- Aug 18, 2018
- AFL Club
- Geelong
I'm not ready to open these woundsDon't worry mate... im still ropeable that we got rid of Chook Constable... He would of won a Brownlow for Geelong this year if he was still playing![]()
![]()
LIVE: Essendon v Port Adelaide - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Bombers at 53% chance -- What's your tip? -- Team line-ups »
Supercoach Round 3 SC Talk - Round 3 Trades ,//, AFL Fantasy Round 2 AF Talk - Round 3 AF Trades
LIVE: Essendon v Port Adelaide - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Bombers at 53% chance -- What's your tip? -- Team line-ups »
I'm not ready to open these woundsDon't worry mate... im still ropeable that we got rid of Chook Constable... He would of won a Brownlow for Geelong this year if he was still playing![]()
![]()
Where did he go?
Perth demons and works B2B sales for BreightWhere did he go?
Playing over in the WAFL.. his captain of the club, same team where Parfitt is playing and Schlensog . Perth FCWhere did he go?
This legal thing is the reason he's not playing?Guthrie is basically retired at this point (for all intents and purposes) but still on the list.
Bruhn depends on the legal stuff which we may not know until next year.
what improvements to our very average MF would you makeIt's such a bummer that we flushed 4 points down the toilet by not turning up and our coach thinking that playing a VFL midfield while Danger picked his nose and did nothing in the forward line was going to get it done.
Rest everyone next week and prep for R4 onwards.
Stanley wasn't any faster or slower last year or in 2022, and Marshall was barely a pace king last night.
Meanwhile English is a massive runner and he has been dire.
Sometimes you just need a bigger body in the middle, especially since Stanley can bring it to ground help stop the easy exit.
What is it with you and knevitt. He was far from our worst player on the night. Surely you can see he did some good things but you seem to think we have much better options not getting a gameWe can’t play at marvel.
Too much panic and lack of composure at the end.
Probably the worst first half in a long time, everything we did from the first min just screamed we were off.
No more knevitt. We’re not serious if he’s in our squad.
COS and Clohesy are finds and should stay in
This legal thing is the reason he's not playing?
No finger surgery?
Is it a club decision to cease playing him until it's all over?
I haven't heard much about this at all.
Realistically? Not much.what improvements to our very average MF would you make
- with the absence of-
Smith, Bruhn and CGuthrie
- with the age of -
Danger and Duncan?
The issue was raised pre game, and during the week.
We are scarily poor in that area, with only 1 decent player in Holmes- who is easily tagged.
We have other strengths, like Backs and forwards, but overall, relying on Danger to back up after a big game is not on, and Smith is way too precious to rely on.
Now with Stewart out maybe for a month, it could be a lean few weeks.
All good points,Realistically? Not much.
With Mannagh back, you can send him and Miers/Close up to stoppages, but it only really works post centre bounces.
It's a band-aid option, and even still, it's going to be far more effective if Smith and Stewart are available.
In your scenario with no Stewart, Smith, Cuthrie, or Bruhn...an adjustment of expectations and a few prayers are probably the best course of action. Hopefully we're not dealing with that one often, if at all.
Longer term, either we're good enough that a Rowell, Butters etc want to sign, or we're poor enough that we're able to pick up a quality first round midfielder.
I’m on board the Clark train. Did some excellent work against the Saints with only 66% game time. I wonder if it’s because he doesn’t have the tank or are they managing his minutes?I'm still trying to get over my embarrassment at saying we would be getting a 70% version of Patrick Cripps in Chook Constable.
If you want a new premise I'll give you one that may sink my credibility in the future - Jhye Clark can be a good as Zach Merrett if he ever builds the tank to play full games at high intensity
There. I said it. I am ready for my wake up call
Realistically? Not much.
With Mannagh back, you can send him and Miers/Close up to stoppages, but it only really works post centre bounces.
It's a band-aid option, and even still, it's going to be far more effective if Smith and Stewart are available.
In your scenario with no Stewart, Smith, Cuthrie, or Bruhn...an adjustment of expectations and a few prayers are probably the best course of action. Hopefully we're not dealing with that one often, if at all.
Longer term, either we're good enough that a Rowell, Butters etc want to sign, or we're poor enough that we're able to pick up a quality first round midfielder.
I’m on board the Clark train. Did some excellent work against the Saints with only 66% game time. I wonder if it’s because he doesn’t have the tank or are they managing his minutes?
He had a navicular injury in his first year and this year is probably his first clean run at things. I remember Scotty saying something along the lines that Jhye had to be protected from himself (like Smith) because he pushes himself too hard.
Either way, developing player who’s had a rough entry into AFL, absolutely has the skills to be an elite player.
No finger surgery?
I haven't heard much about this at ala
No finger surgery?
I haven't heard much abou
AFL have ruled him out till case is resolved so he won't be playing for quite some timeThis legal thing is the reason he's not playing?
No finger surgery?
I haven't heard much about this at all.
He clearly doesn't have the tank as his body was underdeveloped when drafted and he's had injuries. The thing is whether we think he can develop the tank or it will never improve like Charlie constable. If he can improve it we have a 200 gamer as he's class.
Playing over in the WAFL.. his captain of the club, same team where Parfitt is playing and Schlensog . Perth FC
By 25 he'll be much bigger, stronger and fitter than he is now. He'll be AFL quality. The question is whether that's as a handy 3rd-5th midfielder like Atkins or his smarts let him become a gun in the Bartel mould (he was still playing VFL at the same point in his career).
Yeah, he got to be able to run to get those and I dunno if he's doing that by end of seasonI think he will be racking up 20 disposals per game by the end of the season. He needs to do what Guthrie and Holmes do and demand the footy more in the defensive back half. At the moment, he is earning every single disposal. The best midfielders are always good for 10 or so 'nothing possessions'.
Interesting to look back at the draft profiles on Jyhe. None of them listed endurance as a weakness. The weakness was his speed. It left me wondering whether any issues related to his endurance are more about his injuries, either directly impacting or indirectly in limiting his ability to develop his aerobic capacity from training. I am confident that with a clean run at it he will develop it.He clearly doesn't have the tank as his body was underdeveloped when drafted and he's had injuries. The thing is whether we think he can develop the tank or it will never improve like Charlie constable. If he can improve it we have a 200 gamer as he's class.
Yep, exactly. I remember Dermott Brereton making a similar point about Ben Graham in the early 2000s - saying that one thing that shows him up as a defender-turned-forward is that he couldn't just get those five or so easy "cheapies" to keep himself involved in the game up forward.I think he will be racking up 20 disposals per game by the end of the season. He needs to do what Guthrie and Holmes do and demand the footy more in the defensive back half. At the moment, he is earning every single disposal. The best midfielders are always good for 10 or so 'nothing possessions'.
We are all trying to not break the suppression order (despite the leak online this week) so we are stepping around it but yes he is not playing due to the legal issue. We will know more in June once a prelim hearing as to whether he will be back or not.
Club can't make any further comment really without breaching the suppression order.