List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II

It's been 5 or 6 years where the only positive thing about the club is the next top 3 pick.
I get it. We have not had much to look forward too and folks get attached to the next uber pick.
But what bugs me is folks knocking back good players because they assume next years f1 will be another pick 2.
Maybe if we recruit some good ready to go players we actually improve? I know that's what I want more than 2025 pick 2.
We are very close to big improvement.
Ldu has reached his prime years all our other picks following him are just behind.
Sell our f1 then make the 8 please.
We are ready
The competition is going to even up even more next year. Even if we were to win 6-10 games next year who beyond Richmond or West Coast could you seriously mount a case that we would finish above next year.

When

Which side

Melbourne StKilda Essendon Adelaide

who ?

So get Housten in , would we really get 13 wins to make top 8

Hold pick 2 and what is realistically pick 2-5 next year and then start trading out F1st etc

We don't have to get it done that's the point

Apart from covid with Phillips, and I still believe he has a role as 15-20 player on the list
DONT TRADE OUT PICK 2

Watched 15 years of our first pick being 8 9 10 12 16

Achieved nothing

Keep pick 2 and what will be most likely pick 2-5 even with 4-8 wins next year

Dont piss it away on a HBF

That’s whole different conversation and purely depends on your perspective.

The point is - IF we want to get premium player deals done, we need to pay. There are no bargains when you are shit

Pick 6 for Rioli is insane

Even 8-14 for Houston is frogshit

If we can't, ie the recruiting department can't select a 200-300 game player at pick 2 then seriously ....

People are talking about trading out a Wardlaw or Sheezel type plus a Tom Powell for Housten.
No Way Seriously GIF by Bounce
If anyone is suggesting the bold you really shouldn't be reading their posts.

Pick 6 for Rioli is insane

Even 8-14 for Houston is frogshit

If we can't, ie the recruiting department can't select a 200-300 game player at pick 2 then seriously ....

People are talking about trading out a Wardlaw or Sheezel type plus a Tom Powell for Housten.
No Way Seriously GIF by Bounce
If you're rating our F1 as Harry Sheezel then you're delusional. He's a once in a generation type.

If anyone is suggesting the bold you really shouldn't be reading their posts.
That's what people are saying a 1st and second round for Housten,

That's Ports ambit claim

It's horseshit

It's all a mute point

Houston is going to Carlton

Anything else is just media click bait and social media engagement

That's what people are saying a 1st and second round for Housten,

That's Ports ambit claim

It's horseshit

It's all a mute point

Houston is going to Carlton

Anything else is just media click bait and social media engagement
Powell was pick 13. Sheezel and Wardlaw were top 4 picks.

With academy players, that would be like us offering pick 2 and pick 10 for Houston.

Nobody is suggesting that we do that.

The good sides drop down for a year or two at the most, grab a couple of young stars, and bounce back up. They don't need to draft 10 top 5 picks.

They do this because they retain good players in the 27+ age range. We completely ****ed that aspect and it seems like we are trying to fix it.
Give some examples of these good sides.

So why are we putting our future first on the market? We'll need it next year and it will be worth more then. Whereas pick 2 is worth heaps this year, and as another mid isn't our main priority, we should be happy to trade / split it.

Don't they say once in a footy club it's irrelevant how you got there. Whether number one or rookie all back in an even keel....

Give some examples of these good sides.
Sydney Geelong.
Hawks to lesser extent.
They really haven't been down long.
We are particularly slow in our rebuild.
I think it's about being a small club and really bottoming out hard.
Richmond will collect a few b graders during there rebuild like Hawks did and bounce back quicker than we have.
Wc will be similar

You did the bulldogs without mentioning their biggest J player! Or we just saying that's totally unachievable so didn't bother with him!

Sydney Geelong.
Hawks to lesser extent.
They really haven't been down long.
We are particularly slow in our rebuild.
I think it's about being a small club and really bottoming out hard.
Richmond will collect a few b graders during there rebuild like Hawks did and bounce back quicker than we have.
Wc will be similar
I would say Port, as well. They are finals chokers but have maintained H&A performance without needing 10 top 5 picks

We have a top tier midfield, in terms of talent and potential.

LDU
Wardlaw
Sheezel
McKercher
Duursma
Powell
Phillips

And if you're that desperate for another then you use the F1 on Houston and draft a mid with pick 2 (or split it back to pick 6ish and draft a mid + someone else).

We'd also expect to sign/trade for another mid as we rise up the ladder and become more of a destination.

Drafting 8 mids with top 5 picks is overkill.

We've got a historical amount of high draft pick talent on our list already and people here are talking like we still need two more years worth.

What we actually need is leadership and good players who know how to win.
We've got at least 18-20 players on the list that aren't up to it imo. Roughly 10 go this year and we'll bring in that many.
That group will be turned over in two years before Tassie comes in 2026 and starts compromising the draft if reports of 2026 being the year are true. That would be the year I would start trading out 1sts for good players if it was me.

I'm not keen on giving up a top 3 pick next year for Houston because I know there's Archie Ludowyke, Willem Duurmsa and the Duff man as well as a couple of other key position players coming in next year's draft in the top 10.

In 2026 we'd also have potentially Sam Harris and McCartney's son to consider drafting as well.
Where are they ranked? Who knows at his point but are we scrambling in 2026 if we've traded out our 2026 R1 into 2025 to make up for moving it this year for a Houston or picks in this draft? I guess we'll see.

I think Parker if we get him might have more of an impact than Houston with his leadership and fight.
I think the wins are likely to come from the group we have than just the impact of adding a Houston imo.
But I can certainly understand the urge to change the narrative and get in a good player and improve in the win column.
We don't really have a say in it and we won't know who is right until a 5 years later so wait and see what happens.