2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

If we are on the board at 7+8 and Jagga fos Draper Smillie Langford Lalor are all off the board.

I think we go Tauru at 7.

And I think our first call will be to Richmond for 10.

We slide back so they can grab Armstrong and get something like P23 - 24 is start of second round so they might find that too valuable.

Once those mids are off the board. The draft numbers start to become irrelevant. It’s targeting players.

I think you are right.

But some analysts (like David King) will criticise us for not drafting to rebuild our midfield and then trading-back. Which would be unfair. We can only draft with what is available.

If the above scenario happened the club to criticise would be North Melbourne. A club crying out for talls and marking power, and then they don’t draft or trade-down to make that happen.

If Tauru is on the board at pick 7, and the cream of the mids are gone, absolutely take Tauru and trade-back. It’s a no-brainer.

Showed last year that a club will pay slight overs to get the player they want.
GWS 18 plus F2 for 17.
I reckon if Richmond want p8 on draft night they will cough up 10 and 20 without our 32.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Depends on the competition, GWS mainly did that deal because they assumed others were coming for our pick to steal Leake from them. North presumably want to sell 2 but pretty much Richmond is the only club who can make a worthwhile deal - puts the power in Richmond's hands. North may even bid on Ashcroft to try to buy more negotiating time.

I really don’t think I’m biased by saying 7 and a future first is a better deal then 2 mid first rounders.

To trade 2 and tell your fanbase but we got 2 firsts (let’s say 13+15) is really poor.

But if you took 7 and drafted Tauru and our future first.

You can say we got the bloke at 7 we wanted at 2.

We picked up a F1 which we ended up holding/trading back in.

You do realise you aren’t the gate keeper of Richmond’s draft picks nor do you know anymore then anyone else 😂
Um pretty sure I know a bit more than you think

But you guys seem to think you have worked it out so I will not bother you again as I do not appreciate being abused

All i said was wow

Picking best available is dinosaur mentality. In a team sport team balance is far more critical. Of course there are exceptions to the rule. You ain’t picking a tall at pick 1 if a generational talent like Harley Reid is available. Very different at picks 7 and 8 in a flat group.
There’s no Harley Reid’s in this draft, and respectfully, I disagree. Would you take Didak over Reiwoldt?

I really like Allan and think he gives something Ross in particular would love that power and ferocity in the contest and the speed is something we lack even if he ends up at half back he will be an important player in any side. However the comment on Reid is just not right Murphy Reid has consistently and repeatedly performed at every level and improved as the year went on he was Metro MVP hasn’t struggled anywhere. He and Jagga are the two most consistent ball winners in the draft and to me Jagga looks like the one who will struggle to put on size more than Reid.

I do get lots of people are projecting he will struggle to play mid at AFL I think they are wrong he will need to adapt his game to add a defensive element but that is normal for the most talented kids used to just playing pure offence in Junior footy where they are the best player on the team and more so with Sandy Dragons kids who dominate the CTL.

His preseason testing shows his endurance is top end and that is born out by his high possession numbers in both CTL and with Metro. His agility is top end and his speed is right on the 3 second mark for 20m comparable to Jagga better than Smillie. He is not a big guy but neither are Butters Neale Brayshaw Daicos and countless others. To me he has that old school footballers build short legs long body low centre of gravity that with a bit of time in the gym will give him the base to hold his own in the middle. More importantly his game is not built on size and strength like some of the others he reads the play quicker sees the free man sooner and has the agility to step his way out of traffic. His speed is his clean hands then how quick he reacts and releases.

I get he doesn’t fit the template for the modern midfielder and he may not meet Ross and Dalrymples model of what they want in a midfielder and we may overlook him but I think he can be the architect of a top end midfield group.

So I am firmly in the Pro-Reid camp I also like Allan a lot and think they could be a great pairing at 7 and 8 the pure footballer and the competitive beast athlete lets have a bet both ways.

What I am less keen on is someone like Lindsay who doesn’t seem to add anything new to our list and who I think will play mostly Wing or HB he fits our game plan but only because we already have those players he is this years Darcy Wilson not quite as good a runner but a slightly better kick. Will be a good player just not a Point of difference for us.
I agree mate on pretty much all of it. Allan adds speed and aggression to a midfield that gets bullied by bigger bodies. Smillie has a bigger bust factor but not sure his ceiling is much higher than Allans.

Reid looks more a genuine midfielder than our own Wilson. That’s not saying Wilson isn’t a gem. Just a long way off a midfielder at this point and more likely an Half forward/wing. Reid ability move the ball quickly and identify space and opportunity will bring the best out of team mates. I get there are some more appealing options but it’s unlikely we get a look at them.

But you guys seem to think you have worked it out so I will not bother you again as I do not appreciate being abused

All i said was wow

So why were you here saying “wow”?

What was the point of it?

What were you trying to achieve?

You are trolling. Pure and simple.

If you are here then express the views of your board and be constructive. Provide some intelligence and engage in dialogue, rather than slinking in with the comment of “wow”.

It’s pathetic.

Yeah I think it was Will Green, but they still delisted Ladhams and MacAndrew. Green and Grundy are their only listed ruckman, but perhaps they look to fill other roles in the first round draft and grab another ruckman at a later point. Perhaps they look at the Whitlock twins to fill roles at both ends.
Peter Ladhams has not been delisted

I think you are right.

But some analysts (like David King) will criticise us for not drafting to rebuild our midfield and then trading-back. Which would be unfair. We can only draft with what is available.

If the above scenario happened the club to criticise would be North Melbourne. A club crying out for talls and marking power, and then they don’t draft or trade-down to make that happen.

If Tauru is on the board at pick 7, and the cream of the mids are gone, absolutely take Tauru and trade-back. It’s a no-brainer.

A top group of 6 pure mids, and we have Pick 7...its the St Kilda way.

All i said was wow
Fancy having such a small appendage you need to brag on an oppo forum about the great itk you are. FMD really embarrassing.

We have worked absolutely nothing out you feckless numpty, we shitpost about possible scenarios.
You weren't invited here, and certainly haven't conducted yourself with any courtesy, so next time you come back we will make sure you get carded.
No jog on clown

Yep. It is what it is.

But it means we get access to the best taller player in the draft. So let’s take that player if that’s the way it happens on draft night.

Tauru looks like he will be an absolute ripper. If North don’t trade-back pick 2, and don’t have the guts to draft the lad, then good luck to us. Let’s do it ourselves.

Trade-back pick 8 and then have a couple picks to land a midfield gem. They will be there, in the body of the draft. It’s up to us to find them and to develop them.

Is it? Yes only six decent players in the whole draft. Can't see the point of drafting Wilson p18, Pou p10, NAZ p13.

Might as well trade out of this draft all together, no mids apparently after 6.

All i said was wow
Sad Cry GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

Yep. It is what it is.

But it means we get access to the best taller player in the draft. So let’s take that player if that’s the way it happens on draft night.

Tauru looks like he will be an absolute ripper. If North don’t trade-back pick 2, and don’t have the guts to draft the lad, then good luck to us. Let’s do it ourselves.

Trade-back pick 8 and then have a couple picks to land a midfield gem. They will be there, in the body of the draft. It’s up to us to find them and to develop them.

And if they do draft Tauru at 2, one of the famed pure mids slides to pick 7, then there is Bo Allan. Murphy Reid etc. Fair dinkum some posting on here can be so negative.
You are absolutely correct

2024 Draft Thread.