww.

Three? Where's the 3rd coming from?

And yes we have one second round pick, Adelaide's, not our own. They will probably be of similar value anyway.
I floated the idea of getting band 1 for Battle, then splitting pick 5 for a later top 10 pick + a late teens pick

Tomlinson’s body is fine, he’s playing consistently, just can’t get a look ahead of May Lever McDonald. Would be good cover to help take pressure off Van Es. Khamis got dropped a couple of weeks ago. Butts is not shit lol, he was very good to start last year and has been solid to start the year. He’s the best you can get considering age for cheap. If you think Gardiner is a below average kpd then you have no clue

You don’t just play kids raw, what if they underperform? Then you’ve got no other options and you’re completely screwed

He’s over 30. It’s a one season fix at best.

Maybe, but though there are lots of them they are also no better than average for their place in the pool.
Moving our 2nd pick into that area would be a good move, as would getting another pick around that one. I think I'd puke if we traded our F1st though.

Me too

That's the point. He's short-term cover for our youngsters coming through - Van Es needs another season to establish himself properly while Arie and Keeler both have elements to work on. Putting them in raw doesn't help their development nor does it help the team. I think Tomlinson has another couple years left, he's been at a pretty consistent level the past few years without signs of dropping off

Yes, 2025 needs to be a another year of developing our future.

I would keep Howard and get some senior games into Keeler, Van Ess and Caminiti over the course of 2025 down back.

I would like to avoid more Frawley's and Sam Rowes being brought into the club.

If we were a contender, you would want some extra depth. But we will not be in 2025 and we have players to develop.

The more old players you bring in, the less slots you have to to find a future first 22 player. If Dalyrmple fancies a mid aged player who he thinks might make it, then go for it.

Anyone we add to our list now needs to have the potential to play for years, not just a year. Some will make it, some not.

That's the point. He's short-term cover for our youngsters coming through - Van Es needs another season to establish himself properly while Arie and Keeler both have elements to work on. Putting them in raw doesn't help their development nor does it help the team. I think Tomlinson has another couple years left, he's been at a pretty consistent level the past few years without signs of dropping off

Is he even a KPD? He was more of a backline Mason Wood IMO. His best footy is as a running tall. To me he's not a great need.

Yes, 2025 needs to be a another year of developing our future.

I would keep Howard and get some senior games into Keeler, Van Ess and Caminiti over the course of 2025 down back.

I would like to avoid more Frawley's and Sam Rowes being brought into the club.

If we were a contender, you would want some extra depth. But we will not be in 2025 and we have players to develop.

The more old players you bring in, the less slots you have to to find a future first 22 player. If Dalyrmple fancies a mid aged player who he thinks might make it, then go for it.

Anyone we add to our list now needs to have the potential to play for years, not just a year. Some will make it, some not.

If we are making some of the trade outs that we are talking I expect us to be bottom 4 next year. Possibly bottom of the ladder. I'd rather just play the kids now. Keeler, Schoenmaker and Van Es can play depending on form.

I think Sos is planing 8 years down the track by the sound of it. Might as well just play kids until we find some players. Bottom 4 or bottom 2 is not much difference.

2024 Draft Thread.