Review Cats drop Bombers by 45 at MCG

Neale needs to start developing in the afl to be an afl forward. His marking hasn't been great but his ground level work has been good. Should be more than enough for him to earn his spot and he'll build from there
This.
He took a ripper in front of goal, gets to the contest just out of position sometimes but he is only going to improve the more time he has at AFL level.

Can anyone tell me what the Tom Willis award is? Connection of the name?

Best on ground in the "Country Match"

I remember back in 2021 when we defeated Essendon down at KP - very similar scoreline, 98 def 57

Parish was given the award for his 43 disposals, 13 clearances & 1 goal, in his team's 41 point loss

Same match, Dangerfield had 37 disposals, 11 marks, 11 clearances and 1 goal

But those 6 extra disposals in that 41 point loss seemingly made all the difference when voting for the best on

There's no doubt Parish was best for Essendon, but others had far bigger influence on the match

Thoughts on a few players:

Bowes is an enigma. His best 5 or so games this season have been good, or at least the standard expected of a 26 year old with decent ability. But he's also had a handful of poor ones. Runs very hot and cold. When he's "on" we look alright.

"Dangerfield is a poor leader" got another serving of evidence to the contrary tonight. Inspirational and turned the tide with the tough 50/50s or 30/70s he won.

Henry went from diabolical to solid, a real game of two halves. It made a difference.

Some of the veterans really steadied and stood up in different ways. Duncan with his ball use and decision making, Tuohy with his rebounding and intercepting, Blicavs with those 1%ers and desperate efforts he used to fill every game with. Rohan as a dynamic force that seemed to make our whole forward line tick for the first time in ages.

It was good to see the return of Messi after an extended form reversion.

Dempsey: what an excitement machine.

Atkins was frustrating with ball in hand but man he cracked in and did a good job on Merrett, while staying involved in the play himself.

Our tackles started sticking and hunt for the footy, thirst for the contest and spark to take the game on grew as the game advanced. That was pleasing. Things turned from frustrating to satisfying.

Our season has a pulse once again. But we have to put in some strong performances over the next few weeks to use this as a platform for a finals assault. It's pointless if we get rolled next week.

Its lovely reflecting on the fact I’ve watched us win 4 flags, have had 3 children etc etc since they last played a finals game.
Is one called Dallas jnr.
One called Debbie jnr.
:moustache: :roflv1:.

How's that.
Art Vandelay_

Ok I'll stop now.
Stop It Neil Patrick Harris GIF

Its lovely reflecting on the fact I’ve watched us win 4 flags, have had 3 children etc etc since they last played a finals game.
I have finished 5 years of high school, taken a gap year, finished a degree and now paid a decade of hecs debt since they lost won a final.

We've also seen every iPhone release since their last win in September.

I have finished 5 years of high school, taken a gap year, finished a degree and now paid a decade of hecs debt since they lost won a final.

We've also seen every iPhone release since their last win in September.
Their run is older than Facebook or YouTube. Google was 6 years old.

George Bush was in his first term, and the invasion of Iraq was a year old.

Watched the reply. Few comments

I am not convinced Essendon is a Top 8 team despite the ladder - still have only beaten 1 Top 8 team (we have now beaten 2 - unless Essendon drop out of finals like I think they will!). We only play 2 more top 8 teams for the rest of the year so we really are not going to get a feel for how far off we are until finals!

But, it was still a good win

1. Winging about umpires…really. 2E effort should have been free kick against sure…but the “missed holding the balls” that commentators pointed out where all knocked out in tackle so correct decisions not to be holding the ball and the rushed behind was pure definition of not under pressure - correct decision

2. Love the big bodies in the MF but with some power (as opposed to dour like Blitz). Lets see how it goes against Hawks - we may be on to something

3. Having Blitz and Danger going forward periodically also smart. I can actually see us going “small ball” at some stage (ie. O Henry in for Neale) given Rohan and Henry crash packs supported by pinch hitting from Blitz and Danger

4. I was wrong about 2E. I made an early call when he left his forward run to ball with no defence…but the role he played as a lose back (we have Stewart and others rolling back) was actually inspired. I have been critical of 2E as his lack of defensive running leaves holes (along with Duncan and Blitz) that make us too easy to score against. Moving him from wing was inspired. I would have moved him out of team but he was critical tonight in defence but also rebound

5. Duncan also good. If we can free him up he is damaging

6. Blitz may not have dominated but I thought his best impact of the year. Not sure much in ruck but going forward and also the 1%. If he can keep improving that critical to us

7. Reckon we rely on Danger more than any other team relies on a player. Even when he gets less than 20 possessions. I loved how animated (happy!) he was with Dempsey’s soccer goal…that is a joyful side of him I haven’t seen

8. Knevitt was huge on the wing. I noted at half time that despite only 4 possessions his gut running was important. He got some reward in the last half. Given he is an option for a centre bounce here and there and he can run (and mark), he is a much better wing option that 2E or Blitz

9. Neale was dynamic. Still lots of development but something to work with. As I said earlier, I won’t be surprised though if we go smaller with O Henry - and rotate Danger and Blitz forward

10. Rohan - best game of the year. Won’t be sub next week!

11. On the “older guys” what we really need though is for Rohan, Duncan and 2E to back it up next week. Let’s see

12. Bowes I think needs to be in MF or sub. Other roles don’t seem to work for him. He is 26 and we need him to do tonight’s game every week

13. Lawson. Have been watching VFL and I am not surprised it translated into AFL. He is just a pure footballer. Hopefully no second game blues next week

14. Dempsey! Despite my high expectations, I keep getting surprised. Looking back on his journey is quite important. A poster asked during the game whether he is now our best player. Sure, that is getting caught up in the emotion of the game…but he I think is certainly our smartest player (and Miers set a very high bar!)

Overall, good game to watch back. We withheld being dominated for a lot of 2nd qtr with some gutsy defending…but then put them to the sword. Hawks will not be an easy game given their form and then Collingwood. Next two weeks could determine Top 4 for us which is quite phenomenal to be honest.

Dempsey is a phenomenal runner and covered so much ground. Same with Knevitt. Feel a bit sorry for Knevitt as he plays a different role at VFL level.

Humphries runs to good spots. He won't always gets the ball but he forces his opponent to defend. Super impressed with his feel for the game.

I think Stewart in the midfield is worth persisting with. He still spent time in defence. We need to see him in the midfield in a game that is not wet.

So can anyone tell me what happened for us not to contest the throw in that resulted in a goal? Did we just not have a ruck in the area?
It is the most ridiculous rule going around 🙄.. WTF do you have to nominate who is going up in the ruck?
It's not bloody Auskick Football. The rule needs to be scrapped

Very pleasing win. Who knows where we are at, but a win v Hawks next week will do wonders for our supporters, ladder position and confidence going forward
V Hawks next week is probably one of the more important clashes between the 2 clubs in a while
Hawks form has been very good

It is the most ridiculous rule going around 🙄.. WTF do you have to nominate who is going up in the ruck?
It's not bloody Auskick Football. The rule needs to be scrapped
It does show that SDK may not have the aerobic capacity to play the position just yet.
Having said that I thought he held his ground ok v more experienced rucks

Dempsey is a phenomenal runner and covered so much ground. Same with Knevitt. Feel a bit sorry for Knevitt as he plays a different role at VFL level.

Humphries runs to good spots. He won't always gets the ball but he forces his opponent to defend. Super impressed with his feel for the game.

I think Stewart in the midfield is worth persisting with. He still spent time in defence. We need to see him in the midfield in a game that is not wet.
I don't mind the idea of alternating Holmes and Stewart between midfield and half back (i.e one swaps with the other) in-game. Maybe that becomes a rotation that can give us an edge. And it's harder to clamp down on either, or for them to get stale/jaded when we're under the pump if they have some positional flexibility.

I somehow forgot to mention Humpries in my player summaries. I loved his game. Has to play every game for the rest of the season now.

Review Cats drop Bombers by 45 at MCG