- Oct 16, 2011
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
I am absolutely munted, I think I might have even LOLd at one of Frogmans posts
He’s laughing at you, not with you
Davis is there to make sure Nicks improvement heads north otherwise Davis doesn’t look good, he will be involved in everything Nicks doesLol Wayne... the club is on record that Davis is looking after game plan strategy.
So many have given you direct quotes.
Yet, here you are still in denial.
You're not bright George, or you're simply here looking for arguments ....
None of that says Davis is developing the gameplan .....he himself said he's there to support Nicks, and you'll find that's ensuring the vertical understanding & compliance of the agreed gameplan at all levels of coaching & development
You do zero research on any subject, shoot from the hip with any thought that denigrates the club .....strangely though, you are completely intolerant of anyone criticising your Norwood
You yourself have said your passion lies with Norwood NOT the Crows .....and it shows thru in your continued denigration of the club
Do we have anything that says what Davis will be responsible for?
This is what Silvers, Davis and Roo have saidThat’s easy, I’ll just quote the key stake holders:
Silvers - gameplan, execution, development and manage assistant coaches
Davis - go into a game with a plan, stick to it and manage playing a game of AFL
ROO - coach the coach
That leaves Nicks to manage relationships and front the media, aka Hinkleylite.
Now given what Silvers, Davis and Roo have said, what do you think Davis’s role and therefore Nick’s role?
No critical thinking bullshit, actually spell it out or will this go the same way of you failing to explain shape?
Surely he lost you at “you’re not bright George”.You lost me at vertical understanding. Put down the thesaurus and corporate bullshit.
I’ll let that slideSurely he lost you at “you’re not bright George”.
Has to be the stupidest thing posted ever
Surely he lost you at “you’re not bright George”.
Has to be the stupidest thing posted ever
This is rampant speculation on my part and obviously a major stretch but I wonder if the club may have been a tad disappointed with the way last summer's game plan overhaul by Nicks went
Yah think?
As I’ve said, reckon the club had decided to extend his contract towards the end of the preseason but were waiting for the right moment to announce it.
The club thought they would get off to a good start and could announce it later in the year but it all went pearshaped from R1 and then they faced Geelong at home and thought to give the players a boost lets announce it then.
It never made any sense, this to take pressure off the club had the exact opposite effect and we saw what happened by R4. Went from most attacking side to the second worst (and only 7 points from being the worst). Season was over.
Nicks doesn’t have the same football nous of Sam Mitchell or Chris Fagan. He spent 8 years with Ken before his one and only year at GWS. Says enough.
Lets see what 2025 provides, he now has most of the players he needs, he has Davis to assist and a soft draw. He couldn’t possibly **** this up.
Maybe Bello told him key supporters wereThis is rampant speculation on my part and obviously a major stretch but I wonder if the club may have been a tad disappointed with the way last summer's game plan overhaul by Nicks went
I think we knew we were going to re-sign him but there were contracts negotiations, the club effectively said this, think it was Olsen or Silvers leading up to the season.Yah think?
As I’ve said, reckon the club had decided to extend his contract towards the end of the preseason but were waiting for the right moment to announce it.
The club thought they would get off to a good start and could announce it later in the year but it all went pearshaped from R1 and then they faced Geelong at home and thought to give the players a boost lets announce it then.
It never made any sense, this to take pressure off the club had the exact opposite effect and we saw what happened by R4. Went from most attacking side to the second worst (and only 7 points from being the worst). Season was over.
Nicks doesn’t have the same football nous of Sam Mitchell or Chris Fagan. He spent 8 years with Ken before his one and only year at GWS. Says enough.
Lets see what 2025 provides, he now has most of the players he needs, he has Davis to assist and a soft draw. He couldn’t possibly **** this up.
Concern for me is we improve on last year and finish say 9th to 11th and club says we’re on the up.I think we knew we were going to re-sign him but there were contracts negotiations, the club effectively said this, think it was Olsen or Silvers leading up to the season.
Details were sorted out before the first game and announced after the game, they expected us to have won.
You’re right he now has everything, the concern is we will get a natural lift due to the talent, draw and Davis. Get that lift to make finals and they will feel vindicated in re-signing Nicks and can refer to the excuses of 2024 as a blip.
The issue is he isn’t a good coach, get into the finals and we will end up Port Mark II with Kenlite, we won’t have much success in finals and we will end up with a long term dud coach, just like Port. Difference is we’ve already had him for 5 years with no finals.
The bar for what should be satisfactory and acceptable year for Nicks should not be "just Finals".Concern for me is we improve on last year and finish say 9th to 11th and club says we’re on the up.
We need to fully disregard last year and base expected improvements on 2023 meaning finals of bust for Nicks
AgreeThe bar for what should be satisfactory and acceptable year for Nicks should not be "just Finals".
We have a decent draw in 2025 and have improved our list significantly over the trade/draft period. My expectation for 2025 is that not only do our young players progress in their development and take their game to another level, but also we have the game plan in place to beat Top 8 teams.
Nicks has a losing record against every team in the AFL except for vs Blues and Saints which really are basket case clubs in themselves. Im not counting North and Eagles as Im sure almost every coach has against them during the period in which Nicks has been coaching.
In reality, this year we should be looking for a new coach for 2026, I have very little faith in Nicks being successful in 2025.
There are a few decent ex-coaches without a job that we should be linked to or trying to lure. The rumours and speculation will hit a fever pitch at the half way mark of the season, if we have only won a handful of games.
You’re comparing the club keeping trade info which they want to keep secret for obvious reasons to a random chat with a supporter?We know how difficult the AFL Trade Guru's find getting info out of ADEL .....we're a closed shop in the main
As if a Club Development Manager is going to reveal to a random stranger, the innermost thinking of the Club on any player, or subject ......it just requires a degree of common sense thinking
But everyone wants to claim they have inside sources .....or they're just gullible
So WaynesWorld19 you asked for proof on your Wilkie comments, I gave it to you and it’s radio silence……You mean this:
mate this shit is getting pretty boring and not sure why it’s in the rumours thread to start with.You’re comparing the club keeping trade info which they want to keep secret for obvious reasons to a random chat with a supporter?
Do you think Bello had alternative answers ready for such encounters? Do you think that’s more plausible than just an honest conversation?
But actually use your critical highly intelligent thinking and tell me what sounds like bullshit he would have made up so he could keep club secrets:
Changed our gameplan as we couldn’t defend
Players got ahead of themselves
Defended our drafting citing Jones made the top 10 of our B&F
We still had a chance for finals at 1-4
As for Curtin, it wasn’t just Bello who said they were trying to improve his one on one defending, that was public knowledge and had been talked about. Just look at where we were developing him in the SANFL at the time.
As for his comment about matching up on pacey nimble half forwards, do you think Bello actually was hiding he thought he would be a good match up on those players?
As for playing midfield, we had not spent one minute on him at that stage playing midfield, why? Why developing him in defence if they considered him a midfielder? Why would Bello discount his midfield experience? To achieve what? Trick a supporter?
But let’s look at Curtins development since.
Played against Port for a half and played well. Starts against Brisbane at half back and all the concerns Bello shared with me came to fruition. So either Bello was correct with his concerns or if he wasn’t concerned and he was actually hiding his true opinion that Curtin was a ready to go AFL defender then that questions Bellos judgement doesn’t it?
We did not see Curtin again playing defence in the AFL, why is that you reckon? Why did we then switch to developing him as a mid?
And never cited a source, said I had a conversation. Bello doesn’t know me and I don’t know him outside that 10-15 min conversation.
Now I’m more than happy for you to point out which parts of that conversation sound like Bello feeding me bullshit or are you saying the conversation never took place and that when I got home from the game I just made up the conversation to fool some posters I’m in a PM with?
Mate the thing with a football forum is you don’t need to read anyone’s posts if it bores you, so don’t tell me what to post. Like I made the choice to put you on ignore as I found your posts not only boring but weird like emailing the AFL and media about the unfairness of our draw or offering share advice to new recruits.mate this shit is getting pretty boring and not sure why it’s in the rumours thread to start with.
Yeah campaigner doesn't suit.Sloane replacing Cornes on the Sunday Footy Show
Not sure he fits that dynamic
And Footy Classified, not sure what he will offer that showSloane replacing Cornes on the Sunday Footy Show
Not sure he fits that dynamic
Do we know who's replacing Caro ??And Footy Classified, not sure what he will offer that show