2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Alright plebs... post who you don't want ... even if they are likely to be taken before our 1st pick .... the pick has to be a player in or around the expected Top 15 ... no need for an explanation just put your balls on the chopping block

Just reply to previous reply and we can keep the list for posterity and ridicule purposes

And fk it ... I will do Akaifu's & Gringo's as well ... given their pet hates are well known

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid

I don’t want Jagga in all honesty, he’d be the least desirable player in the top 10 as there’s no real point of difference in his game apart from the fact he accumulates.

Just doesn’t seem to be an a single elite trait that the others have (including Allen) and while I think he’s probably the safest bet to be a 200 gamer I think he’s also got the lowest ceiling but accumulators are everywhere.

Jagga is a mass accumulator. He's a nimble little human rabbit man that chases a ball like a Jack Russell on speed. Reid is a creator. He does the sublime stuff that looks beautiful.

Some people like to hang the same picture on the wall as everyone else. Others shop in galleries down laneways that only a few are allowed even look at and come home with a piece of art that needs to be explained to all your guests so that they understand it. Reid is a giant phallus like sculpture that makes you question the patriarchy and your existence in a meaningless world. Jagga is more a nicely framed Keith Harring poster from Ikea that all your friends have in their kitchen.
And with that analogy...I am now sold on Reid.

Get your head out of your ass.

It’s perfectly acceptable if we don’t walk away with a genuine midfielder that fans would be upset.

It’s chasm of a hole in our side that anyone from journos commentators fans and the local bakery owner can see.

To be sold the dream of development after being burned in the past with a very similar situation - isn’t a great starting point.

A supporter and posters on here don’t need to happily clap at everything the club does.

I was okay with losing Battle for the pick.

But my personal point of view is that I won’t be happy walking away without a genuine midfield talent to rival the talent we have across other lines.

They have the currency to move up and ensure they get what they want.

Melbourne and Carlton have both out manoeuvred us in this trade period.

I’ll leave it at that.
Arse*

Yes but when you have a consensus, its hard to argue. People on here call bs on the claim that there is a top 6 of open-pool mids when in fact there is evidently a top 6 when you watch the Champs games, CTL games, and observe the opinions of 'experts'. Not just the 5 minute highlight reels on YouTube. The consensus rankings I sent is something you can't argue with unless your ego is beyond help (not directed at you)

There’s also a consensus top 6 draft wise & a few outliers in the top 6 ‘power rankings’.

That’s probably where there’s a bit of confusion at times.

For the record, I think Reid would compliment what we already have really nicely. Yes a burst inside mid would be preferable but if Draper, etc isn’t available then a high footy IQ playmaker who hits the scoreboard is a great back up option.

That’s why I like X.Lindsay too.

Alright plebs... post who you don't want ... even if they are likely to be taken before our 1st pick .... the pick has to be a player in or around the expected Top 15 ... no need for an explanation just put your balls on the chopping block

Just copy the list that the previous poster posted .... hit reply add your pick and post .... we can keep the list for posterity and ridicule purposes

And fk it ... I will do Akaifu's & Gringo's as well ... given their pet hates are well known

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Scrappy - Reid, Armstrong

If you think I'm making up bs by stating that Pou and Hollands were different tiers then idk what to say to you because to me, it was clear as day and emphasised by all draft gurus. Hewett was the only one from tier 2 who was a chance to be taken before any of the guys that went 1-10

Fair enough Cad Ash Sheez & Law were tier 1. But Tsatas to Phillipou were clearly the same tier among that group of players - it was just that Geelong was wedded to the Geelong falcon and West Coast were wedded to the WA boy which meant Pou was either pick 5,7, or 10. Lucky for us, he slid to 10. This wouldn't be the case for the likes of Allan and Reid - we would be picking them at the top of their range because they are consensus tier 2

I'd be happy with Tauru but underwhelmed by Allan and/or Reid as our only mids

"Reid is bagged by some for their egos" - most ironic thing I've read. Lets argue facts. The highest rank for Reid by ANY media outlet is number 5 (RMC). Cal rates him at 6, but is on record stating that Reid's range is 7-17.

View attachment 2164675
Nah mate, I used to think they were widely held rankings too but those rankings are journalist group think, Barrels and the illuminati told me so.

Would give 7 and 8 for 2 and F1... Seems a very good deal for us. I know we want more picks this year but this just seems too good to refuse

Works for me ONLY IF we can trade back into the teens with one of the 2 x F1s we would then have.

Not sure we’d have any takers though.

Yes but when you have a consensus, its hard to argue. People on here call bs on the claim that there is a top 6 of open-pool mids when in fact there is evidently a top 6 when you watch the Champs games, CTL games, and observe the opinions of 'experts'. Not just the 5 minute highlight reels on YouTube. The consensus rankings I sent is something you can't argue with unless your ego is beyond help (not directed at you)

There is always a top 10 and often feeding off each others hype, this year it has chopped and changed more than any I can remember. Guys like Langford, Tarau and Reid weren't anywhere near it. Trainor was a top 5 pick. Cody Anderson and Moraes were in the top run at the start of the year. I wouldn't be surprised if a few clubs pull the trigger early on players. The evenness is the unique part of this one. Players taken in the teens and twenties might end up the stars of the draft.

If I was putting together a list of the most likely to be top AFL players I'd go Ashcroft, Jagga, Trainor, Langford, FOS, Lombard and Reid.

I reckon guys like Hynes, Shanahan and Faul could end up stars outside that run. Even Hannaford, Gross and Moraes could end up better than the top kids. To me it's a really exciting draft because of that depth. I'm having as many swings at as I can. No way I'd be looking to move up at the cost of picks in this one. Like any draft it's likely that a lot of the players we love will end up not making the cut let alone being stars though.

Of all the hypotheticals, the one I don't want is a trade up to pick #2.

I don't think the quality of player increases that much that it's worth giving up another 1st round pick.

Either hold 7+8 or split 8 for a couple of later 1st rounders.

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor

I don't hate him. I think it's an even draft. I'm just preferring others and no way I'd move up. Same as Smilie. I'm not pissed off if we take him, just prefer others.

Lalor looks like Jake Stringer to me more than JDG or Dusty, like Smilie he's got enough talent to be a star but his champs games were a bit meh and I didn't see the killer attitude. Langford was the opposite. He's like a machine who looks like every contest is an opportunity to show his wares.

It's easy to work out who was shit in hindsight. A few top 10 players will be spuds or average even in a super draft, a couple more will sit around GOP level and a few will be stars or above average. If it's a really good draft a champion might come out of it.

There are always players that flop for a variety of reasons. Part of it is luck and a part of it is some kind of alchemy where the good recruiters seem to be able to spot elements others can't see.

This is a really deep draft with the chance to grab guns right through it. I'm not convinced the top end is absolute star material but very confident that we should be able to get at least one gun from this draft and anything on top of that is a bonus. A second high pick allows us to go one safe and one a bit more speculative but think even with our second round pick that there is a really solid chance of getting a very good player.
Based on everything I've read about the evenness of this draft, I think trading down from 8 makes it MORE likely that we'll get two guns. I think it's actually the safe, smart option this year.

Tsatsas could have the skill of Harley Reid and the pace and tank of Darcy Wilson and it wouldn't matter if what I heard about his attitude and desire is what it is.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
I feel like one of the things that Dodo has done is almost the obvious pick, perhaps frequently one that has slid or might be next on the so called ordering. They win the draft. But usually there’s a reason for where they landed. Tsatas feels like that. Hobbs. The three in one draft, Perkins, Cox and Reid. Might be nothing wrong with that. But almost smells of lack of conviction in your own ID’ing because his team would have very different orders.

2024 Draft Thread.