Opinion Best 23 Pre Trade/Draft - Season 2024

If we don’t secure any borderline A graders during the trade period, I would really really like to see Scott do something a bit different and not focus so much on a plan and a system but do some attitude style coaching.

Since he came on board he has generally played his role as being a manoeuvrer of chess pieces and giving those pieces jobs to do and it has worked a treat. He’s identified what players can perform what tasks and for the most part it has worked and he has built game plans around that. For the time being we may not have enough pieces that can do those jobs, though.

So I’d like to see us in that scenario have an approach where we just go out and in rugby league parlance, ‘rip and tear.’ We’ve got two elite key forwards and a borderline elite third target in Henry, and two more quality goal scorers in Rohan and Stengle. We have two guys who are exceptional at delivering the ball to them when they have it in Miers and Duncan. If the rest of the squad just had a huge off season and pre-season and just played pressure-driven, manic football to get the ball forward of centre into those positions, and manic footy when the opposition have the ball, I think it could be effective.

If we don’t secure any borderline A graders during the trade period, I would really really like to see Scott do something a bit different and not focus so much on a plan and a system but do some attitude style coaching.

Since he came on board he has generally played his role as being a manoeuvrer of chess pieces and giving those pieces jobs to do and it has worked a treat. He’s identified what players can perform what tasks and for the most part it has worked and he has built game plans around that. For the time being we may not have enough pieces that can do those jobs, though.

So I’d like to see us in that scenario have an approach where we just go out and in rugby league parlance, ‘rip and tear.’ We’ve got two elite key forwards and a borderline elite third target in Henry, and two more quality goal scorers in Rohan and Stengle. We have two guys who are exceptional at delivering the ball to them when they have it in Miers and Duncan. If the rest of the squad just had a huge off season and pre-season and just played pressure-driven, manic football to get the ball forward of centre into those positions, and manic footy when the opposition have the ball, I think it could be effective.
And get a decent tap ruckman. Delist Stanley. I have watched us try to develop second/third effort ruck types who end up getting the pill like that, and most of the time butchering it, because they aren't really skilled like mids. Would prefer an actual ruckman who can actually tap it to a mid who then actually does something with it. Imagine us getting it from the ruck and additional 3-4 times a quarter.

The thing with our injuries this year is at least none of them are super long term unlike others (ashcroft, melksham). Everyone should get a full pre-season even Henry

In some ways this is what we did in 2022 if you listen to Scott and others in that "Relentless" mini documentary. Of course it only worked by having a few more mobile and dynamic players in their position (SDK, Holmes, Stengle...then Close and Miers breaking out as hard running link players), a fully fit Cameron and moves to freshen up our two midfield veteran stars (Blicavs and Atkins as permanent defensive midfielders). A manageable injury run was another factor.

This season there were flashes of it but it never seemed possible to sustain it for more than a quarter at a time. Fitness looked lacking and confidence waned, while cohesion was rarely allowed to build up. But I'd like to think with a massive pre season and a fire lit under them they could get back closer to that game style next season. Some fresh impetus by Dempsey, Knevitt and co would be helpful too.

Given the whole team looked unfit in 23, hard to know which blokes are cooked and which ones just need a good pre-season.

B: Kolodjashnij - De Koning - O’Connor
HB: Z. Guthrie - Henry - Stewart
C: Holmes - Atkins - Duncan
HF: Miers - Cameron - Close
F: Stengle - Hawkins - O. Henry
R: Stanley - C. Guthrie - Dangerfield
I: Rohan - Blicavs - Mullin - Bruhn
Sub: Bowes

This is assuming everyone actually has a crack over the pre-season. I think Bews and Tuohy might be relegated to depth, and Conway not ready. Neale unlucky, need to find a way to get him games.

I’m certain Jhye Clark will be in the side by seasons end.

FB: J. BEWS, E. RATUGOLEA, Z. GUTHRIE
HB: J. BOWES, S. DE KONING, T. STEWART
C: M. HOLMES, P. DANGERFIELD, M. DUNCAN
HF: G. MIERS, J. CAMERON, B. CLOSE
FF: O. HENRY, T. HAWKINS, T. STENGLE
1R: R. STANLEY, M. BLICAVS, C. GUTHRIE

INT: T. BRUHN, T. ATKINS, J. HENRY, G. ROHAN

Missing out:
M. O'CONNOR, B. PARFITT, J. KOLODJASHNIJ, T. CONWAY, Z. TUOHY, J. CLARK, T. CLOHESY, M. KNEVITT, O. MULLIN, S. NEALE, S. SIMPSON.

Missing out:
M. O'CONNOR, B. PARFITT, J. KOLODJASHNIJ, T. CONWAY, Z. TUOHY, J. CLARK, T. CLOHESY, M. KNEVITT, O. MULLIN, S. NEALE, S. SIMPSON.
Ratugolea?
Surely he takes up the Port or Hawks offer?
I'd love to keep him, but am resigned to losing him now.

Missing out:
Dempsey delisted?

Sav stays?

And get a decent tap ruckman. Delist Stanley. I have watched us try to develop second/third effort ruck types who end up getting the pill like that, and most of the time butchering it, because they aren't really skilled like mids. Would prefer an actual ruckman who can actually tap it to a mid who then actually does something with it. Imagine us getting it from the ruck and additional 3-4 times a quarter.

The problem is theres no one who fits that bill on the market this year besides grundy.

Missing out:

Sav wont play for geelong again.

I honestly can't see us making finals next year in 2024.. yes we had a bad run of Injuries but our midfield is well and truly below par.. our better midfielders are all above 30. Dangerfield, Guthrie, Bitz, Duncan, ( only Atkins isn't over 30 )
We just don't have that fair dinkum star ⭐️ players like so many other clubs have...
We have potential players, in Holmes, Knevitt, Clark, Bruhn etc, butif you ask all the other clubs they all think there kids have huge potential too.
We need someone huge in this trade period, but the chances of that would be less than 10%

I honestly can't see us making finals next year in 2024.. yes we had a bad run of Injuries but our midfield is well and truly below par.. our better midfielders are all above 30. Dangerfield, Guthrie, Bitz, Duncan, ( only Atkins isn't over 30 )
We just don't have that fair dinkum star ⭐️ players like so many other clubs have...
We have potential players, in Holmes, Knevitt, Clark, Bruhn etc, butif you ask all the other clubs they all think there kids have huge potential too.
We need someone huge in this trade period, but the chances of that would be less than 10%

I'm probably in the same boat, but I genuinely don't feel as bad as I did about it a month ago.

We still have some quality kids coming through, and our immediate flag opponents are aging too.

I would imagine next year will be the final year we try for the flag, and then go into the mini rebuild with a huge reset going into 2025 and shedding another 6 or so Premiership players.

For mine, this is where I see our Best 23 end of next year, and what's interesting, is that a lot of it is made up by youth rather than the 'oldies':

B: J. Henry, SDK, Duncan
HB: Stewart, Kolo, Zuthrie
C: Holmes, T. Atkins, Bowes
FO: Conway, Danger, C. Guthrie
HF: O. Henry, J. Cameron, Miers
F: Rohan, Hawkins, Stengle
INT: Stanley, Close, Blics, Bruhn
Sub: J. Clark

EMG: Tuohy, Knevitt, S. Neale, O'Connor

Depth - Dempsey, Parfitt, Bews, Clohesy, Mullin

It really comes down to internal improvement for mine, as I reckon all of those in my emergency and depth list 25 or under, really showed a bit in that final game against the Dogs.

When you initially saw the 2016 draft it looked ok due to Parf and Stewart, but nothing overly special. Now when you look at it, 6 of our Best 23 this year came from that draft alone - but some of them took time.

Whatever happens though, it's certainly going to be a very interesting year - given it'll be the first full pre-season they've had in nearly a decade, and the balance between youth/experience as the transition really begins.

I'm probably in the same boat, but I genuinely don't feel as bad as I did about it a month ago.

We still have some quality kids coming through, and our immediate flag opponents are aging too.

I would imagine next year will be the final year we try for the flag, and then go into the mini rebuild with a huge reset going into 2025 and shedding another 6 or so Premiership players.

For mine, this is where I see our Best 23 end of next year, and what's interesting, is that a lot of it is made up by youth rather than the 'oldies':

B: J. Henry, SDK, Duncan
C: Holmes, T. Atkins, Bowes
FO: Conway, Danger, C. Guthrie
F: Rohan, Hawkins, Stengle
INT: Stanley, Close, Blics, Bruhn

EMG: Tuohy, Knevitt, S. Neale, O'Connor

Depth - Dempsey, Parfitt, Bews, Clohesy, Mullin

It really comes down to internal improvement for mine, as I reckon all of those in my emergency and depth list 25 or under, really showed a bit in that final game against the Dogs.

When you initially saw the 2016 draft it looked ok due to Parf and Stewart, but nothing overly special. Now when you look at it, 6 of our Best 23 this year came from that draft alone - but some of them took time.

Whatever happens though, it's certainly going to be a very interesting year - given it'll be the first full pre-season they've had in nearly a decade, and the balance between youth/experience as the transition really begins.
I agree... and my concern is the midfield age between 25-29..
We have 1 player who is a regular 1s and thats Atkins, the other is Parfitt, hopefully he can return to his for from 2 years back, but he needs to take a huge step again to be better than that, as he needs to get even better.
We shouldn't have to rely on the Guthrie and Dangerfield and Hawkins etc as they been great players for years.. i hope the guys like Bruhn and Knevitt and Clark can be the guns of years to come... but again... its that huge gap between Guthrie Dangerfield etc to Bruhn Knevitt etc

Everyone who puts Conway in the best 22 next year as first choice ruck is being taken off my Christmas card list.

B: Bews, SDK, J. Henry
C: Holmes, Blics, Bowes
FO: Conway (First choice ruck), Guthrie, Danger
F: Stengle, Hawkins, Close
INT: T. Atkins, Bruhn, Duncan, Tuohy

EMG: Conway, S. Neale, O'Connor, Parfitt

Next up depth - Knevitt, Dempsey, 2023 Pick 7, Riccardi, Clohesy, Mullin

B: Bews, SDK, J. Henry
C: Holmes, Blics, Bowes
FO: Conway (First choice ruck), Guthrie, Danger
F: Stengle, Hawkins, Close
INT: T. Atkins, Bruhn, Duncan, Tuohy

EMG: Conway, S. Neale, O'Connor, Parfitt

Next up depth - Knevitt, Dempsey, 2023 Pick 7, Riccardi, Clohesy, Mullin
On the fence there with Conway, in and emergency?

Opinion Best 23 Pre Trade/Draft - Season 2024