cats weakness

my friend and i were discussing geelong at work today and he sent me this email below. I think he is full of it, what do you all think?

Cats weaknesses……..

1 Go the player before the Ball

2 CHB – Harry Taylor…..Kepler Bradley is better

3 CHF??? Who….Lonergan….yeah right

my friend and i were discussing geelong at work today and he sent me this email below. I think he is full of it, what do you all think?

Cats weaknesses……..

Both Taylor and Lonergan are very good, under rated players.

I don't get it?? Do you target Taylor? Theres no game plan???

Taylor > Bradley

But if they pull that tactic against the Hawks they'll learn the hard way to respect Roughead and Mark Williams.

We don't have a Stephen Milne "MIA Finals" type as we proved against the dogs.

Massive insight there.. you guys should get jobs at AFL clubs

i dont agree with him im just trying to get some other opinions so i can get some work done, he is an essendon supporter by the way

They do the simple things better than anyone else.

They back each other up, they know where their teammate is when under pressure. You can't beat a team thats gelled together over x amount of years with a sound gameplan and the perfection at doing the basics. And attitude, they know what they want.

Cats weaknesses……..

1. Haven't several teams tried that, such as Port Adelaide? That worked out well ...

2. Are you kidding?

3. Lonergan has been serviceable, but this almost plays to one of the Cats strengths which is they don't rely on a power forward to kick goals. How many Cats in the top 20 goal kickers?

Tell your mate he is indeed full of it!

They're a tremendously strong team, who don't get pushed off the ball, hit their targets, don't give away free kicks, and stick their tackles. Where they stick their tackles exactly, I wouldn't like to say ...

agree jcoleman, its all about teamwork and minimising the influence of a few to many, so its harder to keep tags from being effective. sharing the ball and bringing all players into the game is an important fact. lets not forget taylor is a first year player and obviously is no courtney johns.

Thanks for bringing him up :p

Taylor is a super first year player, has played very well in every game ive seen him this year. I know it helps to play in a backline like that, but the kid has skill and the want to play good footy.

You have to wish for a day off, Round 9 style. Saints had their best forward on Taylor yesterday and got roundly smashed, so there goes that theory.

Taylor has been spoken about for weeks, but it's like an argument about the weaknesses in Roger Federer's tennis game.

Face facts, it's a Cats v Hawks GF and should be a ripper.

NO WAY.

Too many clubs are reactive to Geelong.

They play in a way that has the other team double guessing and playing extremely careful footy.

No good.

Like any other team, try and beat them to the ball, take risks, play on and tackle hard.

Tacticly(tactically?) speaking you must stop Scalett, Milburn from running it out easily and make Harley accountable. This will make every one of your inside 50s MUCH more effective.

They're a mentally strong side - no point trying to 'get in their heads'. Spend your time and efforts on the real 1 per centers.

Also, teams have to start anticipating the cats better than they do. They play on a hell of a lot and they're also happy to kcik the ball 1 or 2 metres ahead of the leading forward for him to run onto rather than mark. Surely these two things can be exploited somehow.

Thanks for bringing him up :p

Taylor is a super first year player, has played very well in every game ive seen him this year. I know it helps to play in a backline like that, but the kid has skill and the want to play good footy.

just trying to highlight to the mate of the tread starter that its only his first year and needs a good preseason on the weights to compete against the bigger fellas. meant to be a super preparing and hard trainer and although when we first drafted him i wasnt happy, now i wouldnt have wanted anyone else.

Cats weaknesses……..

Well you know hes full of it when he says that Kepler Bradley is better....I mean, come on!!!!!!!!!!

Lonergan, kicked 34 goals in 15 games.....doing OK I think....

Taylor may be the weak link of their defence, but it's not a problem for Geelong as they all work for eachother in defence and around the ground.

Correct, Harley coming in as 3rd man is a great help against opposition forwards.

Don't think it will work as well against a team like the Hawks though.

Lonergan has been outstanding of late, really come of age as a player - best Geelong forward by far. The Cats don't have any weakness, they are a very polished side full of arrogance and realistically should win the comp with the football they play - the ultimate sacrificial team football.

i dont agree with him im just trying to get some other opinions so i can get some work done, he is an essendon supporter by the way

Worked out he was an Essendon supporter with the Bradley comment;)

I cannot see any real argument in his points. True or untrue it doesn't stop the Cats from winning.

The only form is watching the Collingwood game earlier in the year so I would be telling my guys taht you have to tackle the living daylights out of them with some ferocity.

I didnt watch the entire game yesterday as I had a mountain of uni' work to get through, but the Saints, from a free kick, took the safe, easy option far too often. No risk gameplay. And, in addition, around the contested footy, more often than not, Geelong's perceived pressure was enough to rush and pressure St Kilda into making mistakes.

A couple of things that give me hope should the Hawks make the GF:

- Geelong rely on a spread of goalkickers, many of whom are smaller. So did the Bulldogs - so :thumbsu:

- Their backman are great but they can be beaten one-on-one - eg Scarlett is not the best one-on-one backman in the comp. They survive on restricting supply (although not quite as much as the Hawks do). Clarko will need to load our forward line with defensive forwards (Rioli, Osborne, Brown?) to try to get Buddy and the Rough-dogg into some space. One-out, our big guys will win.

- The two teams actually play very similar styles - attack comes from the backline through rebounding backmen like Milburn, Hunt, Scarlett (see Birchall, Guerra, Hodge, Dew), midfields tougher than they are fast (eg Mitchell/Sewell/Hodge/Lewis - Chance the only speedy one). The only major difference is the forward line - spread of goals vs big KPs.

- Ablett, Bartel, Selwood, Ling, Corey, Mitchell, Sewell, Bateman, Hodge, Lewis. It'd be a great game to watch!

cats weakness