News Bling to Adelaide???

In regards to Richie off to adelaide, to me the Bock compo pick seems alot like we would be losing out if we did that asa straight swap, to come out fair i reckon would be Richie + 3rd rounder for Bock compo pick and 2nd rounder!

Adelaide get bling and slide a couple places effectivley from the mid 2nd round to early 3rd and we get 2 picks that if were used this year would be around 26/29 and 34/36!

Does that sound fair to both parties?

are you kidding, that compo pick is effectively a top 20 selection, for a fella that is a shot duck at afl level, it's remarkable currency

Yeh your right it is a top 20 selection.......in 2012!
If the club plans on useing it this year or even next year its a mid to late 20's pick!

Personally i couldnt care when we use it but if its this year or next it could be favouring Adelaide in a big way IMO.

If we can get a pick in the mid twenties or below we have done well.

For a player that has only performed in the last half of 2009.

Bling is a walking medical dictionary of complaints.

Just cut our losses and draft a player that can stay on the field and get the football.

People keep mentioning his upside; he has been in the system for 6 years and not shown a glimpse

Was mentioned on another thread by an Essenscum (IIRC) supporter that up to 9 clubs are chasing Bling with WCE leading the race.. Supposedly reported on SEN (bad sauce :)). Wonder what WC could offer us?? Schuey anyone? :) ;)

I have heard from my mate in Perth that priddus for tambling and a sweetner. Sen also mentioned this tonight.

Bling is a defender only. Has played about 1 good game up forward in his career. Played forward for the whole 2010 pretty much
When Tambling gets the body right and has a preseason or 2 under his belt he will be able to play anywhere. i remember swan, goddard, hodge, montana, lake and believe it or not if you go back far enough bartel all had there critics, they shook off their form, injury, personal issues or whatever and KABOOM, BLING is just taking a bit longer thats all.

If we can get a pick in the mid twenties or below we have done well.

For a player that has only performed in the last half of 2009.

Bling is a walking medical dictionary of complaints.

Just cut our losses and draft a player that can stay on the field and get the football.

People keep mentioning his upside; he has been in the system for 6 years and not shown a glimpse

Sorry for picking on you Thinster.
This post is the logic that gets to me.

- "performed in the last half of 2009"
- "he has been in the system for 6 years and not shown a glimpse"

He has shown lots of glimpses of real class, and one long sustained spell of top class performance. That means he has 'it'. But he also has a very long list of major problems with his hips/legs, confidence. To me we know he had bucket loads of talent, but whether he can stay on the field is the problem.
People who don't like Bling, that's OK. But be consistent. He has shown heaps, and is also a real worry about whether his career is over. If the Tiges know he is 50% + to be gone then get as good a pick as you can.
That's good list management.

Dropping him because you are frustrated by his on again off again performance is just stupid. There are many players that showed bits, had a few injuries then became class from their mid twenties.

Sorry for picking on you Thinster.
This post is the logic that gets to me.

- "performed in the last half of 2009"
- "he has been in the system for 6 years and not shown a glimpse"

He has shown lots of glimpses of real class, and one long sustained spell of top class performance. That means he has 'it'. But he also has a very long list of major problems with his hips/legs, confidence. To me we know he had bucket loads of talent, but whether he can stay on the field is the problem.
People who don't like Bling, that's OK. But be consistent. He has shown heaps, and is also a real worry about whether his career is over. If the Tiges know he is 50% + to be gone then get as good a pick as you can.
That's good list management.

Dropping him because you are frustrated by his on again off again performance is just stupid. There are many players that showed bits, had a few injuries then became class from their mid twenties.

Tambling performance in the last half of 2009 was an improvement on what he had delivered before.

However it was not stellar by any means, it was a solid performance and on the HBF.

He has failed to adapt to any other position he has been tasked to do.

Richmond HBF after the 2010 season seems to be settled with Delidio, Newman and Connors filling the role Tambling could do.

Many people say he is a star and use the comparison of Goddard and Hodge who where late developers.

I should have expanded on the statement "he has been in the system for 6 years and not shown a glimpse" to reflect comparing him to Goddard and Hodge was erroneous.

A change of clubs for Tambling can only be for the better; as he will not have the inferred Franklin selection to deal with.

Every time I read a proposed trade thread it makes me want to stab out my eyes and run down Punt Road screaming.

LMAO.....when you do it man, make sure you set up a camera and tape the footage, you can make some serious money releasing it as a horror doco...

Opening scene, there is Spluff as a normal dude going along life, not caring about much, pretty laid back etc etc. Then one day he is sucked into the yellow and black and slowly we see his life turn into this rabble. He never smoked, he never drank he was a peaceful dude. Now a deshevelled shell of a man, with a smoke hanging out of his mouth, a half bottle of scotch on his right, a floor full of empties along with used needles and a dingy, damp smoked filled place. There he is tearing his hair out day in day out, looking for some kind of vision from BF. All of a sudden one day its to much, he takes a pair of scissors and stabs both his eyes out, just after ringing a cab to take him to Punt Rd. But alas, as he tries to get across Punt Rd, screaming his head off, blood squirting out of his eyes, he hears the screeching of air brakes as a fully laden semi mows him down just as he is about to get to the footpath. Last scene is this clenched fist at the end of a crushed, mangled and unrecognisable body. ;)

pick 100 would be a good trade, just get him out the door

No, that would not be a good trade.... get the best offer you can get for him compared to Adelaide's compo or keep him. He can play at Coburg if needs be.... they will be missing McMahon!!!

Get Adelaide's compo (if we want to use it in 2 years time) or anything higher...nothing lower

I think it will be pick 28 and Tambling for Pick 14.

After hearing what Craig Cameron had to say in that Youtube video, even if the end result isn't EXACTLY like this deal, I think it'll be pretty similar.

I reckon any trades we do involving our players will involve a pick upgrade. Given we might only have 4-5 draft selections this year we might be done before Pick 50.

I think it will be pick 28 and Tambling for Pick 14.

Adelaide wont be trading pick 14 for Tambling and I would say our 2nd round pick will be for Jacobs

this leaves our Bock compo pick and maybe a player like Sellar or Cook as a sweetner if needed

Given Adelaide are intersted in Tambling and Jacobs, Richmond are interested in Grigg and getting decent picks or players for Tambling & Thursfield and Carlton want to be compensated for losing a couple of kids they have put a few years of development into I'm wondering if all 3 could get together and work out a three team trade.

Looking at what each offers it could mean something like the following:

Richmond loses Tambling Thursfield & 28. Gain Grigg 14 & 18
Carlton loses Grigg Jacobs & 18. Gain Thursfield, Bock compo pick, Tigers second round pick
Adelaide loses 14 & Bock compo pick. Gains Tambling & Jacobs.

To get this done would probably require 2 seperate deals being done

Now I know some will say that this is too much in Richmonds favour but let me explain my thinking.

Richmond are losing 2 players who when fit are both part of our best 22, both are still contracted so obviously will require a good deal to get us to part with them. Given this is a compromised draft, these picks are equal to late first round picks in a normal draft year. In other words we're not going to get superstars with these picks but we should get 2 fairly handy players.

While Carlton are giving up their first round pick, which in a normal draft would be equal to a early second round pick, it should be pointed out that they are getting a KPD who should slot into the best 22 from round 1 next year. At the same time they are dropping down all of 8 spots in the draft and would still have 2 picks inside the top 30.

Adelaide are losing their first 2 picks this year but are getting 2 players that all things being equal would fit straight into their best 22 at the start of next season as well. Jacobs would be partnering Maric in the ruck, while Tambling, who has 100 games of experience, could easily fill one of the HB spots vacated by McLeod or Goodwin. I'd also like to point out that pick 26 for Jacobs is equal to last years Mumford trade where the Swans gave up a similar pick.
Wanted to bump this for discussion again, especially with trade week beginning tomorrow, as I think plenty may have missed it last week as I didn't get the abuse that I thought I would.