Brown Talia Kelly
Scholl Himmelberg McPherson
Sloane Doedee Ned
Davis McAsey Jones
McAdam Fog Stengle

ROB, B.Crouch, Hamill

Poholke, Butts, Smith Shoenberg

Himmelberg to play 2nd ruck

It obviously wont happen next week but by the end of the year I would like to see this set up

So you want us to put games into younger players, and then tell us to play Hartigan!
there does need to still be a bit of experience in there. he's hardly my favourite player, but it's a defence that is being bombarded. if he can shut down a player that's all we need right now. i'd let mcasey play up the ground a bit

Poholke has mostly played out of position and deserves some extended time in the midfield
While I don't think he'll make it, he more than deserves a solid block in the guts to show us what he can do.

I think Ned needs to be in there as well tbh. His attack on the man is absolutely insane, and it's defensive pressure that we completely lack in there right now.

there does need to still be a bit of experience in there. he's hardly my favourite player, but it's a defence that is being bombarded. if he can shut down a player that's all we need right now. i'd let mcasey play up the ground a bit
Doedee and Talia are ok for KPDs and we need McAsey to get games, either froward or back.

There's no need for Hartigan, and Kelly to IMO. Get some run back there and tell them to take the game on. Not more dour defenders thanks

Greenwood has 10 touches as a mid in a team that smashed us.

CEY would only add to the non-existent defensive pressure.

They are 28 and 27 years old the two of them.

BTW, neither port or GC had a 'big bodied' mid that was the difference. Port's best mids were Butters (181cm) and Boak (183cm) while GC's best mids were Rowell (179cm), Miller (179cm) and Weller (181cm).

Height is irrelevant! Effort is what' the problem is
Touches are not making your point. Greenwood had 13 tackles. That is more than 11 of our players. I would rather have him in our side than the useless squibs we have replaced him with. That is effort which we traded away. You can have the height point, but Greenwood took some good forward marks being a tall mid.

Sure, Greenwood was good at tackling. No doubting that, but at 28, is he really what the team needs now? If we want our best performance this coming week, we should bring MacKay in for Hamill, kept Douglas instead of McHenry and Jenkins ahead of Fogarty.

It's a rebuild, you need to get games into kids and the results follow.

Sure, Greenwood was good at tackling. No doubting that, but at 28, is he really what the team needs now? If we want our best performance this coming week, we should bring MacKay in for Hamill, kept Douglas instead of McHenry and Jenkins ahead of Fogarty.

It's a rebuild, you need to get games into kids and the results follow.
He could easily have replaced one of our so called senior players. His age is really irrevalent as he came to football late and has at least 3 years of good footy left. Our team needs players who are willing to tackle. chase and actually give a toss. Anyway irrevalent now as he is playing for a side that is heading in the right direction as is the case with all the players that have left.

Our so called senior players are all under contract whereas fortunately (or unfortunately for Hugh), he wasn't.

Hugh was offered a contract to stay, it was him who chose to leave. He might have 3 years left, but we aren't going to be pushing top 4 in 3 years time so what was the point!

I'm 100% on board the need to get games in to our kids and see what we have. At the same time we can make some changes to make ourselves at least a little more competitive.
At the very least Nick's must realise that the Crouch boys are not going to give him what we want, that Tex or Fog in the ruck is a joke and that we need a competitor in the air in the forward half.

So here goes (I'm trying to be realistic in terms of who we will and won't drop);

Brown Talia Hamill
Doedee McAsey Smith
McHenry Jones Lynch
Fog Himmelberg B Crouch
McAdam Walker Sloane

RO'B Kelly M Crouch

INT: Laird Sholl Crocker Gallucci

OUT: Seedsman (poor), Atkins (inj), Murphy
IN: McAdam, Sholl, Gallucci

Kelly to the middle. Will provide some grunt and toughness in the contest. Also can run with Neale as he has elite endurance.
Himmelberg might have concrete hands, but at least he provides a contest. You need that across half forward.
Laird a new role - playing on ball and forward as well as small stints in back 6.
Sholl to play wing/HBF.

Comparing crows to rd 1 to 3. Losing 2 coaches have been factor however I have seen a change in the midfield setup. I remember Brouch saying they had about 9 players run through the midfield Rd 1 and now it seems you see the same 4 players.

For a club in our position to have 10 players with 0 AFL games and another 8 with less than 10 games is pretty disgraceful.

It means that any time we drop someone in our previous best 22, we're basically forced into bringing in a debutant into an already inexperienced side

We're going to have to get a lot younger, and quickly

Yep, this is shocking and proves we didn't invest in the kids. The investment should have started part way through 2018 when it was obvious we were no longer the side of 2017.

I've got no problem losing for the next few years if the right players (read young) get opportunity to show what they've got... so we know who has a future, and who can be let go.

Comparing crows to rd 1 to 3. Losing 2 coaches have been factor however I have seen a change in the midfield setup. I remember Brouch saying they had about 9 players run through the midfield Rd 1 and now it seems you see the same 4 players.
9 in rd 1, then 4 against the Pauer, then back to about 9 last week.

Sloane spent very little time in the middle, I saw Brad across HF as well. At one point in the last, we had Ned, Chayce and Matt in there.

It does look an empty coaches box up there. Nicks is suffering from what Sando did when the VFL suspended Bailey and then his passing without begin replaced.

In a word. Laird!

You must be joking. Laird should be dropped this week. Did you see Nicks shaking his head and mouthing off when Laird kicked it out on the full in the last qtr. I think it was. Nicks was not impressed at all. Laird is a shadow of what he was ATM. He doesn't give a sh6t.

You missed the point mate. The guy asked why Sholl hadn't been played yet. To which the answer is Laird.

I wasn't saying that he needs to be in the side. In fact i've been quite vocal about him being dropped for quite some time now.

You missed the point mate. The guy asked why Sholl hadn't been played yet. To which the answer is Laird.

I wasn't saying that he needs to be in the side. In fact i've been quite vocal about him being dropped for quite some time now.

The way you wrote it implied Laird was to stand Charles.

Who do they play on Cameron this week?

Brown will get slaughtered, he just doesn't have the pace. Do they roll Murphy back onto him?
It should be Kelly

He's the small/tall defender who has a purely defensive focus

Typically though we've protected Kelly and put him on the other team's rookie. No idea why. If he can take this type of role he'd bring real value

It should be Kelly

He's the small/tall defender who has a purely defensive focus

Typically though we've protected Kelly and put him on the other team's rookie. No idea why. If he can take this type of role he'd bring real value
And he won't be afraid to get stuck in either, which Charlie hasn't dealt with well in the past.

I reckon it'll be Doedee

Got a feeling that Walker will go out this week. The 'big move' to shake things up with either McAsey forward or Himmelberg/Frampton in. Tough on Tex - who'd want to be a forward in our current line up? - but he might be the one to cop the bullet.

Did anything get published on the reserves game? Scores, best players, match report... or did that info get filed away in Phil's top secret draw?

Preview Changes: R4 vs Brisbane