2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

St Kilda will select 3 to 4 more players Tomorrow Night that may include NGA players Hoffman and/or Cole.
It's possible that we only pick 1 of the above given the selection of Tauru and Travaglia and the need to balance the list.

Ideally, we draft at least 1 midfielder and 1 Ruckman with those Picks.

We currently have picks 32, 51, 76 and 84,.

There are a few clubs that seem to have excess selections that we could target for trades.

Brisbane is expected to take 1 to 2 more selections and have Picks 46, 47, 49,56,59,66, and 69
Carlton is expected to take 3 more sections and have 40, 55, 63,64,67
Collingwood 3 Selections 45, 48, 53, 61
Essendon 3 Selections 37, 39,43,60

OUT
def: Battle, Paton, Bonner, Van Es
ruck: Campbell
mid: Ross, Hotton
fwd: Membrey, Hayes, Allison

IN
def: Tauru, Travaglia, Hofmann*, Cole*
ruck: X
mid: Macrae, Carroll
fwd: X, X, X

Wanted us to split pick 8, but pretty rapt with those first two picks on balance.

Reckon we've hit a pretty sweet spot in the draft for a key/mobile forward as well

OUT
def: Battle, Paton, Bonner, Van Es
ruck: Campbell
mid: Ross, Hotton
fwd: Membrey, Hayes, Allison

IN
def: Tauru, Travaglia, Hofmann*, Cole*
ruck: X
mid: Macrae, Carroll
fwd: X, X, X

Wanted us to split pick 8, but pretty rapt with those first two picks on balance.

Reckon we've hit a pretty sweet spot in the draft for a key/mobile forward as well

Thomas Sims is likely to still be on the board at our pick. Think he has a lot of upside.

Poor little Norfie darlings melting like crazy
Maybe little beggaroos will get their pet AFL diversity selection in Laura Kane to give them more free draft picks to butcher.

What a pathetic pos club that travesty is, about 3,000 supporters and selling games to WA.

Shittest, most irrelevant club in the AFL.with a racist, homophobic coach.

Farce of a club. Haven't noticed any of their rancid clowns over here tonight.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thomas Sims is likely to still be on the board at our pick. Think he has a lot of upside.

Nah given the guys still available we'd have to like Sims a lot to take him

I think Dogs are almost a lock to take Moraes with one of their picks. West Coast linked strongly to Hamish Davis. Richmond took Faull, Armstrong; can't see them taking another key fwd

Which leaves one of Shanahan or Jack Whitlock for us. Dodson too if Richmond pass

I still prefer Boxshall, but if we are to take a tall, it surely has to be one of those three

Very excited about Tauru, think he could be absolutely anything. Somebody a few pages back mentioned a long-term Mason Wood replacement and that's a great shout I reckon. Give him scope to cover ground and take grabs all over the ground.

Travaglia I'm a little bit indifferent about - nothing really screams "star" potential. However, I'm not a regular U18s watcher and only going off highlights (where there were quite a few indiscriminate kicks and missed handballs etc). I'll defer to Dalrymple & Co and hope he turns out a jet.

I would love Dodson, think he'd be a great get. Probably the best pure ruck in the draft. Ough, Boxshall, Moraes, Shanahan or Sims I'd also get on board with.

Poor little Norfie darlings melting like crazy
Maybe little beggaroos will get their pet AFL diversity selection in Laura Kane to give them more free draft picks to butcher.

What a pathetic pos club that travesty is, about 3,000 supporters and selling games to WA.

Shittest, most irrelevant club in the AFL.with a racist, homophobic coach.

Farce of a club. Haven't noticed any of their rancid clowns over here tonight.

Dude - north fans roasting saints fans and vice versa makes no sense. We are literally the same. One cannot offend the other without self inflicting some wounds.

We completely sold the farm for a speculative tall. You had your captain openly state you needed top end midfielders before selecting a couple of defenders. Let’s just call it a draw 😂

Dude - north fans roasting saints fans and vice versa makes no sense. We are literally the same. One cannot offend the other without self inflicting some wounds.

We completely sold the farm for a speculative tall. You had your captain openly state you needed top end midfielders before selecting a couple of defenders. Let’s just call it a draw 😂

Mmmmm no, this isn’t a draw. You win this round, you win this round of ****ery my friend.

Lots of picks =\= cleaning up.

Tigers did this in 2005. Didn't work.

Suns & Giants both got loaded up early. Didn't work.

North have had how many top picks? Hasn't worked.

The Dogs had a Grand Final team, added two top 5 picks in JUH & Darcy, and went backwards.

I ****ing hate this idea that loading up on "talented" kids means a flag is inevitable. There's so much more to it than that.

FMD our THREE best players all came from the rookie list!
Every time I see a reference to our best 3 players came from the rookie list, I don't think "well that must prove that the draft order doesn't equate to successful career", I think "No wonder we've been in bloody no man's land for over a decade!"

We couldn't do better than that at the last 10 drafts? What happened to all our other picks? GOPs and busts, the lot of them.

However, I am very skeptical about the "Draft talent not needs" maxim. All that gets you is an unbalanced list and trade capital, which isn't nothing, but it isn't ideal either.

I wanted us to address our needs with talented players in this draft and we haven't - yet.

Da Rymp is renowned for being able to spot the gold nuggets in the bottom of the draft, so I'll wait and see where we are this time tomorrow. Ough or Dodson please or that mysterious gun mid that no one but Da Rymp can see but will put the club on his shoulders and win us a couple of grannies.

Which top end midfielders should we have drafted? There weren't any left.

I'd have liked us to have picked up Bo Allan, but he's not a top end midfielder.

Shanahan could be the first player selected tomorrow night. I think he'd compliment King, he'll no doubt be gone by ours.

Boxshall could be a 'Dalrymple smokey' type selection. I'm always wary of Colts form though considering the standard in WA.

I really like Jack Ough, I'd absolutely love to draft him and think his ceiling is as high as anyone's in the draft. Get him to move in with Jack Macrae and live in his shadow for the next 2 years and watch him cook.

I don't see it with Gross, I would love a Rory Sloane clone, but I don't think that's him. Similar to Moraes, I don't really see it with him but what would I know.

Getting back into this drafts 1st round was always going to be considered near on impossible. North found out the hard way. Bombers too, who absolutely shat the bed by trading out of 9 so early on in trade period.

Getting Carroll could be a blessing considering the need for genuine mids or mid/fwd hybrids. Perhaps that was the plan all along and Carroll was seen as equal to or better than the next tier of mids?

A trade down with GWS wouldve meant we missed Reid, Lindsay, Allan and Hotton anyway - Hynes and Trainor wouldve satisfied though. Id love to have seen what Freo offered, considering thats where Reid went.

How Lions paid so little for 2 gun first rounders AND STILL have picks 46, 47, 49, 56, 59, 66 & 69 is such a rort. All of those picks are worth points this year. With any luck we'll be able to trade for some of those picks for points for our academy boys. Still a joke though.

North showed tonight what the Suns have been showing for years. The AFL have devalued draft picks for these 2 clubs. Because of their handouts, they don't put anywhere near the importance on a first round selection that a club like we need to.

I'm still trying to process tonight. We've thrown our hat into the ring multiple times for no bites of the cherry it seems. Sneaking up a few picks with a Kako handshake agreement aside.

Missing those top mids who we've been obsessing over since the July bye realisation that our season was done feels like such a wasted exercise and I cant help but feel disappointed at that fact.

I'm excited for what Tauru could turn into. I'm obviously going to back in the club with Travaglia, I hope they both have long careers and the whole 'top 6 mids' story turns out to be a furphy.

Like all of us, I just want success. I don't actually know if I'll see one in my lifetime, which is such a devastating thought.

When I first heard about Tauru I thought he was a Pacific Islander bloke that we had recruited from the Storm, like Israel Folau,

I was like goddamn not another Samoan, thank god he is a Scandinavian.

We completely sold the farm for a speculative tall. You had your captain openly state you needed top end midfielders before selecting a couple of defenders. Let’s just call it a draw
Go back to your rancid board, you and the other inbreds aren't welcomed here.

F1 for 27 you complete joke of a club. Go beg for more free picks you parasites, just make sure they aren't indigenous or your racist coach will attack them.

When I first heard about Tauru I thought he was a Pacific Islander bloke that we had recruited from the Storm, like Israel Folau,

I was like goddamn not another Samoan, thank god he is a Scandinavian.

I watched Vikings and i can't stand their accent.

Ooiy i wool smush your head into your poolvis.

Gave me the shits.

oh and careful, our biggest Fijian supporter may not like your Samoan comments.

Tobie needs some Ritalin or something. Some may call it infectious but that was hard to watch. Nerves and all I'm sure, but the swaying and the over confidence of the kid is a bit much. The Ross the Boss talk, ug, spare me. It's all about the footy field so who really cares but that was a struggle.

As for Tauru, what a humble, appreciative young man who you just know is going to work his backside off.

Tobie needs some Ritalin or something. Some may call it infectious but that was hard to watch. Nerves and all I'm sure, but the swaying and the over confidence of the kid is a bit much. The Ross the Boss talk, ug, spare me. It's all about the footy field so who really cares but that was a struggle.

As for Tauru, what a humble, appreciative young man who you just know is going to work his backside off.

I much prefer that to Jonty....Life is like a box of chocolates..... Faull.

2024 Draft Thread.