- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #18,956
2024 Picks
2025 Picks
2025 Picks
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
would be my guess as well unfortunately despite his great pre season this year he didnt come into the side and show the same potential that the others have when they have come in. Add to that the unfortunate injury and I think he is now most likely to get the Seamus Mitchell cut and rookieWe don’t have room on the rookie list to do much this year and can’t see us taking just the one pick at the national draft. Would think Butler is the one to get delisted and then rookied.
Danger game - Clarko loves a late season win, especially if he's at risk of getting a number 1 draft pickHawthorn play North Melbourne in the last round could we see best mates Liam Shiels, Jack Gunston & Luke Breust all on the same day and get chaired off all together??
Butler is still contracted.
As for Phillips, I'm not somebody to pot those who supply us with ITK info when they can, but we do need to at least question the 'Phillips signed an 18 month contract' comment.
If you are a MSD rookie player you can opt for an 18 month contract because it includes half of the current season plus the full season the following year.
Phillips was a pre season SSP pick-up. If he signed an 18 month contract it means his current deal ends this time next year. As far as I know, not a single player in the league or in history would be on a deal that ends DURING a season. Unless there are small clauses in contracts where a players contract officially ends, but he continues to get paid and/or made available for selection but only as a long term injury replacement. And it happens outside the salary cap.
Even that sounds unlikely because I've never seen it come up before.
Particularly if we need a win for finals...I've thought about this, will be intriguing to see how Clarko approaches it
I was under the impression from parties close to Easy he is on a one year contract as he was taken in the SSP. He can't nominate 18 months as that would take him through to June of the following year.Newmo89
TD has some info that is new to me? Anything public you can disclose?
We only will in extreme circumstances, not the way we do business
my understanding is all contracts must finish at the end of a season. It is against the CBA to have contracts end mid seasonButler is still contracted.
As for Phillips, I'm not somebody to pot those who supply us with ITK info when they can, but we do need to at least question the 'Phillips signed an 18 month contract' comment.
If you are a MSD rookie player you can opt for an 18 month contract because it includes half of the current season plus the full season the following year.
Phillips was a pre season SSP pick-up. If he signed an 18 month contract it means his current deal ends this time next year. As far as I know, not a single player in the league or in history would be on a deal that ends DURING a season. Unless there are small clauses in contracts where a players contract officially ends, but he continues to get paid and/or made available for selection but only as a long term injury replacement. And it happens outside the salary cap.
Even that sounds unlikely because I've never seen it come up before.
We've been good the last few weeks, but those aren't the teams we need to focus on beating.I still would love us to get Bailey Smith across, but following our last 7 weeks he seems like much more of a luxury and less of a necessity.
If he comes in, he needs to push out one of Worpel, Nash, CJ or Mackenzie from our starting lineup.
We don’t have room on the rookie list to do much this year and can’t see us taking just the one pick at the national draft. Would think Butler is the one to get delisted and then rookied.
Which is the likely moves again this year, edges guys you are confident make it through like thatWingard was delisted last year and picked in the PSD as part of list management flexibility.
There were murmurings North were going to pick him the rookie draft. We had the choice of a senior spot or a rookie spot so played it safe. We had to delist Chad and Stephens last year to create more list spots to use on points for McCabe. This year we just have to have 3 senior spots open for the national draft.Wingard was delisted last year and picked in the PSD as part of list management flexibility.
Playing coach at Launceston Football Club and by all reports been successful over a number of years both in terms of winning premierships and developing young talent.Ie being a flog of a bloke.
Anyone know what Mitch Thorp is up to these days?
Been a very successful coach and player at Launceston FC, stepping down as coach at the end of this season.Playing coach at Launceston Football Club and by all reports been successful over a number of years both in terms of winning premierships and developing young talent.
Colby McKercher (2), James Leake (17) and Arie Schoenmaker (62) from 2023 draft all from Launceston Football Club.
Link below to Mitch on SEN Tassie speaking about Arie's debut on the weekend. Interesting parallels between Mitch as a young talent and Arie.
"What a great story. Three years ago if you had said he'd be playing AFL footy I may have fell off my chair!" Launceston coach Mitch Thorp joined Brent... | By SEN Tassie | Facebook
"What a great story. Three years ago if you had said he'd be playing AFL footy I may have fell off my chair!" Launceston coach Mitch Thorp joined Brent...www.facebook.com
Mitch may have had some issues when drafted but 18 year olds mature and learn. A bit more respect for a former Hawks player who has made is mark in football despite his journey not going as he and others had expected or hoped.
Tom is also a horrible humanTom Morris “keeps hearing Geelong” regarding Bailey Smith (SEN this morning)
No he was a horrible human. He sat out of society and football for a bit and now he’s a good human. It’s quite simple really the passing of time is a wonderful thing don’t you think?Tom is also a horrible human
Go to the draft. I've gone back and forward on this all year, but I'm now firmly in the no Smith camp. I believe Sammy and Co will get the best out of Ward (even though I'm banned from the Ward thread).I wonder what we do if he does join Geelong do we go to the draft with our first or pivot to another midfielder.
Go to the draft. I've gone back and forward on this all year, but I'm now firmly in the no Smith camp. I believe Sammy and Co will get the best out of Ward.
Isn’t the top 10 a strong one this year, probably would be good idea to keep a pick in there even upgrade it if we can.