AAMI Stadium Survey for a year 12 project

Which AFL club do you support?
[ ] Adelaide

How many AFL games at AAMI Stadium do you attend per year?
[ ] 1-12

Have you ever missed your team’s games at AAMI Stadium due to: (tick all that apply)
None

Would you rather see your team’s games played at:
AAMI Stadium (Football Park)

Why?
Aami stadium is the crows home ground. I would love for them to play at a city stadium but understand at this point in time it is not feasible. Adelaide oval is too small.

Do you find AAMI Stadium’s new LED signage an annoyance or distraction?
no

Is there too much advertising present at AAMI Stadium games?
No

Is the Entertainment at AAMI Stadium AFL games adequate?
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games?
Crows could make more noise, some of the crowd just sit on their hands. They need people to get the crowd going.

Is live television coverage an incentive to stay home?
yes

Should AAMI Stadium games be broadcast live in SA?
no
30 minute delay.

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

Have you ever missed your team’s games at AAMI Stadium due to: (tick all that apply)
[ ] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Crowd too quiet/conservative
[ ] Electric Signage on outer-wing
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Lack of entertainment
[ ] Poor catering/facilities
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: Friday night's often double booked)

[X] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:_______________________)
Why?
Because I live at Henley Beach and don't want to have to catch the stupid footy express (I don't see what's so express about it :rolleyes:).

[X] yes - the bright flash when it flicks over is annoying.
[ ] no

[x] yes - the 3 quarter time coke promotion makes me want to puke/start a fight
[] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Can be a bit of a yawn if we are flogging the opposition but can also be awesome during close games or if their is a bit of aggro on the field.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[] 0
[] 1-12
[] 13
[X] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: never)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Don't mind the travel, love the area and love the ground.

[X] yes
[] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Pretty tame at Crows games due to the pathetic supporters who think they're at the movies. Nothing to do with the actual ground though. The atmosphere at Port games is pretty poor but mostly because only half the seats are filled - at least their supporters are a bit more lively.

[ ] yes
[X] no
No for me, yes for some people I spose.

[ ] yes
[X] no
Only for sellouts.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: When unable due to rostering at work, many, many years ago )

[x] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval

Why?
Like the atmosphere, & my current seats, being able to drive & park at Footy Park & have a BBQ if we choose.

Adelaide Oval would need a lot more work than is currently planned & to spend the amount of money needed would be wasteful to satisfy a small minority. Parking would be expensive & only available to a small minority. As others have said AAMI is an AFL stadium if Adelaide Oval was the venue there would be problems with sharing with other co-tenants as had happened at the Docklands with Melbourne Victory & Rock concerts!

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

I enjoy it, but usually only come in about 10 -15 mins before the game as we are having our BBQ.

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? It can be very quiet at times when the opposition are in front, the 19th man has made a huge difference but it needs to continue so that there is more noise throughout the whole game.

[ ] yes
[x] no NEVER

[ ] yes
[x] no Only when it is a sellout, i.e. Showdowns

(But good when it is on Foxtel as I tape it to watch & review later without the ads, very selfish of me I know.

Hey everyone,

I'm posting on behalf of Texas Tippett, a new member who has recently signed up but can not yet start his own topics. He has a year 12 project which involves him taking a survey of SA footy fans about their attendance or not of AAMI Stadium. If you guys could fill out his survey he would great appreciate it :) His message and survey are below.

Hi guys,
I am currently in yr.12 and doing an assignment on the detractions from attending AFL games at AAMI Stadium. It would help greatly and be much appreciated if you could complete this short questionnaire. Cheers
[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[x] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: Nothing to do afterwards!)

[ ] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
If the facilities were upgraded of course.___________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Not too bad. Sometimes the crowd is a little too placid for my liking.______

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:____________________)

[x ] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

[ ] yes
[ x] no

[ ] yes
[x ] no

[ x] yes
[ ] no

Quiet unless the crows are winning and even then only when goals are being kicked. Not enough cheering when we get behind and the boys need encouragement.

[ ] yes
[x ] no

[x ] yes
[ ] no[/quote]

To clarify the last 2 questions - live television doesn't deter me from going to games and I like that the footy is on live tv in sa if for some reason I can't go. Having said that I'm certain this does impact on whether less passionate supporters than those of us that post on these forums go to the footy.

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
[X] Other please specify: bad experience at a Port home showdown & didn't want to relive it

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Adelaide Oval will never be able to fit 40,000+ people in it so either the Crows will have to cut some members or there will be no public seats available. And I love sitting on the hill at the cricket at adelaide oval and if Adelaide Oval was to be made an AFL ground as well, they'd have to change the hill. And I don't see any problems with Aami Stadium - I live in the country so I travel over an hour and a half to get to Crows games so I can't see why poeple who live in Adelaide complain about how far it is when they get free transport to the ground.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Pretty good - sometimes it gets really quiet (usually at the beginning of games) but the Crows 19th Rule is really good and gets the crowd really involved in the game :thumbsu:

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no
They should only be live when it's a sell out.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify):_When it's really cold. (I'm an old fella with arthritis)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
______Adelaide oval will be a nightmare to get to because of traffic congestion. Imagine another 50,000 people traveling into the city on a Friday or Saturday night?______________________________________________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Crows crowds are too quiet.____________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Good luck with the project.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: only missed home games when in hospital or overseas - ie VERY rarely)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:)
Why?

In a perfect world I would like for us to play our games at a moderd stadium in the CBD. However, in reality it doesn't make sense for the AFC. We have just spend some $20 odd million on our new multi function training facility. It would be absolutly pointless to just waste that money. I think the best commercial decision for the time being is to stay at Football Park.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Its been better since the start of the 19th man concept but its still lacking at times. This is mainly due to the patrons in the statium rather than the stadium itself. It can be a pretty loud place when the viewing public want it to be.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Done!

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
While I don't object to a new stadium, I don't see the value in spending millions on a brand new one while there is a suitable alternative. And I can't see Adelaide Oval ever been redeveloped enough to suit. For me either a new stadium, or an upgrade AAMI Stadium is the way to go.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Very good overall, perhaps a little on the quiet side

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

I did it - and I'm in Canberra. Jenny's in Brisbane and gave a response.

Fair enough.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[x] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:_In wrong state to attend_____)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Pretty poor compared with other grounds in Australia ______________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: Family/work commitments)

[x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
_Upgraded Adelaide Oval or new CBD ground, easier to get to____

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Can be a bit sterile and the "old fashioned" seating configuration doesn't help. (new stadium seating is a lot steeper angle - gives the feeling of closer to the action, closer to others = better atmosphere).

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

My two cents worth!!

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: busy with other commitments (playing, family)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
AAMI Stadium is Adelaide's home ground and it is fine.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes - I'm there to watch football.
[ ] no

Depends - if it is a big night game, eg. Collingwood, it is pretty good. Sunday games are usually pretty average though. I would describe the atmosphere at most games as "lacking".

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] n

Hi guys,
I am currently in yr.12 and doing an assignment on the detractions from attending AFL games at AAMI Stadium. It would help greatly and be much appreciated if you could complete this short questionnaire. Cheers

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Better facilities, although location of AAMI sucks. If Adelaide Oval had better grandstands, I would prefer there.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Some supporters are far too quiet and un-involved. It would be better for our team if everyone were a bit rowdier. Make it tougher for teams to play us at home.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[z ] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ x] Too far to travel
[ x] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: wet saturday night vs freo...nah)

[] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Cuz AAMI is not only crap but the parking is bad, it is far away,

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[] yes
[x ] no
the games entertaining (usually) not the pre match stuff. ie tilly

Too quiet when the teams down.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[] no

Hi guys,

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: Other commitments or Port Adelaide home Showdown - they aren't getting my money :p)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
I've never been to Adelaide Oval so it's pretty hard for me to pass judgement on it. By reading other comments, it seems like it wouldn't fit the amount of people we get to home games now anyway, so unless it gets rebuilt to accommodate larger numbers, we're fine where we are. (Plus we've just invested heaps of money getting this new facility built, why move now?)

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

Highlight of the week (If we win that is). The whole atmosphere has changed since the introduction of the 19th rule. 19th Man unite!! :D

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no - Only because it would mean people would stay home and watch it live. Larger crowd = better atmosphere

Hope your project goes well :):thumbsu:

Good luck mate.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify): playing my own footy on Saturday arvos.

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

[ ] yes
[x] not anymore - first game or two was a bit tough.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes - overly so. Wish they'd tone it down a bit.
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Contrived.

[ ] yes
[x] not for me. Undoubtedly for some people.

[ ] yes
[x] no

Here you go:
Hey everyone,

I'm posting on behalf of Texas Tippett, a new member who has recently signed up but can not yet start his own topics. He has a year 12 project which involves him taking a survey of SA footy fans about their attendance or not of AAMI Stadium. If you guys could fill out his survey he would great appreciate it :) His message and survey are below.

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Its the only place I've ever watched AFL in SA

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Too many old people or people who have gotten into a habit of not being rowdy and loud. If the crowd had more opposition supporters that would liven it up more perhaps

[ ] yes
[x] no not for me, but i believe lots of people choose to stay home because they can watch it live

[ ] yes
[x] no

Hey everyone,

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[x] 14-22

[x] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:Clashes with Centrals/Other Commitments)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why? Adelaide Oval to Small and I don't think they would upgrade it to hold all our members. Catering is worse than Aami as well IMO.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Some games it's good. Other games it's awful

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Done and dustes

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
AAMI stadium is the Crows home ground... capacity is sufficient compared to Adelaide Oval...

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes - though i don't really pay attention to whatever entertainment they have
[ ] no

better with the 19th man...

[ ] yes
[x] no - if i can get tickets and someone to go with, i'd go.

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:_A new_stadium_in_the_city_____)
Why?
_Better use of public transport thru centralised location / better before & after match entertainment available _____________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? _Lousy. For every supporter who yells support to the Crows, there's five people who don't understand the game, clapping politely and doing the knitting!___________________________________________________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

AAMI Stadium Survey for a year 12 project