Unofficial Preview Changes v Bombers, Metricon Friday night.

Fagan indicated he was confident in turning to Bailey at HB so perhaps he fills in for Rich this week.
Mcstay unlucky with how events unfolded. Impossible to know who of our mobile fwd stocks are presenting the most suitable replacement for him, look forward to seeing that player getting an opportunity to show their abilities. I think Mcstay has been commendable but if that someone else takes their opportunity and asserts their claim to a fwd spot I hope we are talking about how to keep them in and transforming Dan's role to keep them both in.
Birchalls time on ground was 5% lower than his season average, which isnt much but maybe it indicates they are trying to manage him a bit, I would be happy to see Witherden come in for Birchall and bring him back in for Richmond.
Lester played 91 game time and is reliable so I don't think he will make way this week. Didn't notice Terry much yesterday and I think it's a good opportunity to bring in someone else even for a week if we are going to persist with him in the senior team generally.
I wonder if we could go Bailey for Rich and Cox for Terry, to let Bailey and Cox switch between HF/HB through the game to let Bailey off the leash
Don't think we'll get rid of Archie this week. CEY if fit, otherwise E Smith for a look because why not.

Outs: Mcstay, Rich, Terry
Ins: The chosen one, E Smith, Cox

Witherden for Birchall if managed

If Fagan insists on sitting Witherden out, then he will walk into another club. He didn't even want a contract extension to begin with, and only changed his mind when he grew tight with the playing group. If he is continually pushed out of the side, then his motivation to remain here will likely dissipate. The same goes for Cox and Ballenden. Fagan will have to give these players a chance sooner or later or else he will lose them. It's that simple.

Your views on footy are dead set twisted. Giving people a game so they don’t leave does not happen at any level let alone AFL. Fages fault they not in the best 22 is it. 🤪

What are you talking about? Players starved off opportunities will seek chances elsewhere. It's basic AFL 101, and the fact that we're not a powerhouse club playing in a Rugby state doesn't help our chances of keeping our depth.

counterpoint, if witherden isn't doing what the coaches want of him, let him leave (that was hyperbolic obviously)..but come on.

but maybe he will be in soon if we need to rest birch and rich is still out, we will then notice how much those two get us started more than just a good kick out of the backline.

I'm excite by the prospect of someone getting a chance to show what they've got in the f50

and ah chee is looking much more settled now, super happy for that, hopefully he can continue to build into the season

I said he could come in if Birchall was managed, I'm sorry man ok, I'm sorry

What are you talking about? Players starved off opportunities will seek chances elsewhere. It's basic AFL 101, and the fact that we're not a powerhouse club playing in a Rugby state doesn't help our chances of keeping our depth.
Depth players leave clubs all the time.
It wouldn’t be the first time and won’t be the last.
We are a pretty good team now, so some good players are being kept out of the side.
That is actually what makes a good side.

“Hey Clug, we know your a better player and give us a better chance of winning, butttttt are you right to sit out this week because we worried Cedric Cox is going to leave”.

I can't see us resting for Essendon given we have a 5 day break and may have to make enforced changes anyway. Dizzy and Harris playing upwards of 90% of gametime really isn't a big concern for me as that is pretty typical for key defenders. I'd be putting out as strong a team as possible v Essendon to bank the win, then reassess for the Richmond game.

Is 90% of time in a game shortened by 20% mean Harris is playing 70% of the normal game time? Cause I'd reckon he has consistently played more than yet every game last year without any issue.

I think who we need to bring in needs to be competitive in the air when we clear the ball out to the half back flank/wing, otherwise I can see Essendon's tall defenders (Ridley, Hooker, Hurley) picking us off and getting repeat inside 50's. I wonder if try and make sure Oscar is in that pack as often as possible to try and negate their defenders (especially Ridley who's having a very good season).
Hooker is injured - won’t be playing

Andrews was at 95% last year, our next best were Neale, Walker and Gardiner all at 88.

Hippy and McStay also having really high % helps us rotate our small forwards more I think too.

He’s contracted to the end of 2022 and not signed an extension last year. You talk about him wanting to leave but that was early on and he’s spoken numerous times of his love for the club, coaches and players.

players aren’t owed a chance, they have to earn the right to play and if he’s good enough he’ll get a game because of that. Not because we want to “keep” him

Based on other trades (like rocky 'not knowing what the club wants') I'm sure Fagan is all over players leaving when they are not hearing/getting what they want.

Not saying it applies to Witherden cause I don't know, but Fagan would already know he wants to oust at the end of the year.

In terms of pace, I seem to recall that Jacob Allison was someone that was mentioned of having pace, but he too seems to have completely fallen by the wayside in terms of being in contention for a senior berth.

He's one that you'd think will not be retained come season's end.

If certain players aren't able to get a game in the next 3 or 4 weeks then it's obvious that they'll struggle to get in our best side ,injuries notwithstanding.

If we want to become a power team again then we have to keep improving our list pure and simple. If we have guys there who are purely depth but not going to improve your performance on the field then you're better off having that depth with younger /drafted guys who might be able to do it.

And if guys who are there for depth are happy to stay with the club for what they're actually worth and we're happy with them, and maybe break into the side when injuries or whatever else occurs to show what they have then all well and good.

The Team should always come first.

i thought Mcstay probably deserved 1 game. 2 seemed abit rich but when you compare with Langfords 1 week decision Dan's 2 week suspension is ****shit. How in the hell can you compare those 2 incidents and say Dan's was double worse than Langfords. I just viewed Langfords and IMO Langfords was worse than Dan's. Fair dinkum i think i am on another planet with these decisions. They use to have an add on TV saying " Ken Bruce has gone mad, Ken Bruce has gone mad" Think they need to change to " Michael Christian has gone mad "

Pardon the intrusion lads and ladettes. The McStay thing will be hard to overturn or reduce unfortunately, it's almost a carbon copy of what Shiel copped against Norf. The difference between that and Langford is that McAdam didn't need to leave the field to be assessed, thus considered medium impact. Stupid, but that's the way it is.

As far as our form is concerned, it isn't great. Barely beat the worst side in the comp, got smashed the week before, and only won by a couple of goals against Norf. Our forward line is a shambles, I reckon we had one first choice forward in the side on the weekend, maybe 2, and our depth is either woefully out of form (McKernan, Zaharakis (more hope than think)), injured/returning from injury (Stewart, Laverde) or very inexperienced at the level (Cahill, Snelling).

As far as a side goes, I'm hoping for something like:

FB: Francis (Skinner) - Zerk-Thatcher (Ballenden/McInerney) - Saad (Cameron)
HB: Ridley (McCarthy) - Hurley (Hipwood) - Redman (Berry)
MF: Cutler - Shiel - Smith
HF: McKenna (Witherden) - Stewart (Gardiner) - Cahill (Ah Chee)
FF: Walla (Starcevich) - Bellchambers (Andrews) - Townsend (Lester)
OB: Draper - Parish - Merrett
IC: McGrath - Gleeson - Hibberd - Snelling

Anyway, good luck on Friday, but not too much. Lions by 17

I think who we need to bring in needs to be competitive in the air when we clear the ball out to the half back flank/wing, otherwise I can see Essendon's tall defenders (Ridley, Hooker, Hurley) picking us off and getting repeat inside 50's. I wonder if try and make sure Oscar is in that pack as often as possible to try and negate their defenders (especially Ridley who's having a very good season).

hooker wont play against us, which is a positive.
and toatlly agree on Ridley, he has been having a sensational yr, playing that 3rd tallish defender.