Unofficial Preview Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Preliminary Final vs. Sydney Swans, Saturday 17/09, 4:45pm, SCG

Hey gents, not sure where to post this but was wondering where would be a good live venue in Melbourne to watch the game on Saturday? Im from the country and have booked some accommodation in the city. I was thinking of heading into the heartland (Collingwood) to get around the atmosphere, but im not even sure if thats a thing. Any suggestions?
Anywhere in Richmond will be pumping

London tavern is always good

Lol to anyone calling for McCreery to be dropped.. the 'Wildman' does so much for the team off the ball, his pressure is phenomenal and played another important game tonight.

As I read this post, I thought there better bloody be a tonne of likes as this is spot on. He makes the opposition fumble and has a Dusty like don’t argue.

BEAST!!!

I think we need Krueger up forward this time as we seem to miss a target up there last time

Mcartin took a lot of intercept marks las which I think we need a big body down there to help out
intercept marks are the fault of the players delivering the ball .. once we stop panic bombing into our forwards, and play our game - mccartin intercepts become irrelevant

intercept marks are the fault of the players delivering the ball .. once we stop panic bombing inot forwards and play our game - mccartin intercepts become irrelevant
Agree, but Sydney's pressure won't allow for a huge amount of time & space. I see merit in including Kruger, albeit, I still suspect we'll go in unchanged.

intercept marks are the fault of the players delivering the ball .. once we stop panic bombing into our forwards, and play our game - mccartin intercepts become irrelevant
somewhat true
but cox did a great job on the weekend bringing the ball to ground
if he can do that again we are halfway there

Unchanged for mine. I however have complete faith in the coaches selections regardless. Go pies.
I think the likes of Luke Parker and co will relish the opportunity to play against Bianco. Cal Brown had a great cameo against the Swans and I have him in ahead of Carmichael for Bianco. I would also bring Kreuger in for Johnson, unless they are confident Johnson will bring a bit more heat and aggression at the ball.

That’s like saying just win the game, easy.

Quality key forwards earn their keep this time of year. There is greater percentage of balls bombed in due to pressure, both perceived and actual.

Any gameplan that relies on well thought out and finely executed entries will fail….and especially with our delivery at the best of times.

Cox is key in that regard and I’d bring in another properly tall target in Kreuger.

Yep. Similar to Melbourne with May and Lever. Stop bombing and keep it low for our “smaller” forward line and that will nullify one of their key strengths in intercepts.
If no one marks it, that’s okay. Kill the ball and our forward pressure will work it’s magic.
Rd 21 May and Lever did not have a single intercept mark inside our forward 50.

Just sullied my eyes by re-watching the mini match of Rd 22.

Still not sure if that was Swans' best, one of our worse games or just a weird energy day for both clubs. They had a lot of things go their way in terms of hacked kicks that became goals, lucky positioning and so forth. But we also had some incredible luck (like the deliberate paid to McCartin which Ash Johnson gobbled up).

I'd like to see that Swans side play the Pies that turned up to the Geelong match. Will make for a much better spectacle. Even across the last 9-10 years we've had some very very close encounters despite our ladder positions.

I'm not alone here in thinking we can win it, but just feel we're at the mercy of the Footy Gods this Saturday afternoon.

Interesting that our last PF was also at 4:35pm and we lost. In 2018 the Dees went the same route we did and played a Saturday afternoon away game and lost. GWS did the same thing in 2017 and lost Saturday afternoon. It's only 2016 where the Doggies went the long road, played a Saturday afternoon/twilight in Sydney and then won. Hopefully it's our turn again.

Going to be a ripper of a game and a close contest.

Who will Moore play on, Buddy or Sam Reid?.

Be nice if we had another mobile key back to play on whoever Moore doesn't take.

Sam I think is more of the aerial threat, so makes sense for Moore to go to him.

Howe, Maynard or Murphy on buddy…

Why was Fly so evasive about Moore's illness at his presser on Saturday night? I found it odd that he would say Darcy had spent days in bed and was touch and go to play as late as Saturday morning, and then wouldn't say what the illness was. Whatever it was, he recovered amazingly well. I just hope he didn't pass it along to any other players. Further to the discussion on WHE, there's no way in hell he gets dropped this week. Bianco stays as well.

I think you're creating something from nothing. He was sick for a couple of days - you test for covid and unless the disease sticks around for a fair while, you don't test for anything else. Chances are that neither Fly or Moore have any idea what illness he had.

Sam I think is more of the aerial threat, so makes sense for Moore to go to him.

Howe, Maynard or Murphy on buddy…
I think we will take care of their talls, it’s their small tiprats I’m worried about if they’re let off the leash and are allowed to fire. If Heeney and Papley are equally accounted for, we need our small forwards to get on the score board at every opportunity. Playing there a month back and losing is a bigger advantage for us than most people give credit to. This game will be close for sure. Pies by 8 points for me and into the big dance against those rotten Cats, and won’t they ****in hate that!

Funnily enough the last time we played Sydney I was thinking how much harder it was to follow the action on screen and then like stated previously it suddenly dawned on me it was all about the lower camera angle.

Personally I don't like sitting at ground level at a venue because you lose sense of space and distance across the entire playing field, can't see what is or could be unfolding in terms of transition and forget about it when the ball is over the other side or up the other end.

The telecast that comes from Sydney gives me a sense of that, sometimes the action on the opposing wing in particular can get lost within the crowd background due to that lower angle while it only aids in making the SCG appear smaller than it already is.

I hate it and it's a pity they're unable or aren't prepared to elevate the camera position.

Funnily enough the last time we played Sydney I was thinking how much harder it was to follow the action on screen and then like stated previously it suddenly dawned on me it was all about the lower camera angle.
The telecast that comes from Sydney gives me a sense of that, sometimes the action on the opposing wing in particular can get lost within the crowd background due to that lower angle while it only aids in making the SCG appear smaller than it already is.

I hate it and it's a pity they're unable or aren't prepared to elevate the camera position.
Or lower the field.

Be nice if we had another mobile key back to play on whoever Moore doesn't take
I've been mulling this question too. Sydney also has McDonald as a young key forward.

I don't mind Darcy playing on Buddy though. Darcy is far more superior in the air, and will back himself to out-mark Buddy, or work-off him with his closing-speed and get across and help the other two defenders. From memory Buddy kicked his three goals against us after the ball came to ground, so the ground-level players will have to be ready to lay strong tackles if it does get to ground. He also won't get under Darcy's skin like he did against Steven May.

I think we will take care of their talls, it’s their small tiprats I’m worried about if they’re let off the leash and are allowed to fire. If Heeney and Papley are equally accounted for, we need our small forwards to get on the score board at every opportunity. Playing there a month back and losing is a bigger advantage for us than most people give credit to. This game will be close for sure. Pies by 8 points for me and into the big dance against those rotten Cats, and won’t they *in hate that!
8 points, is a romp for us. I’d be cracking open the champagne midway through the fourth if we were 8 points up.

I've been mulling this question too. Sydney also has McDonald as a young key forward.

I don't mind Darcy playing on Buddy though. Darcy is far more superior in the air, and will back himself to out-mark Buddy, or work-off him with his closing-speed and get across and help the other two defenders. From memory Buddy kicked his three goals against us after the ball came to ground, so the ground-level players will have to be ready to lay strong tackles if it does get to ground. He also won't get under Darcy's skin like he did against Steven May.
I haven't stopped mulling since we won on Saturday

Is our cheersquad at the MA Noble stand End? Which is Bay 46? Or at the other end?

Sitting in bay 43 so would be stoked to be near the cheersquad.

P.s. someone in the cheersquad should make a sign to hold up saying the John Noble stand if we are infact down that end.

Personally I don't like sitting at ground level at a venue because you lose sense of space and distance across the entire playing field, can't see what is or could be unfolding in terms of transition and forget about it when the ball is over the other side or up the other end.

Hate watching SCG games on TV. Terrible viewing experience.

Is our cheersquad at the MA Noble stand End? Which is Bay 46? Or at the other end?

Sitting in bay 43 so would be stoked to be near the cheersquad.

P.s. someone in the cheersquad should make a sign to hold up saying the John Noble stand if we are infact down that end.
have a quiet word to them to give the Collingwood chant a miss. Every time it breaks out seems to spur the opposition on more then our guys.

The posters on the Swans board hate Mat Stevic more than we do. They reckon he always does Sydney over. Interesting the different perspective different teams' supporters have.

Or maybe he does it to whichever team he's been instructed to do it to, and it's happened to them as well as us over the journey.

I know which team I think it's more likely to be done to this weekend