AAMI Stadium Survey for a year 12 project

Apr 29, 2008
Northeast Suburbs
Hey everyone,

I'm posting on behalf of Texas Tippett, a new member who has recently signed up but can not yet start his own topics. He has a year 12 project which involves him taking a survey of SA footy fans about their attendance or not of AAMI Stadium. If you guys could fill out his survey he would great appreciate it :) His message and survey are below.

Hi guys,
I am currently in yr.12 and doing an assignment on the detractions from attending AFL games at AAMI Stadium. It would help greatly and be much appreciated if you could complete this short questionnaire. Cheers

Which AFL club do you support?
[ ] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

How many AFL games at AAMI Stadium do you attend per year?
[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

Have you ever missed your team’s games at AAMI Stadium due to: (tick all that apply)
[ ] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Crowd too quiet/conservative
[ ] Electric Signage on outer-wing
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Lack of entertainment
[ ] Poor catering/facilities
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:____________________)

Would you rather see your team’s games played at:
[ ] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:_______________________)
Why?

Do you find AAMI Stadium’s new LED signage an annoyance or distraction?
[ ] yes
[ ] no

Is there too much advertising present at AAMI Stadium games?
[ ] yes
[ ] no

Is the Entertainment at AAMI Stadium AFL games adequate?
[ ] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? ____________________________________________________________

Is live television coverage an incentive to stay home?
[ ] yes
[ ] no

Should AAMI Stadium games be broadcast live in SA?
[ ] yes
[ ] no

Figured I may as well fill this out myself!

Hi guys,
I am currently in yr.12 and doing an assignment on the detractions from attending AFL games at AAMI Stadium. It would help greatly and be much appreciated if you could complete this short questionnaire. Cheers

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

Have you ever missed your team’s games at AAMI Stadium due to: (tick all that apply)
[x] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[x] Crowd too quiet/conservative
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[x] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify: Mostly I'm just busy on weekends alot)

[x] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Unless they can upgrade Adelaide Oval to hold more people, I don't see any point is moving to a stadium with less seats just to be more central. What's the point in having a stadium be more convenient if we already sell out our stadium half the time. It would be closer and more central at Adelaide Oval though.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games?
Improved since the 19th man came in, but generally way too quiet unless the Crows are winning or kicking goals. It's not the stadium's fault as much as the people in the stadium - it certainly reverberates when people are actually bothering to cheer.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:_Other commitments__)

[x] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:_New Inner City Multipurpose stadium)
Why?
New city stadium because it would be bigger, better, more accessible and easier to turn into a night out after the game. Alternatively, Adelaide Oval because I'm already a SACA member and the current value for money is terrible, though it would need massive reconstruction of the stands to boost capacity, and that would ruin the feel as a cricket ground.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Subdued

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

It is done

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:______________)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:New city stadium___________)
Why?
Football park is outdated and needs some major renovation, but it would be a waste of money and tax payers money spending it at Football Park because it is poorly located. A larger new city stadium would provide the perfect venue to grow our crowd numbers and membership.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes but the "not so" super screens are far too small
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? conservative, but this issue has more to do with the lack of opposition supporters than anything else.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no[/QUOTE]

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:__I live in QLD!__________________)

[X] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

We've just spent a truck load on a new facility for the club - including a post match venue. Although the stadium needs refurbishment, it is essentially fine.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

Generally too quiet! But this year much better after the inclusion of Rule 19 and the clappers.

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:Working away from Adelaide___)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? _Reasonable to Good______________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no[/quote]

Hi guys,

[ ] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ x] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:I gave my tickets away think I would be out of town... and then wasn't_)

[x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
perceived ease of access and closeness to the city

[ ] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? acceptable

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

done and done!

[Which AFL club do you support?
[x ] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ x] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:NEVER Miss a Game

[ x] AAMI Stadium (Football Park)
[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Because its only a 40 minute walk or a 5 minute drive from my house

[ ] yes
[x ] no

[ ] yes
[x ] no

[ ] yes
[ x] no

We could be louder at times

[ ] yes
[ x] no, not to me

[ ] yes
[x ] no[/QUOTE]

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Because that's where we belong.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Much better than what people perceive it.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[x] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:Only due to late work commitments or something else came up.)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
It's been my footy home ground since the Crows inception.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[x] yes
[] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Depends how we are travelling. The opponent makes a big difference as well. It's great when we are winning but lousy when we are behind.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
AAMI is a good basis for a stadium. However, in this day and age, a stadium for winter sport should have it's stands under cover. Not sure how this would affect the quality of the park with less natural wind and sun. I would ideally prefer a central stadium but would prefer the money to be spent on hospitals schools etc. AAMI can be upgraded for much less I would imagine.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Quiet unless it's a Showdown, final or a close game. The 19th man has helped this season although a lot of people near me complain about that due to it being unsporting.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[x] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Because its where our facilities and new shed, cafes etc are...and we :) (via the SANFL) own it. Perhaps the main drawback is lack of undercover and the low gradient of the seating. The Adelaide Oval is just a much lesser option - the only advantage it has is its central location. A brand new central stadium a la docklands may be better - but cost?? and it must replicate our current Crows facilities. Why move largely to benefit our rivals down the road and disadvantage us at the same time.?

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? ___Reserved except at Showdowns or when umpires are ****ing us over or when the game is close....however, in reality the atmosphere is no different to other clubs matches
[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

I agree with someone else's comments that the 2 "superscreens" are too small...... if we are going to do something then do it properly!

Note that I live in Canberra, so I may not fit the profile of the people you are looking to survey.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[x] Other - whoever is playing Port Adelaide

[x] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel - I love the Crows, but a 2,400km round trip is pushing the boundaries a little
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
I rarely visited Football Park even when I did live in Adelaide. It's a long way from anywhere, with public transport links that aren't exactly great.
I didn't previously attend Crows games though for a different reason - back in 1991-94 (when I did live in Adelaide) the games would regularly sell out, sometimes in less than an hour. I always had the perception that tickets were too hard to obtain. This is no longer the case, but sadly I'm not there to take advantage of this change. Note that the Adelaide Oval would be a great fit for Port right now, but would need to be significantly upgraded in order to meet needs of the Crows larger crowds - assuming this happens, then Adelaide Oval is in an infinitely better location.

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[ ] no
[x] no comment - haven't set foot in the stadium in well over a decade

[ ] yes
[ ] no
[x] no comment - haven't set foot in the stadium in well over a decade

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Used to be great when I watched Norwood beat Port there in the 1993 preliminary final, and the 1994 State of Origin win over the dastardly Victorians. No idea what it's like at Crows games these days.

[x] yes - ANY television coverage is an incentive for me to stay home!
[ ] no

[x] yes - but ONLY for games which are sold out.
[ ] no

[X ] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:____City Stadium or Adelaide Oval______)
Why?
___AAMI Stadium is old and in desperate need of an entire upgrade. Economically it would be cheaper and more feasible to go to Adelaide Oval but my number 1 preference would be a city based stadium. ____________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? ___
____Improving but far from fantastic. ________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[] no

Done

Hey everyone,

I'm posting on behalf of Texas Tippett, a new member who has recently signed up but can not yet start his own topics. He has a year 12 project which involves him taking a survey of SA footy fans about their attendance or not of AAMI Stadium. If you guys could fill out his survey he would great appreciate it :) His message and survey are below.

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
its our home ground, training facilities, shed etc are all there.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Pretty dodgy before the games, tilli clapham is heaps annoying and doesn't add anything... during the games its ok if we are winning of if it is close but other than that very quiet.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

there you go

Hey everyone,

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[x] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Nothing wrong with the ground, just not easily accesible. A light rail from the city or link up with Grange should do the job.___________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Depending on where you sit, if im sitting with a group of mates knocking a few coldies back its fine.___________________________________________________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Hope this helps

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[X] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? ____________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

Good luck in your studies mate

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:Work)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
It's a Stadium built by football for football. The SANFL owns the grounds, and you only have to look at the issues the AFL are currently having with Etihad Stadium that selling something you own to effectively move into a rental property will ultimately be detrimental to the game.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Since the introduction of the 19th rule, the atmosphere has improved greatly.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:____Weather________________)

[x] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Easier to get to, also more pubs to go after.____________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

They should bring back SANFL curtain raisers.

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? _Pretty good.___________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
[x] Other (please specify: AFL continuing to schedule Crows games on days like Mothers day)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Why?
Just a note on this a City Stadium is not the answer to all problems, anyone who has tried to get a car park for a international cricket match at Adelaide Oval knows what I mean.

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Too quiet most of the time.

[ ] yes
[x] no
NB: Not for me, but I can see that it would be for others

[ ] yes
[x] no

Done.

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[x] 13
[ ] 14-22
Depending on how many crows games are there, likely to be 13 this year, but could only be 12
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:Couldnt be ****ed buying tickets, and playing myself, clashed with north Adelaide, (before I got season tickets this year)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:)
Why?
It pisses off Port fans, It's where our Headquaters are set, and there is no need to go anywhere else.

But I would follow the team anywhere from Elizabeth to Nourlunga to see home games
[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? eh. I've been to worse (Sydney games)

[ ] yes
[x] no
Well not for me, but it's understandable if for others

[x] yes
[ ] no
but ONLY if sold out
reply in quote :)

Hey everyone,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[x] Too far to travel
[x] Parking
[ ] No interest

[x] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:___A new city stadium__________________)
Why?
Adelaide oval would be nice redeveloped but a new Stadium ala Ethiad would be great but pigs may fly as well.____________________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Better since the 19th man was introduced ____________________________________________________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

Done.

[X] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ ] 1-12
[ ] 13
[X] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:)

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify: New Stadium in CBD)
Why?
Redeveloping AAMI Stadium is wallpaper over cracks. Time to invest in a multi-purpose stadium that is a long term solution for sporting/entertainment in SA for the next 25-30 years. Won't happen though due to the current economic climate.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Pretty poor in general. Just do a visual scan of the stadium and you see many grey-haired patrons. Compared to the atmosphere of sporting events attended overseas, the AFL, especially at AAMI falls well behind. There needs to be a dramatic culture shift within the Australian Rules community to improve this situation.

[ ] yes
[X] no

[ ] yes
[X] no

Hey everyone,

Hi guys,

[X ] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[ X] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[X ] Would rather watch it on TV
[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ X] Too far to travel
[ X] Poor catering/facilities
[ X] Parking
[ ] No interest
Other (please specify:__The stadium is rubbish__________________)

[ X] Adelaide Oval
Why?
_More convenient, more central, much much nicer, more comfortable___________________________________________________________
________M____________________________________________________

[ ] yes
[X ] no

[ ] yes
[ ] no
[X] Don't mind.

[ ] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Depends on whether we're winning or not - I think the 19th man thing has been pretty useful, but it could still be better.____________________________________________________________

[X ] yes
[ ] no

[ ] yes
[X ] no

Done :D

Hey everyone,

Hi guys,

[x] Adelaide
[ ] Port Adelaide
[ ] Other

[ ] 0
[x] 1-12
[ ] 13
[ ] 14-22

[ ] Crowd too loud/rowdy
[ ] Commercialisation
[ ] Too far to travel
[ ] Parking
[ ] No interest

[ ] Adelaide Oval
Other (please specify:_A New City Stadium_)
Why?
But I dont think this is possible due to the over capitalisation (imo) of AAMI

[ ] yes
[x] no

[ ] yes
[x] no

[x] yes
[ ] no

How would you describe the overall atmosphere at AAMI Stadium games? Not Bad__________________________________________________________

[x] yes
[ ] no

[x] yes
[ ] no
There ugo