2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Why do people keep mentioning 193 as if it is too small.
Curnow is 194, Steven May is 193, Sicily is 188, Waterman is 192, Fritsch is 188, Aliir is 194, Sam Collins is 194, Josh Battle is 194, Wilkie is 191
I guess because your typical KPP will have more size which is of benefit. If we're gonna pass on a mid, then he needs to get to a level that's statistically unlikely and is more likely to become a lesser player than the one we paid to get the pick. The chances of it all going **** up is unacceptable IMO.

I am currently sitting at the desk of a job that I hate and typing a post on a niche footy forum about which cattle we get from the market tonight. Trust me - everything will be okay, and we will support each player who joins the RWB.
Can we sticky this for the rest of the week? Bonded by our hatred of work, united by the RWB. No matter what happens tonight or tomorrow night - up the Sainters

Why do people keep mentioning 193 as if it is too small.
Curnow is 194, Steven May is 193, Sicily is 188, Waterman is 192, Fritsch is 188, Aliir is 194, Sam Collins is 194, Josh Battle is 194, Wilkie is 191

C'mon mate, next you're going to tell me that one of our greatest players and captains of all time was a 193cm key forward 😂

Unleash The Rymp.

Elite nickname. He looks like a high school PE teacher with a penchant for upskirt photography but if he had any sense of occasion he'd lean into his new name and turn up in a PVC gimp suit. Get Bassat to unzip his mouth hole as each pick comes up.

I guess because your typical KPP will have more size which is of benefit. If we're gonna pass on a mid, then he needs to get to a level that's statistically unlikely and is more likely to become a lesser player than the one we paid to get the pick. The chances of it all going **** up is unacceptable IMO.

Who are the best tall forwards of all time and how tall were they? How many elite back-men are 2 meters tall? We have become obsessed with height when realistically most people start turning into uncoordinated spuds once they hit 198cm.

What time is our first pick, skipping all the waffle beforehand?
If first name is read at 7.30, which seems unlikely and could be another 10 mins of waffle - that’s 7 picks prior (with Ashcroft), then 8.15 at earliest?

Throw in a possible bid. Then if we bid twice (so 8 is outside of the real 10), add another 5 mins for top 10 photo opp if they still do that? Could be 8.20 and beyond 8.30 for the second pick 😂.

It’s just been lobbed on my desk that my son has to be picked up at school at 8pm. 30 min round trip. Could have killed an army with my facial expression.

Elite nickname. He looks like a high school PE teacher with a penchant for upskirt photography but if he had any sense of occasion he'd lean into his new name and turn up in a PVC gimp suit. Get Bassat to unzip his mouth hole as each pick comes up.
Would like him to sit at SoS feet so he can drum on his head with his fingers while thinking who to select before going into eeney meeney miney moe over Travaglia and Allan.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Like many, I’m praying for a top tier mid. But although Tauru is 193, he doesn’t even need a chance to run and leap, he just goes up. Plays taller than that. Hopefully he would put on size and then would be a massive handful. It’s also his trajectory that would be appealing.

I just want them to pick the best talent available. Obsession with a type made us pick McCartin over Trac. Just get them right. I didn't want Nas but he's been a top 4 player in our side the last 2 years. Hobbs wouldn't have moved the needle at all. Macrae gives a us a couple of season before we have to find a top mid and hopefully in that time Hugo and Phillipou make themselves into gun mids. Find a few others in the meantime and we have depth and hopefully quality.

Trout didn't just **** up in not picking mids, he failed to find any players of top end quality in multiple drafts. At the end of the day we just need top end talent and a footy department that can't maximise their value. I think the FD is pretty good now.

If first name is read at 7.30, which seems unlikely and could be another 10 mins of waffle - that’s 7 picks prior (with Ashcroft), then 8.15 at earliest?

Throw in a possible bid. Then if we bid twice (so 8 is outside of the real 10), add another 5 mins for top 10 photo opp if they still do that? Could be 8.20 and beyond 8.30 for the second pick 😂.

It’s just been lobbed on my desk that my son has to be picked up at school at 8pm. 30 min round trip. Could have killed an army with my facial expression.
I copped a similar request... my wife is out & our daughter needs to be picked up from work at 8.

That ok?

Gritted teeth.

Sure. :mad:

Buttercup and sweetcheeks aren't that exotic over on this side of the country mate.

Be nice, their gramophone records have to come out from London by steamship over there.

I just want them to pick the best talent available. Obsession with a type made us pick McCartin over Trac. Just get them right. I didn't want Nas but he's been a top 4 player in our side the last 2 years. Hobbs wouldn't have moved the needle at all. Macrae gives a us a couple of season before we have to find a top mid and hopefully in that time Hugo and Phillipou make themselves into gun mids. Find a few others in the meantime and we have depth and hopefully quality.

Trout didn't just **** up in not picking mids, he failed to find any players of top end quality in multiple drafts. At the end of the day we just need top end talent and a footy department that can't maximise their value. I think the FD is pretty good now.

Naaah not often i disagree with you gringo but our list has a big hole in the middle - we need classy midfielders.

There are maybes with the Pou and Garcia but we need class and depth in the midfield.

Tell him to hitch home?

Despite facing the potential of not gaining access to the best kids in this draft - that sentence alone would get my hard drives searched - we will still have access to two (hopefully elite) prospects.

The draft is a lottery at the end of the day and while we assume the "big six" will all turn into stars, that can't be assumed.
The kids we select can have all the talent in the world but if we don't develop them properly, then good luck.

For the first time in probably 15 years, I have some level of belief that the club has created an environment to foster and develop elite talent. We have all been burnt in the past, but we need to have trust our recruiting team.

Lets not kid ourselves, Tauru and Travaglia won't fix our deficient midfield, and I wish we had access to the prospects above us, but we can't drain emotional energy on things we can't control.

As mentioned before, there is a small chance that Twomey gets the order wrong this year due to the evenness across the draft and the many clubs keeping cards close to their chest. We may even split our picks. Tonight will be must watch tv.

I am currently sitting at the desk of a job that I hate and typing a post on a niche footy forum about which cattle we get from the market tonight. Trust me - everything will be okay, and we will support each player who joins the RWB.

Yesterday, I explained to my partner that I spend my time reading a forum full of blokes who are upset about a nerd saying "you'll pick no mids and you'll be happy." She is currently finalising the divorce papers as I speak.

Anyway, look forward to Mike Sheehan and Mick Ablett telling us that every kid in this draft is a "ripper". Go Saints.

This draft is exceptional in its depth not its front end. To me the spread of strong talent makes is special but the idea that if you miss out on the first 7 selections you are out of the good players is insane.

We are probably out of the guys that most of us prefer but it should still net us a couple of exceptionally talented players. We have finally got a professional football department and development program. If we hadn't fixed that ll the talent we pick probably pisses away regardless.

We might not get the picks right but we are at least in a position to maximise the ones we do get. I'm the least stressed I've been in years going into this one.

Naaah not often i disagree with you gringo but our list has a big hole in the middle - we need classy midfielders.

There are maybes with the Pou and Garcia but we need class and depth in the midfield.
Tauru then a split #8 into Lindsay & Reid would be sensational.

Ticks a lot of boxes

To be fair Tauru's and Travaglia's parents couldn't spell Alex or Toby either. Either way I reserve the right to call them Axel Taurus and Townsville Travelodge.
Thinking about it again, hopefully we miss both of them.

The spelling Nazi's on hear wil loose they're shit and will be absoulutely unbearabble.

Hunter Clarke, Hunter Clarke.

Tauru then a split #8 into Lindsay & Reid would be sensational.

Ticks a lot of boxes
Please let it be so, Taaru and Trav and imma Terry Wallace all over this place.

( if it is the case I'll support them and pray they become superstars but they are not what we need or what was sold by the club )

Unless the secret plan all along is 18 HBF's that will all turn into elite midfielders and they can all rotate through the middle.

2024 Draft Thread.