2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

If we are going with wild theories.

It’s that we have told him he is free to a good home if someone believes they can get his knee right - because we don’t think it’s possible.

If not he can come back as a rookie and potentially looking at pulling the pin
From what I’ve heard only a very significant change in medical fortune for Brad will save his career now sadly. Hopefully the club can somehow do right by him as things finish up

Richmond just have so many picks. Chris Toce would have been in his element and it such a shame that he has passed.

I cannot help but think that one reason the Tigers were so happy to have players move on would have been Toce's likely assessment that this was such a great draft to have a lot of picks in.

You can sense the back room machinations that this was was a rare opportunity for a club to fast-track a youth based acquire a core in the one season that you could build future success upon. So perhaps a little bit of "tanking here"...and a little bit of saying to players that "we would not stand in your way there".

Not Carpe Diem, but Carpe Futurum.

I am hopeful that if we get our first 3 picks right in this National Draft, that the Saints will have assembled such a core over this and our last two drafts inclusive of players like Sharman and Caminiti. We do need players like Arie and Keeler (and hopefully Collard) to bloom though to just give us that little bit more talent that we need.
I think they have done it the right way.
Win multiple premierships, top up for another tilt, doesn't work so
1) they look at their list and when Tassie comes in to compromise the draft
2) they get rid of almost all their stars with currency
3) they look at this and next years drafts and decided to take the medicine and load up this draft.
I reckoned all clubs have learnt from the GWS and GCS compromised drafts. Us for example bottomed just as the compromised drafts came in, followed by poor drafting and not trading Joey and Roo and anyone else with currency ( half arsed with bj and Dal). If we traded Roo and Joey we probably would have stuffed the draft anyway,
However these lessons have been learned. We have been drafting hard since 2021, have put on a bunch of fringe players on one year contract and look to draft well again. Like many clubs we are looking at some long term contracts to wars off Tassie or at least get some very high dp's.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cody Anderson looks like then player we want and Sam Lalor also a pretty handy inside mid. Ideally Jagga Smith with our first and Anderson with our second rounder.
Hey gringo2011 I quoted the above from 27th May, not a troll but you mentioned a player nobody seems to have mentioned since the champs.
Do you know anything about him? Injured? Hasn't come on?
Cheers

I'm confused about this Crouch thing so I have some I guess 'wild' theories

I don't think moving him to the rookie list is solely for opening up senior list spots. I feel like this could be a way for us to subtly let Crouch go. Delist him now but say that we want to retain him. The use of the word "intend" is interesting - intention can change at any given moment as soon as plans change - like it did with Arie/D-Mac last year

As stavro said earlier, this move doesn't actually create list spots. I think we'll end up promoting Sharman to the senior list so essentially they're swapping positions

If we do end up retaining him, I think it's on the basis of a slim hope he gets back to full fitness. Otherwise, there's a likelihood that we have plans to move him to the LTI to open a spot for the 2025 MSD. This also begs the question - could we say to Sandy that instead of taking one of their players this year, we guarantee that we'll take one in the MSD next year instead given Crouch is a high likelihood of being gone. This has a bunch of caveats, like whether Crouch actually does need to go on the LTI by mid-next year and whether we end up having any LTIs by mid-next year, but I think some sort of arrangement could be made on this basis
I'd suggest it's exactly what it appears to be. The club wants to load up on this draft and whilst all the BF focus is on the first round, you can bet they'll be looking at later rounds to.
If memory serves that still leaves 2 rookie spots which is a nice place to be.
If Brad's knee it truly shot then he can help with player development and as you say can retire at any time.

3) they look at this and next years drafts and decided to take the medicine and load up this draft.
I reckoned all clubs have learnt from the GWS and GCS compromised drafts. Us for example bottomed just as the compromised drafts came in, followed by poor drafting and not trading Joey and Roo and anyone else with currency ( half arsed with bj and Dal). If we traded Roo and Joey we probably would have stuffed the draft anyway,
However these lessons have been learned. We have been drafting hard since 2021, have put on a bunch of fringe players on one year contract and look to draft well again. Like many clubs we are looking at some long term contracts to wars off Tassie or at least get some very high dp's.

But also - needed those guys with currency to want out. And needed their clubs of choice to be desperate and incredibly loose with draft picks.

Hey gringo2011 I quoted the above from 27th May, not a troll but you mentioned a player nobody seems to have mentioned since the champs.
Cheers

He's still going, floating in the 25+ swill, a bit of a James Worpel type but hasn't hit the same heights in juniors. He goes hard but has zero class and can be quite messy IIRC. A bit too much Dunny vibes for me but he'll get picked up for sure.

It comes in threes right?

1) Crouch plays round 1 on one leg triggering another year, now delisted for our rookie draft due to contract.

2) Higgins kicks a miracle goal putting us in this unknown draft position potentially just outside where we need to be.

3) Sandy alignment means we might miss a defender/ruck backup for the list.

So we should have some things go our way relating to list management now. I'm here for it!

1) Crouch plays round 1 on one leg triggering another year, now delisted for our rookie draft due to contract.

2) Higgins kicks a miracle goal putting us in this unknown draft position potentially just outside where we need to be.

So we should have some things go our way relating to list management now. I'm here for it!
Who's to say our draft position doesn't end up in our favour? It has the last 3 years.
We've also delisted enough to not worry about point 3.

Cheers

I believe he's linked to Hawthorn NGA so was never a chance

Also just another horrible ball user despite how tough he is. We already have Windy and Garcia who are better versions of him

Better off taking a punt on one of the faster guys such as Urquhart, Johnson, Warburton, Ivisic

We have about 8 spots to fill. Nothing is stopping us from adding a defender and a back-up ruck to the list.

Also just another horrible ball user despite how tough he is. We already have Windy and Garcia who are better versions of him

Better off taking a punt on one of the faster guys such as Urquhart, Johnson, Warburton, Ivisic
Ok cheers, thanks for that.

There are a few clubs going hard for a Premiership now with an aging list and a pretty average draft hand due to topping up ..... reckon a few clubs might be suffering once Tassie come in

Who's to say our draft position doesn't end up in our favour? It has the last 3 years.

Im sorry Scrappy but I disagree re the Sandringham rookie arrangement.

What other AFL club has to offer a gifted rookie spot for their alignment club to attract players = ZERO.
How many quality players have Sandringham attracted in the time we have been aligned = ZERO.

It might be only 1 spot but that could mean missing out on a key defender or a ruckman option this year that we desparately need. It was only 1 spot when we took Wilkie, Marshall or Milne as rookies - giving up a spot to an undeserving player to me is ridiculous.

Given the holes in our list and how tight we are for list spots, I see it as a real disadvantage taking on a Sandringham player this year!

Just on the delistings and list spots, can anyone give a definitive answer on what we have available to draft with?

Do we have 4 or 5 'live' selections? Three main list spots open for Elwood, Lenny & Cole if required? One Sandy rookie spot, one Crouch rookie spot - does that leave room for any other rookies?

Also, do we know who will be/has to he upgraded from the rookie list? Where does Hall fit in our list?

We obviously currently have pick 7, 8, 32 & 47 plus whatever extra picks to tack on. But how many exactly in a full suite scenario is what I can't seem to find.

Cheers

Injured and looked like he wasn't coming on as hoped before that.

More defensive than them.

Just on the delistings and list spots, can anyone give a definitive answer on what we have available to draft with?

Do we have 4 or 5 'live' selections? Three main list spots open for Elwood, Lenny & Cole if required? One Sandy rookie spot, one Crouch rookie spot - does that leave room for any other rookies?

Also, do we know who will be/has to he upgraded from the rookie list? Where does Hall fit in our list?

We obviously currently have pick 7, 8, 32 & 47 plus whatever extra picks to tack on. But how many exactly in a full suite scenario is what I can't seem to find.
Hall will go on the rookie list.

DraftGuru had us at 5 rookies and 2 Cat B this year - Heath, Sharman, Caminiti, Hayes, Hall, McLennan (B), O'Connell (B).

Sharman will have to be moved off the list this year while Heath is eligible to stay there since he hasn't played a game. Caminiti has 1 year eligibility left on it so may or may not be moved. So after the 2 known rookie additions, we have space to add 1 more if we just promote Sharman or two if we promote Caminiti as well. (Max 6 rookies, 2 Cat B*). (edited because AFL website had wrong number)

If Peckett doesnt get a bid placed on him, we can directly add him to the rookie list rather than the senior list.

By my count we have 9 list spots. 6-7 picks in the draft + 2 in the rookie draft.
Phillips as a DFA
Pick 7, 8, 32, Cole, Hoffman, Peckett in the draft
Sandy player (Lowe?) and Crouch in the Rookie Draft

Sharman had to be elevated. Hall needs to come onto rookie list as we were one over when he came on as a Midseason draft replacement for Van Es.

List sizes are maxed at 44 so assume we cant have another Cat. B rookie unless short elsewhere?

There are a few clubs going hard for a Premiership now with an aging list and a pretty average draft hand due to topping up ..... reckon a few clubs might be suffering once Tassie come in

Those clubs deserve to suffer. Trying to pinch a flag in the short term, with decaying lists, without draft capital, is a deliberate strategy. They deserve the longer term consequences of implementing that strategy.

Those clubs won’t be able to rebuild via the draft between 2026 and 2028. Lists decay very quickly in that timeframe.

Tasmania entering the competition is very good news for clubs on the rise, with ongoing organic improvement, with a balanced younger age profile. Saints could benefit from this. So could Dockers and Hawks.

Im sorry Scrappy but I disagree re the Sandringham rookie arrangement.

What other AFL club has to offer a gifted rookie spot for their alignment club to attract players = ZERO.
How many quality players have Sandringham attracted in the time we have been aligned = ZERO.

It might be only 1 spot but that could mean missing out on a key defender or a ruckman option this year that we desparately need. It was only 1 spot when we took Wilkie, Marshall or Milne as rookies - giving up a spot to an undeserving player to me is ridiculous.

Given the holes in our list and how tight we are for list spots, I see it as a real disadvantage taking on a Sandringham player this year!
I think everyone agrees but the room is split between those who see the long term potential and those who see the short term cost. Either way it doesn't matter, the decision is made.

Any chance we keep 7 & 8 and GWS accept our F1 for pick 16?

Do GWS need extra future picks?
I wouldn’t give up a future 1st for 16.
Take away a Higgins last minute goal we would’ve had pick 5 this year.
Would you be happy with potentially trading pick 5 for 16? In saying that I do think we can make the 8 but it’s a massive risk.

I wouldn’t give up a future 1st for 16.
Take away a Higgins last minute goal we would’ve had pick 5 this year.
Would you be happy with potentially trading pick 5 for 16? In saying that I do think we can make the 8 but it’s a massive risk.
And that’s why it’s attractive to GWS. If the right player is there on the night, I’d offer it and give them something to have a good hard think about. For about the few minutes or so they’re on the clock…

All in on this draft. Let this rebuild not die wondering.

And that’s why it’s attractive to GWS. If the right player is there on the night, I’d offer it and give them something to have a good hard think about. For about the few minutes or so they’re on the clock…

All in on this draft. Let this rebuild not die wondering.
It would want to be a hell of a good player to be potentially throwing a top 8 pick away next year.

2024 Draft Thread.