Preview Changes: R9 2019 v Brisbane

I know a lot of people were quite dirty on Gooch's game, but I actually saw a few things that I really liked, showed some burst and dash from the midfield which is a trait we have very little of. Sure he was far from perfect and was out of the game a bit too much, but he seems to be moving well again.

I'd be more inclined on letting him have another game or 2 at this point of the season. I feel like he is 1 good quarter away from turning the corner!

Gooch needs a spell, just to get him some confidence back. I firmly believe he is a good value player long term. But just like Knight, Atkins, EY, Greenwood, Keath, Doedee etc etc, a little time in the SANFL can do wonders for a blokes progression and confidence,

I think Knight keeps his spot, yeah he only touched it ten times, but he did kick 2 goals, and in today's footy that's a very valuable contribution from a smallish fwd/mid player.

Give Gibbs another week or two even. Back problems don't go away through playing reserves footy, he needs to rest.

My move would be:
IN: McHenry, Jones
OUT: MCrouch(inj), Gallucci,

Jones will be better and better every game he gets I reckon, and McHenry just looks like a guy who will come in and thrive. He has a lot of a young Sloane in him for me, the intelligence and maturity to impact a game even defensively and through being a tackle beast if he having one of those days where we doesn't dominate the possession count. Let's see what he's got.

Agree the end could come quick but to me he still looks extremely dangerous 1 on 1 and still has the ability to turn games
Yes, but isn't this the problem?
On Saturday night he looked dangerous, his second and third efforts threaten with those clever little taps and flourishes close to the ground, but apart from his 200th (6 goals! :thumbsu::D) he has not BEEN "dangerous".
Same for a lot of last year, too.

Looking/seeming is not the same as being.
Not putting Eddie in the same boat, but JJ looks like he could be a gun. He's not, by a longshot, but he goes through the motions and appears threatening. Am thinking --- I can't remember the last time JJ crunched someone (legally, but really hard), niggled them, or caught someone htb with a chase and tackle (think: Murphy vs PA, Himmelberg too, even Jones vs GCS/JLT). Maybe vs Geelong at AO, 2017.
Take a look at Motlop's squib last game. He looked like he was shepherding/blocking but there was no contact.

I love Eddie, whinged when he was traded to the Crows (<== how wrong could I be!!? :D) but quickly became an avid fan. He's skills are freakish. He always gets an elite defender/tagger and runs the pants of them --- until lately.
This year he has totalled 5 one-%ers and 5 goal assists (AFC site) and has become much less effective. I reckon he needs a break and some time to rekindle his fire.

It's still a long flight and a match in the heat. The premiership Hawthorn sides used to drop most of their veterans when they traveled up to Brisbane or gold coast. If you're going to rest them for any games, do it on the ones where they need to take a long flight.

He’s a small guy, even upgrade him to business if necessary, he hasn’t been playing his best but he takes a good defender with him no matter what form he is in.

Hawks were brave enough to make a tough call on Roughead, let's see if we are able to do the same.
Yes, great example of an omission that worked.
Roughead got 5 in the VFL, Hawks beat GWS. Win-win.
Roughead/Betts, both stars but in different ways.

How about if Eddie had a week off, then had to tear it up in the SANFL to force selectors to pick him again?

Hawks were brave enough to make a tough call on Roughead, let's see if we are able to do the same.

Roughy was in really really poor form though. Did you read he kicked a bag in the magoos and was seen offering advice to his opponent, that’s how you handle being dropped and JJ should take notice.

Please never use Roughhead and JJ in the same sentence.

On AA this morning Betts said he was crook and threw up at half time. He has more than enough coin in the bank not to be even in the discussion to be dropped.
Crouch I feel will be okay, if not then Wilson should get a go similar player to what Crouch does.
Still would like to see Ned McHenry get a game and Gallucci is the one not performing as expected.

Pretty hard to make the call on Gooch/Knight -> Jones/Ned due to the role imo. Jones and Ned are better off running a wing or playing in the guts proper, rather than playing on the graveyard half forward line that so many of our rookies start in. Ned can play pressure forward but looks a different beast on ball.

Atkins would be the one you'd look at omitting if you really wanted to get a look at either Jones or Ned in their more natural position.

If Crouch is out, you'd assume Gibbs is an auto selection if fit, but I also wouldn't mind seeing one of Ned or Wilson given a go through the middle. Alternatively, play another forward like Davis or Stengle and give the mids that start forward a lot this year more mid time. Gives us another target up forward and bloods players thatto definitely need it.
Knight was on the wing a lot Sat night. Not sure where to find stats on starting attendances on wings at centre stoppages but in the 2nd half in particular his would be pretty high

On AA this morning Betts said he was crook and threw up at half time. He has more than enough coin in the bank not to be even in the discussion to be dropped.
Crouch I feel will be okay, if not then Wilson should get a go similar player to what Crouch does.
Still would like to see Ned McHenry get a game and Gallucci is the one not performing as expected.
wasn't that last week? or is that now 2 weeks in a row?

Assuming Matt Crouch will be good to go...

Out - Gallucci
In - Don't Know... Gibbs (if fit), Seedsman (if fit), McHenry? Jones?

More than likely to go unchanged, and fair enough the results are we are winning

Stengle is unlucky if we had lost you may have seen him get a crack but thats the way it goes, could play at a team losing most games and get a crack as they are trying all out. Play at a club winning and you have to wait your turn

Galluci can stay in and see if he can pull it together at least by doing that a decision can be made on his future without any doubts

More than likely to go unchanged, and fair enough the results are we are winning

Stengle is unlucky if we had lost you may have seen him get a crack but thats the way it goes, could play at a team losing most games and get a crack as they are trying all out. Play at a club winning and you have to wait your turn

Galluci can stay in and see if he can pull it together at least by doing that a decision can be made on his future without any doubts

But we should be playing more kids & tanking as we are only in 3rd...

The top side on the ladder has been playing a number of kids. No reason we can't bring in Jones/McHenry if they are in form.

Indeed.

We are playing some, but agree we could play some more.

However, the issue is someone has wanted us to tank our season because we apparently no chance.

Playing some kids doesn't mean you are tanking.

If Ned plays, throw him straight in the guts. He will thrive and his two way running offers a point of difference.

If we are seriously a threat this year we need to win this. We are going to drop the Geelong & Eagles away games so need to win these ones.

Out: Gooch
In: Jones

Don't see them dropping Knight even though he was fairly invisible.

Preview Changes: R9 2019 v Brisbane