2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

If we are on the board at 7+8 and Jagga fos Draper Smillie Langford Lalor are all off the board.

I think we go Tauru at 7.

And I think our first call will be to Richmond for 10.

We slide back so they can grab Armstrong and get something like P23 - 24 is start of second round so they might find that too valuable.

Once those mids are off the board. The draft numbers start to become irrelevant. It’s targeting players.

I just watched the round 24 carlton highlights, we threw that one away.

5 & 6 would have doubled the posting on this thread.
There is absolutely no guarantee that we would even take a different player at those picks to the ones we may take at 7+8.

The order they are taken in this specific draft won’t align with how most clubs rate the talent.

Case in point - the amount of draft watchers calling Murphy Reid a top 5 pick.

McGowan has him at 20!!!!

And the majority in here won’t want him at 7 or 8 and he will arguably be a sounder prospect then Tauru Smillie and Langford.

And last discussion points.

The rumoured players we have liked as posted on here by posters or journos

• Lalor top 2
  • Langford 5-7
  • Tauru 6-8
  • Armstrong 7-10
  • Smillie 5-7

And then the interesting part.

• Travaglia 8-15
  • Allan 8-15
  • Lindsay 8-15
  • Trainor 11-20

It literally spells out we are splitting a pick.

There is absolutely no guarantee that we would even take a different player at those picks to the ones we may take at 7+8.

The order they are taken in this specific draft won’t align with how most clubs rate the talent.

Case in point - the amount of draft watchers calling Murphy Reid a top 5 pick.

McGowan has him at 20!!!!

And the majority in here won’t want him at 7 or 8 and he will arguably be a sounder prospect then Tauru Smillie and Langford.
Unquestionable fact is we would have had more choices.

Luckily for us, it’s happened in a very eaven draft. Might even work to our advantage. Let’s hope so.

Unquestionable fact is we would have had more choices.

Luckily for us, it’s happened in a very eaven draft. Might even work to our advantage. Let’s hope so.
Yes potentially.

But the 2 examples we have - the sliding down clubs haven’t bagged a haul.

West coast 12+14

Norths offers of 7+F1 or a similar offer to the above

It’s not like the suns last year. They got the below for pick 4.

P10 + P17 + F1

For P4 + 46 + 51 + F3

Yes potentially.

But the 2 examples we have - the sliding down clubs haven’t bagged a haul.

West coast 12+14

Norths offers of 7+F1 or a similar offer to the above

It’s not like the suns last year. They got the below for pick 4.

P10 + P17 + F1

For P4 + 46 + 51 + F3
Would you imagine any early picks are likely to be swapped prior to draft night or will the Tigers hold out until the count starts?

Nah that will be draft night.

Only trade I see happening in the next week is norths pick 2.

Only because it’s pick 2 and you would want to give yourself time to prepare your options /plan

But that could also happen in principal and just occur at the start of the night for…. RaTiNgS 🤪

We are all going batshit crazy, I’d take Armstrong and The Viking in a heartbeat, and judging by Dalrymple’s history, so would he.

Don’t be fooled into thinking we pick for need, we will pick the best talent available whoever that is at our pick. If that’s the aforementioned, the Saints will pull the trigger. If it’s a mid we rate at 7, we will draft him.

If it means RTB doesn’t see short term success, so be it, as long as we are setting ourselves up for long term success, which is the boards mantra after the last decade and a half of mediocrity.
Underrated comment, despite the likes.

If Caminiti goes to the backline, then why couldn't an Armstrong, King, Sharman and Owens forwardline work?

Also, both Howard and Wilkie are 29 before next season starts. It's not like we are flush for depth or up and coming stars. Cole is no top 10 talent, as much as I'm excited to pick him up.

Hindsight heroes will be out of the woodwork if Armstrong is Jeremy Cameron mk2.

I'm not advocating the selection of talls over a mid with similar upside, but if our best available is Armstrong or Tauru then I'm certainly not against it vs reaching.

Nah that will be draft night.

Only trade I see happening in the next week is norths pick 2.

Only because it’s pick 2 and you would want to give yourself time to prepare your options /plan

But that could also happen in principal and just occur at the start of the night for…. RaTiNgS 🤪
Is Richmond nailed on for Lalor though? Or would we happily take any of Lalor, FOS or Draper anyway? A lot of us are just assuming we are trading up for FOS

I reckon we would take anyone.

But my personal belief and it seems the same on the tigers board is that they want Lalor

I just watched the round 24 carlton highlights, we threw that one away.

5 & 6 would have doubled the posting on this thread.
Carlton threw it away by playing like excrement. Chance to lock in a finals spot and they choked, then didn't show up for the first final after Freo gifted it to them.

All sizzle, no steak.

Underrated comment, despite the likes.

If Caminiti goes to the backline, then why couldn't an Armstrong, King, Sharman and Owens forwardline work?

Also, both Howard and Wilkie are 29 before next season starts. It's not like we are flush for depth or up and coming stars. Cole is no top 10 talent, as much as I'm excited to pick him up.

Hindsight heroes will be out of the woodwork if Armstrong is Jeremy Cameron mk2.

I'm not advocating the selection of talls over a mid with similar upside, but if our best available is Armstrong or Tauru then I'm certainly not against it vs reaching.
Because we strengthen both the back and forward lines whilst doing SFA about the midfield yet again.

If we somehow end up with 15 and 16 any chance we take Dodson with 16?
I'd be okay with that, especially with the lack of ruck depth in this draft. We don't pull the trigger on Dodson and we're likely going to find ourselves in Paul Hunter style territory again.

I think everyone is forgetting the most important thing about Bo Allen. His dad played 98 games for Hawthorn. Which means that I get to have a little chuckle on draft night, no matter which club picks him up.
Just watch Sebastian Maguire do the same to us when he's older - Goose played 99 games for us and the footy lineage is just ridiculous.

Hmm. Allan has proven otherwise by playing a full season in the WAFL and doing pretty well. Old mate Murphy has increasingly struggled as the level of competition from local to CTL and state.
Taking an elevated risk on a tall, and the riskiest small available seems like playing Russian roulette with what is supposed to cap off our rebuild.
Allan is as proven as is possible for an 18yo. Him and Tauru would be a good mix of risk and assured benefit with an equal helping of high outcome given their freakish qualities.
If we can snag a later 1stRDP that would be the one to adopt more risk, or a high floor player that has slid through.
I really like Allan and think he gives something Ross in particular would love that power and ferocity in the contest and the speed is something we lack even if he ends up at half back he will be an important player in any side. However the comment on Reid is just not right Murphy Reid has consistently and repeatedly performed at every level and improved as the year went on he was Metro MVP hasn’t struggled anywhere. He and Jagga are the two most consistent ball winners in the draft and to me Jagga looks like the one who will struggle to put on size more than Reid.

I do get lots of people are projecting he will struggle to play mid at AFL I think they are wrong he will need to adapt his game to add a defensive element but that is normal for the most talented kids used to just playing pure offence in Junior footy where they are the best player on the team and more so with Sandy Dragons kids who dominate the CTL.

His preseason testing shows his endurance is top end and that is born out by his high possession numbers in both CTL and with Metro. His agility is top end and his speed is right on the 3 second mark for 20m comparable to Jagga better than Smillie. He is not a big guy but neither are Butters Neale Brayshaw Daicos and countless others. To me he has that old school footballers build short legs long body low centre of gravity that with a bit of time in the gym will give him the base to hold his own in the middle. More importantly his game is not built on size and strength like some of the others he reads the play quicker sees the free man sooner and has the agility to step his way out of traffic. His speed is his clean hands then how quick he reacts and releases.

I get he doesn’t fit the template for the modern midfielder and he may not meet Ross and Dalrymples model of what they want in a midfielder and we may overlook him but I think he can be the architect of a top end midfield group.

So I am firmly in the Pro-Reid camp I also like Allan a lot and think they could be a great pairing at 7 and 8 the pure footballer and the competitive beast athlete lets have a bet both ways.

What I am less keen on is someone like Lindsay who doesn’t seem to add anything new to our list and who I think will play mostly Wing or HB he fits our game plan but only because we already have those players he is this years Darcy Wilson not quite as good a runner but a slightly better kick. Will be a good player just not a Point of difference for us.

If we somehow end up with 15 and 16 any chance we take Dodson with 16?

I dont know a lot about Dodson but he is touted as the best ruck in the draft and a ruckman who can play forward. We definitely need another quality ruckman, but whether we go with someone who will need time to develop time will tell I guess. It wont matter if we cant get back into the 15-20 mark of the draft.

Might be OK if you are right in the window - otherwise recruiters and list managers should always be recruiting for the future of the club not the coach.

I have no problem with Lyon as a coach but only having one view about everything associated with the future of the club is a recipe for disaster.
Exactly. Coach can leave. Game plan style can change or be forced to change. And so on.

2024 Draft Thread.