Bastinac Adams Greenwood
Mackenzie

Em: Wallace - Harper - Dumont
Swallow - Wells - Garner
Grima - Nahas - MacMillan
Tarrant - Jacobs - C. Delaney
Hine

Narni finally gets fit and plays his best game for the year, dont think he needs a rest just yet

Their forward line struggles to kick scores against good defences. They had 53 inside 50's against the Hawks, played well, yet only scored 7 goals. They had 46 against the Dockers and kicked 5.

Are you referring to the game they lost by 99 points? Played well?

On form, we should beat GC. They are not getting rave reviews at the moment because their form has been average with 3 gimmes against the Dees, Brissie, and GWS, a good home win against an average Richmond, and smashings at the hands of Freo and Hawthorn. They are not setting the world on fire, and while their bracket of midfielders is top notch, their bottom group tend to fall away a bit. They are not all Abletts and O'Mearas. From this weekends team, I wonder how many of Russell, Shaw, Broughton, Stanley, Lemmens, Warnock, Sumner, and Hutchins we would want in our side. We have a stronger, more even team so while we might lose one-on-one against Ablett, and perhaps Bennell, Prestia, and O'Meara, our team pressure and spread of quality should tilt the balance in our favor. The selection table will be interesting for both teams this week. A few unpredictables there.

Going from the discussions here, with have some selection quandaries.

What are the hypothetical thoughts on these hypotheticals:
1. A slightly underdone Wells vs Nahas (who has trouble running out games)?
2. Swallow as sub vs Greenwood as sub?
3. Tippett somehow holds his spot, even with Scotty T back?
4. A Wood debut?

Yep. Didn't deserve to get beaten by that amount. I'm guessing you didn't watch the game?
No I did not. But I'm yet to see a team play well and get done by 100 points in my time following footy.

Spitta needs to play four quarters in VFL before being considered. No need to rush him back in with Wells coming back.
Why?

How is playing in 15 degrees, in the wet, in Ballarat, againt footscray going to benefit him?

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Yep. Didn't deserve to get beaten by that amount. I'm guessing you didn't watch the game?
I did and they deserved everything they got. Dunno how you could possibly say they played well. If they were wearing North jumpers that day would you say the same thing?

Why?

How is playing in 15 degrees, in the wet, in Ballarat, againt footscray going to benefit him?

I'm guessing that playing a full VFL game will benefit him because he has played half a game of footy since late July last year and his body will not be conditioned to it yet. Look at this as his preseason practice matches. Give him two more weeks at VFL level to get touch and game fitness and then introduce him into the best 22 as a ready to go footballer, not one looking for touch and form.

No question he will be harassing Mr Scott all week to line up on Sunday. Depends how much clout the skipper has when he says I'm ready. I am of the thinking that a fortnight more of VFL games would be wise, but seeing him play on Sunday (quite fancy the idea of him as sub) would give the boys a lift no doubt. And he would go up against the little brother. We might be surprised on Thursday.

I hope not.

goldstein needs to have a big game,
hag his colours lowered the last time we played GC. important for us to get a good start. GC will get nicholls back and may get Dixon back aswell! hope goldy plays with a little bit of campaigner about him!

at the stoppages id go with cunnington on ablett make ablett be accountable. in transition gibson to run on ablett and make him accountable the other way.

O'meara, Mckenzie, Stanley and Prestia need to be given as much respect as possible. all can be very damaging on their day.

however in the backline gets Lemmens and Warnock should be played closest to goal those two are their biggest weaknesses in defence at this stage.

whoever plays on tim sumner acroas half forward needs to burn him. get up the ground and run him off his feet, same with Hall.

whoever plays on Matera needs to where him like a glove. can be very damaging.

hope Thompson goes to Lynch, thompson to get on his bike and provide an option coming out of defence. lynch is pretty slow and doesnt have (from what ive seen) the defensive mindset to stop someone as attacking as scott thompson.

I hope not.

I'm with you. Hope wise heads prevail. But if he gets named in the extended squad, things will get lively here. There might be a bit of teasing with Spitta named in the 25 then as emergency in the final team. But I have no doubt that he will be arguing that he should be in the team.

I agree that the increase in defensive pressure has played a part in these wins no doubt.

In my personal opinion, only the Port game where it was really evident in changing the tide of the game, and attributed to their turnovers imo. All three wins against these sides came when they had absolutely deplorable forward 50 efficiency stats and very ordinary disposal efficiency.

What happened when we came up against sides with great disposal efficiency stats, and great F50 efficiency (taking advantage of the worst I50 differential in the top 8 by an absolute mile)? they absolutely murdered us.

I'm far from convinced we have seen the end of the Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde syndrome yet. Some of our key indicators are horrible. I'd like to see us beat a Geelong/Port/Fremantle/Collingwood on days when they are zipping the ball around like they would in a final.

Gold Coast will finish 8th or 9th imo, we are so so far from just penciling in wins against top 8 sides imo....

I don't want to be a killjoy, but this board gets so ******* ahead of themselves after one or two wins. Some people here are absolute gold fish, we have haven't won a final in now approaching 7 years. Also, disregarding GWS and GC, along with Carlton, only the Dogs, Tigers, Crows have had a longer grand final drought than us. 12 other sides have had more recent success (if you call making a GF success), but it reeks of mediocrity, just quietly, I'm sick of it. Pull your heads in.

We have a proud history and a big future, but if we are to be any better, we have to stop acting like we've won the premiership after one or two away wins........

As others have said, games aren't won or lost on this board but your point on the statistical discrepancies is well made. If we can add an attacking element without losing defensive pressure then we'll have made the jump to a team capable of winning finals.

What I see on Sunday is a game with no excuses. A 9-day break is more than adequate coming back from Perth, we're playing at home against a very capable but still young side that's finding its feet on the road and, in the event of Wells/Swallow not being fit, their replacements are in sufficiently good form. A top-4 aspirant shouldn't lose a game with so much on its terms.

A solid win reflects a team that's growing in stature. A loss reflects that we're equally inconsistent as previously, just in a different way.

Gut tells me one change -

Out: Tippett (loved what he brought on Friday, no frills solidness)
In: Scooter.

Obviously guess work with regards to Wells, but I reckon he would've had to be pretty sore to miss the Freo game and it would be a good effort to be right in time the week after.

Will be one more (two including the bye) week for the skip.

i just love how NDS spoke to the leadership group to let them know they need to make a big effort this week in letting everyone know not to get carried away with the win as it will mean nothing if we don't back it up again. He spoke about the disappointment of the Collingwood game following the big Sydney win. Therefore we should hopefully see a consistent performance this week no matter who comes in or out.

I agree that the increase in defensive pressure has played a part in these wins no doubt.

In my personal opinion, only the Port game where it was really evident in changing the tide of the game, and attributed to their turnovers imo. All three wins against these sides came when they had absolutely deplorable forward 50 efficiency stats and very ordinary disposal efficiency.

What happened when we came up against sides with great disposal efficiency stats, and great F50 efficiency (taking advantage of the worst I50 differential in the top 8 by an absolute mile)? they absolutely murdered us.

I'm far from convinced we have seen the end of the Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde syndrome yet. Some of our key indicators are horrible. I'd like to see us beat a Geelong/Port/Fremantle/Collingwood on days when they are zipping the ball around like they would in a final.

Gold Coast will finish 8th or 9th imo, we are so so far from just penciling in wins against top 8 sides imo....

I don't want to be a killjoy, but this board gets so ******* ahead of themselves after one or two wins. Some people here are absolute gold fish, we have haven't won a final in now approaching 7 years. Also, disregarding GWS and GC, along with Carlton, only the Dogs, Tigers, Crows have had a longer grand final drought than us. 12 other sides have had more recent success (if you call making a GF success), but it reeks of mediocrity, just quietly, I'm sick of it. Pull your heads in.

We have a proud history and a big future, but if we are to be any better, we have to stop acting like we've won the premiership after one or two away wins........
Pykie during the Port game it was our tackling and defensive pressure that destroyed them, that pressure led to them turning the ball over to us (also against Sydney).

We need to bring that pressure to every game - if we do we're going to be a very good side by the end of the season.

Our offence hasn't quite clicked yet and I'm expecting that to happen in the next few rounds. There's a lot of upside for this team providing everybody works hard at maintaining intensity and composure for four quarters every week.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

I'm with you. Hope wise heads prevail. But if he gets named in the extended squad, things will get lively here. There might be a bit of teasing with Spitta named in the 25 then as emergency in the final team. But I have no doubt that he will be arguing that he should be in the team.

I would hardly say that if the selection committee goes with Swallow back in either to start or sub means they don't have "wise heads".

It could go either way and a case can be made for both as to pros/cons. It will be interesting to see how progressed Swallow actually is and when he does come back.

I would hardly say that if the selection committee goes with Swallow back in either to start or sub means they don't have "wise heads".

It could go either way and a case can be made for both as to pros/cons. It will be interesting to see how progressed Swallow actually is and when he does come back.

Fair point. Just playing with words, but more referring to the match committee resisting Spitta's enthusiasm to play, as he will be picking himself for sure. For me, the sub role, as used with Goodes and Judd, would be the best option if he is selected.

A few interesting tidbits.

http://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2014-04-28/et-etihad-no-worry

Despite having not registered a win at Etihad Stadium in its short history, Gold Coast and its key-defender Steven May are confident of a strong showing on Sunday.

From six prior games at the venue, the Suns have failed to score more than 100 points. But it’s an average losing margin of almost 12 goals that is perhaps most concerning.

“Our record at Etihad is really irrelevant,” May told the Suns’ website.

“Most teams and football people know we are a completely different team now to when we played there previously.

“Only (played at Etihad) twice last year, one of which was when we competed really well against Essendon despite losing Lynchy (Tom Lynch) and Rischa (Michael Rischitelli) with injuries before half-time.”

Both North Melbourne and the Gold Coast will be aware past records count for little come 1pm on Sunday. After all, Guy McKenna’s team had lost its first three games to North before a convincing 15-point victory at Metricon Stadium in Round 11 last year.

Coming off two consecutive wins, the Suns could be further boosted by the returns of Tom Nicholls, Charlie Dixon and Harley Bennell.

In particular Bennell could be an important inclusion, having troubled the Kangaroos in the past. He had 27 disposals and 2 goals when the sides met back in 2012.

“We have a great opportunity to take on North Melbourne and we might even have a few players returning from injuries, so we will be going down to have a red hot crack,” May added.

“They had a great win over Fremantle in Perth on Friday night and have been playing really well lately, so we know it won’t be easy.”