Prediction Changes vs Dees round 19

Id be very surprised to see us not work hard for our goals and for the opposition to not score easy goals out the back. It’s been our meat and 3 veg for most of the season.

As for the tall line up, I reckon we should see how it plays out. You don‘t make MC decisions like these unless it’s been a pretty productive few hours behind closed doors on a Thursday night.
Id be very surprised to see us not work hard for our goals and for the opposition to not score easy goals out the back. It’s been our meat and 3 veg for most of the season.

As for the tall line up, I reckon we should see how it plays out. You don‘t make MC decisions like these unless it’s been a pretty productive few hours behind closed doors on a Thursday night.
What exactly do you mean by “productive few hours behind closed doors”?

Ah Grimesy,
I new someone from the Dees would pick that up.

Let me put together the likely match ups:
Naughton -May
Bruce -Petty
JUH -Rivers/Hunt
Hannan -Lever/Hibberd
Weightman -Rivers/Hunt
Schache -Lever/Hibberd

None of those Dees players can out run their opponent. None.

Happy for you to change the match ups. Who plays on whom?
Nah man you're right.

Just don't even play the game. You guys win already.

It's only a chance for you guys to get a kick and let your young players have a chance to shine, since you've got 18 of your best 22 out.

Nah man you're right.

It's only a chance for you guys to get a kick and let your young players have a chance to shine, since you've got 18 of your best 22 out.

Nah mate. I picked you guys to win it and If you don’t I won’t be leading my tipping comp (baring other results).
Have a look at the match ups, speed is matched quite nicely….

Nah man you're right.

Ok. Enough. Back to the Melbourne board.

It’s a ploy

Bevo is chanelling Plough and has been listening to the wise people of Big Footy

Cordy banished from the back line to resume his premiership role but one out with Cody - a Cordy/Cody attack

Everyone else in the biggest flood since Noah

Nah man you're right.

Naw, diddums is getting defensive because the Demons have been kissed on the dick all year and barely had an injury to a decent player.

We know Melbourne like to hold their defence back and we tend to get sucked up the ground leaving us nothing to kick to going back inside 50, maybe we’ll try something different and tell our forwards to hold position back with Melbourne’s defenders, whilst we’ll still have marking targets at CHF. Wouldn’t mind always seeing 2 of Naughty, Bruce, JUH, Schache high - very high and 2 always deep. Rotate the 4 through the positions. I mean overall the teams really not crazy tall. Probably the perfect amount of talls across the ground really. Hannan is the one I don’t get, keep McNeil in who is probably one of our better ground level players, and I’d be completely okay with the call. Ah well, show us something Mitch!

I'm sure there's a plan behind these selections. I have no idea what it is... but Bevo is not just taking the piss. Will be one of the more interesting games to watch as far as game style and tactics go.

Could we see Naughton down back to help him get his confidence and bearings back?

I used to think most of you here knew a lot about footy, until tonight. You are ignorant and what is worse, you lack imagination and ambition.

I thought everyone knew that the tall Bulldogs players mark everything in the wet. Conversely, everyone knows that the tall Demons forwards can't even mark a beachball when it's raining.

Obviously we can't beat Gawn in the ruck, so Cordy plays first ruck. But the real masterstroke on Saturday night will be playing Keath playing forward too.

Here is my expected forward line for Saturday night.

Schache Naughton JUH
Keath Bruce English

Enjoy both your posting. Look forward to reading more composed, well thought through game analysis this sat night/Sunday morning. Hopefully it’s on the back of a good win!!
Thanks, I think! I will be the first to admit I'm not a great analyst, or as eloquent as our Mr Easton. I'll leave it at that, his thoughts are very similar to mine.

Surely nobody could now accuse Bevo of being too one-dimensional. This is not Plan A or Plan B. This is Plan whatever-comes-before-A.

Our posters here are utterly discombobulated. Clearly nobody has a clue how we are going to line up. So what chance do Goodwin & co have? Naming Schache on the I/C bench just makes the mystery more impenetrable. Is he a ruck? Is he a KPF? A KPD perhaps? Maybe even a wingman?

One theory is that if it goes like last time they will have enough intercepting talls in defence to cover all our KPFs, so we respond by just adding more KPFs until they can't cover them all. One of our unlimited number of KPFs is inevitably going to present somewhere where he can't be matched up. And even if May or Petty get close, another KPF will be there to provide a screen. All we have to do is make sure we kick low and flat, not high bombs that allow a pack to gather.

Another theory is that if we can't mark it outright we want to make sure we have enough aerial reach to bring the ball to ground where we should have a distinct advantage. So our smaller forwards and advancing mids/HBFs (eg Libba, Dale, Hunter, JJ, Hannan, Weightman) can clean up the scraps and convert.

My theory is much simpler than all of that.
Someone - probably a KPF - is injured and we're not going to let on until the last minute. Early on Saturday evening.

Even as we speak they probably have Zeno The Great bound and gagged in the basement at VUWO and won't let him out until they publicly announce the late changes.

If I had to guess I'd say it's Naughton.

So we go in with Bruce, Schache and JUH as our tall forwards, with Bruce taking stints in the ruck while English sits on the pine or rests forward.

Our monster still has three heads but nobody knows which heads it will have from one week to the next.

Nah man you're right.

Ahh the old throw the toys out of the cot when you can't come up with an answer trick

This the weather forecast for Saturday: Melbourne area:
High (70%) chance of showers, most from the late morning. The chance of a thunderstorm in the afternoon and evening. winds and possible small hail in the afternoon and evening. Winds northerly 15 to /h increasing to 25 to 40 km/h in the morning then tending northwesterly 30 to 45 In the middle of the day.
If accurate, there is no way this suits our team selection.🙄
There will be changes at the last minute. McNeill in and one of Schache or Hannan out. My prediction if weather stays as predicted.

Surely nobody could now accuse Bevo of being too one-dimensional. This is not Plan A or Plan B. This is Plan whatever-comes-before-A.

Our posters here are utterly discombobulated. Clearly nobody has a clue how we are going to line up. So what chance do Goodwin & co have? Naming Schache on the I/C bench just makes the mystery more impenetrable. Is he a ruck? Is he a KPF? A KPD perhaps? Maybe even a wingman?

One theory is that if it goes like last time they will have enough intercepting talls in defence to cover all our KPFs, so we respond by just adding more KPFs until they can't cover them all. One of our unlimited number of KPFs is inevitably going to present somewhere where he can't be matched up. And even if May or Petty get close, another KPF will be there to provide a screen. All we have to do is make sure we kick low and flat, not high bombs that allow a pack to gather.

Another theory is that if we can't mark it outright we want to make sure we have enough aerial reach to bring the ball to ground where we should have a distinct advantage. So our smaller forwards and advancing mids/HBFs (eg Libba, Dale, Hunter, JJ, Hannan, Weightman) can clean up the scraps and convert.

My theory is much simpler than all of that.
Someone - probably a KPF - is injured and we're not going to let on until the last minute. Early on Saturday evening.

Even as we speak they probably have Zeno The Great bound and gagged in the basement at VUWO and won't let him out until they publicly announce the late changes.

If I had to guess I'd say it's Naughton.

So we go in with Bruce, Schache and JUH as our tall forwards, with Bruce taking stints in the ruck while English sits on the pine or rests forward.

Our monster still has three heads but nobody knows which heads it will have from one week to the next.

That's who I was thinking too.

Surely nobody could now accuse Bevo of being too one-dimensional.
One dimensional? No, just incompetent and extremely arrogant and stubborn.

You can joke about it being a cunning selection gambit now, but it won't be so fun after a loss. If it rains as expected, I would be staggered if any of Schache, Hannan, Ugle-Hagan or Bruce have any impact, no matter what role they're deployed in.

Semi long time poster who regularly starts new accounts after being perma banned. Antares was one of his earlier ones. I reckon there’s been almost 10 new accounts since. Usually only takes half a day for the mods to catch on and toss him out. His posting is fairly consistent.
He can be rather amusing, repetitive, funny and obtuse. Part of BF folklore. I miss him at times. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I thought McNeil was excellent against the Suns. Any particular reason you want to drop him?

I think he has a future, though thought he was very quiet against the Suns and what he did do had limited impact.
I'm curious to know why you thought he was 'excellent.' His stats below ... perhaps moot point as MC have made their call.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-07-22 at 15.33.39.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-22 at 15.33.39.png
    9.8 KB · Views: 73
Keeping a key forward or two inside the forward 50 at all times could be a way to combat the floaty defence of Melbourne.

Prediction Changes vs Dees round 19