5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG

Who will win?

Has to be one of the worst summers of cricket I can remember.

Obviously Australia winning is a big positive. However the fact that 3/5 games were essentially done and dusted by day 3, 1 was a washout and we were left with just 1 quality game that went the length.

The pitches in Australia need some serious work. This summer was far to much in the bowlers favour and very few batsman could get on top.

Can’t have pitches that favour the bowling conditions to that degree. If this was in India and we had the same results on spinning pitches we’d be up in arms.

Found it a very disappointing series in the end and not up to the hype which was a shame.

Obviously Australia winning is a big positive. However the fact that 3/5 games were essentially done and dusted by day 3, 1 was a washout and we were left with just 1 quality game that went the length.

The pitches in Australia need some serious work. This summer was far to much in the bowlers favour and very few batsman could get on top.

Can’t have pitches that favour the bowling conditions to that degree. If this was in India and we had the same results on spinning pitches we’d be up in arms.

Found it a very disappointing series in the end and not up to the hype which was a shame.

I’m surprised that someone might have an opinion like this, I found the series captivating and couldn’t look away, this Boxing Day test was as good as any that I can remember

There's always one
If you can't find enjoyment in this series, then perhaps the game is not for you

I too found the cricket captivating, but agree with the sentiment that the pitches favoured the bowlers just a little too much, and we were therefore deprived of 5 day contests.

Sure, chaos over 3 days is exciting, but a contest that is a little more even over 5 days can be just as tense and exciting.

What are we going to do now? No bloody cricket except the 'Go the Bash". Bring on the footy!
I hope someone does have a good talk to Konstas, 113 runs at 28 was hardly setting the world on fire, he has talent, now they have to nurture it? Perhaps the Sri Lanka tour could accelerate his progress? One thing is for sure, the Poms will verbal him big time next year...it's going to be an interesting year!

Yes it's totally fair to compare a kid who's barely played first class cricket let alone test cricket for Australia to 3 veterans and a 31 year old debutant.

Also when Warner first started in the test squad he absolutely did what Konstas has the last few innings. Was swinging out his ass every ball just about.

Warner was making tons for fun at One Day domestic level. Certainly wasn't just a slogger.

I'm a fan of SK but he needs to tone down the slogathon just a tad. He has the ability to play properly and then bring those shots in later in the innings.

Warner was making tons for fun at One Day domestic level. Certainly wasn't just a slogger.

I'm a fan of SK but he needs to tone down the slogathon just a tad. He has the ability to play properly and then bring those shots in later in the innings.

Can't remember who, but someone here, who professed to have watched him at Shield level, suggested he'd been told to go hard at the Indians by management as his full on aggression was NOT typical of how he's been playing at Shield level.

Don't know if that's true or not, but it may explain his aggression.

Hazlewood has already earned that spot, and as we saw against England, you can make Boland ineffective. You can't do that with Josh.

Heck, he was Bumrah like this year with a 13.3 ave/32 SR before he broke down again.

Every top tier unit is going to have someone who is unlucky, but a decently clear 4th choice. Boland is that.

Thanks, Josh.

The bloke has taken 21 at 13 and you can't find a spot for him. Pls.

Hazel has missed what 18 of the past 30 tests through injury. You can just about put a fork in him.

Can't remember who, but someone here, who professed to have watched him at Shield level, suggested he'd been told to go hard at the Indians by management as his full on aggression was NOT typical of how he's been playing at Shield level.

His FC strike rate is a bit over 50 so yeah sounds right

Before he played I’d heard from more than one in the media that he’s a genuine 4 day opener, not to take notice of his Big Bash batting, that’s why his approach certainly surprised me

What are we going to do now? No bloody cricket except the 'Go the Bash". Bring on the footy!
I hope someone does have a good talk to Konstas, 113 runs at 28 was hardly setting the world on fire, he has talent, now they have to nurture it? Perhaps the Sri Lanka tour could accelerate his progress? One thing is for sure, the Poms will verbal him big time next year...it's going to be an interesting year!
Womens Ashes then Sri Lanks

Why not? Bumrah had his arm open asking the question so Kontas answered him with "he is not ready". Did he say anything aggressive??? Had Bumrah stood there tossing the ball in the air, you think Kontas would have said anything given there was no question asked.

The carry on over SK having a word to Bumrush is completely laughable. How soft has everyone become.

The irony of being called soft by Indians is hilarious too. Probably the softest campaigners going

As always, they play the victim.

Softest campaigners going around.

It's all about quality not quantity and this summer was top drawer cricket.

Usually a middle order batsman should be averaging mid to high 40s (or more). Easier to bat when the ball isn't new.

What is ‘should’ mate?

In Australia’s history 10 batsmen batting between positions 4-6 have scored 2000+ runs in test cricket averaging over 45.

Where does ‘should’ come from?

5 of them are Chappell, Smith, Waugh, Border and Harvey who are unequivocal legends of the game.

Setting an expectation that a middle order batsman simply should just rock into the team and be averaging something around 45 as an arbitrary pass mark is ridiculous

View attachment 2198161

This was 10 years ago when Smudge got the Border Gavaskar Trophy. Sunny was told that he would do the honours if India kept the BGT and AB would present the trophy if Australia won the series to win the silverware back. I don't see why they can't have both men hand the trophy over.

If they're both in attendance it seems ridiculous for them not to both present the trophy that carries their name, regardless of the result.

Worse in this instance, I reckon that because of Gavaskar's somewhat partisan/salty commentary at times, I think people may have speculated in the moment that his non-appearance was due to him throwing the toys out of the cot, which wasn't the case.

5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG