2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

To be fair another defender - let’s say Trainor. Along with Cole.

Means we can retain King Sharman and Caminiti as talks upfront with Keeler returning to the Forward ruck role that suits him best
No Hoffman?
I quite like what Armstrong does and can see the appeal that the recruiters see.
I feel we’re trying to talk ourselves out of him because of our real need for mids.
The prospect of pairing a Cameron clone with King is pretty salivating

I see Cole as a JVE replacement. Hofmann as a Paton replacement. Battle is the main hole in our defence, but there are other depth holes to fill too

I agree Butler has another year left but what if he doesn't? Then its just a repeat of the start of this year when our forward line had no ground-level representation and Wilson/Garcia got stuck filling in roles they are not suited to. Collard also isn't someone we can rely on at this stage
So Cole replaces JVE and Hammer/Shoey replace Battle in my example.

I agree, but I think that someone like Garcia is probably going to have to cut his teeth as a fwd/mid for a year or two anyway.
Collard is a way off, I agree but he’s still depth in that role

No Hoffman?
I quite like what Armstrong does and can see the appeal that the recruiters see.
I feel we’re trying to talk ourselves out of him because of our real need for mids.
The prospect of pairing a Cameron clone with King is pretty salivating
Everything outside of Half back flankers are a need for us mate.

So I wouldn’t really melt unless there was a Langford Draper or Smillie on the board at 7 and we took Allan/Lindsay and then traded 8.

She was the hack that agreed with Barrett that Bassat was 'out of his depth' when he sacked Ratten and appointed Lyon.

Fancy that idiot saying anyone is out of their depth when he can't even work out FA compo and points for FS and academy.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
ah that's sad to hear, I feel like everyone at AFL house ends up becoming flogs.. the fish rots at the head

IF a young media trainee joins the AFL media team

THEN they are destined to become a hack journalist under my close tutelage

A contested marking beast he is not.

Now I can’t answer whether the shoulder injury has a part to play in that and maybe he was pre injury
Don’t listen to me, but listen to Kevin Sheehan as well as Matty Lloyd, this anti Armstrong stuff is plain stupidity.

IMG_4365.png

His coach at the dragons said in an interview Trainer has had 4 concussions in his short career…that’s a concern for not only club drafting him but mainly his well-being
Avoid like the plague. He ain't that special to be taking on that kind of risk.

Also I think richmond would be mad not to take Tarau. Everyone seems to think they need mids mids and more mids

But I also think they need to replenish their KPP stocks. Given the amount of picks they have they're better off diversifying with their second pick IMO.

Tarau makes alot of sense.

Also I think richmond would be mad not to take Tarau. Everyone seems to think they need mids mids and more mids

But I also think they need to replenish their KPP stocks. Given the amount of picks they have they're better off diversifying with their second pick IMO.

Tarau makes alot of sense.
I think Tauru goes somewhere between North 4 Melb 5 Richmond 6

We won’t even get close to him.

I actually can’t wrap my head around the travaglia talk. It’s probably the one position we don’t actually need and with how even it is around that pick surely you go for a player more suited for us. Hastie NWM hoffman will all be across the backline for years to come. Even Sinclair has multiple years left in him there.

Because they are calling him. Will Day clone with expectations he transitions into midfield

Our need big time is run and carry, and this guy has it spades would be my guess.

Travaglia makes a lot of sense to me. He’s a strong runner and he has the ability to play midfield and half back. His contested, clearance and tackle numbers this year in the Coates league suggest he’s already a very strong u18 midfielder. Any midfielder we draft with our second pick will need to have the versatility to play elsewhere for a while anyway.

Because they are calling him. Will Day clone with expectations he transitions into midfield
I’ve watched a lot of him this year and especially the games he’s played midfield for Bendigo and I really don’t see it. Will day played a bit in the mids for his underage year at wests and to me looked natural in there with his ability to get in and out of traffic sorta like what FOS does he’s a half back first.

Gee, that makes you think doesn’t it?

I sure as hell hope the Hokthorn Hoks don’t have any bad luck with their expensive new long term recruit

dS0VOTk.jpeg

That is one of the least effective graphs I've ever seen. Good luck to anyone wishing to learn anything from it!

Edit: now I realise that the names are in the same order as the bars it's more effective but still very inefficient

Travaglia makes a lot of sense to me. He’s a strong runner and he has the ability to play midfield and half back. His contested, clearance and tackle numbers this year in the Coates league suggest he’s already a very strong u18 midfielder. Any midfielder we draft with our second pick will need to have the versatility to play elsewhere for a while anyway.
Make more sense if NWM is slated to move further afield or wing within 1-2 years.

Makes sense with the "more good runners, more good kickers" kickers drafting vibe too.

On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Riley and Cal are going to Pearl Jam on Monday
All in Riley's extensive project to socialise Twomey. Further steps include:

Buying clothes in an actual real shop and stop dressing himself from his dad's wardrobe.

Getting his hair cut professionally.

Talking to a girl (not Nat Edwards, and not about footy)

Peyote

Naked bungee jump

Are Hoffman and Cole not defenders? To go with Shoey, Hastie and Caminiti that’s relative depth for our d50.

I don’t believe butler will need replacing for a couple more years. He finished the year in the same vein he played 2023 once he was over his niggles.

Hoffman and Cole can't be counted on as anything at this stage, If either one of them becomes a good player. Bonus.

Just went over my notes I made during the Champs.
Only player to have more ticks next to his name than Reid was Jagga Smith.

Travigalia got lots of love as well.

Smillie lots of ticks in the first half.

One notable mark by Langford. I wrote 'Stringer like' if that means anything.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

2024 Draft Thread.