List Mgmt. Christmas comes early (Nov 28 - 19 sleeps) - Draftee discussion

Dandy won by 1pt over Tassie with Mitch Sywbowski.

Luke Bailey a late comer, draft smokie (3rd game for year) stepped up with 27 disposals after 33 last week. Kids born for finals.

Seth Green, good lively forward for Tassie had 20 and a goal.

Dandy vs Sandy grand final next week.

Dandy won by 1pt over Tassie with Mitch Sywbowski.

Luke Bailey a late comer, draft smokie (3rd game for year) stepped up with 27 disposals after 33 last week. Kids born for finals.

Seth Green, good lively forward for Tassie had 20 and a goal.

Dandy vs Sandy grand final next week.
Who else had a good game for Tassie?
230114_908223010.jpg

2023 Anthem

Can we upgrade it to one of their actual classics?
Say this song, which is one of the best Australian songs of the 80s.

If we can look outside of Australia to one of my favourite British bands from the same generation I'd prefer this to be our anthem.
Got one of the best starts to a rock/pop song IMO:

For those who watch a lot more of the next generation, does Reuben Ginbey have a bit of Chad Warner about him?

Yeah he does a bit, in terms of a good level of natural aggression. The day Warner went head to head with Rowell really stood in my mind, Rowell had been so dominant and strong compared to others and Warner rag dolled him a few times.
Ginbey showed all carnival a fierce attack on the contest, and strong tackling.

I always thought Warner had good skills though, just wasn't getting big numbers. Ginbey does have pretty good skills, just sometimes his kicking is off.

Shifter has mentioned that Max Knobel has grown a few cm's from 204 to 206cm! Watched him closely though, he wins taps but doesn't hit them to anywhere and is certainly still getting used to his body.
He's a late to rookie for me, needs to develop his body and needs some good ruck craft guidance.

Yeah he does a bit, in terms of a good level of natural aggression. The day he went head to head with Rowell really stood in my mind, Rowell had been so dominant and strong compared to others and Warner rag dolled him a few times.
Ginbey showed all carnival a fierce attack on the contest, and strong tackling.

I always thought Warner had good skills though, just wasn't getting big numbers. Ginbey does have pretty good skills, just sometimes his kicking is off.
Appreciate the insight. If we can get him at a pick everyone see's his value at, and he turns out like Warner, wowee.
I hope we get him where his value is in the draft, as I hate watching WA lads succeeding at other clubs, especially when it is more rare then common that they get homesick and want to come home.

Shifter has mentioned that Max Knobel has grown a few cm's from 204 to 206cm! Watched him closely though, he wins taps but doesn't hit them to anywhere and is certainly still getting used to his body.
He's a late to rookie for me, needs to develop his body and needs some good ruck craft guidance.
baby giraffe GIF

To be honest doesn't do much except take hitouts, Has a decent leap but is so darn unco. I wonder how he brushes his teeth at night.
A super duper long term project player, I reckon we keep him on the radar and see how he goes playing VFL for a few years before committing.

Max what now?

Last Thursday was the gathering of draft watchers AGM when Eastcoasteagle and AsterixTheGaul (armed with virtual input from Monocle) caught up for discussions at the Limerick Arms in South Melbourne. After over 2 years with Uncle Mark closing the borders and Dropkick Dan locking away the Melburnians, we had a quorum to go ahead with the pre draft AGM

Start of the AGM
It started with a toast to the Eagles - crap year but not a crap club
1662963918579.png

First Half
The 2022 Draft
It was unanimous that this is the best draft hand we have had in some time and that 2021 was a good basis to have started our list rebuild.
What was also agreed was that pick 2 in most years would have someone of real appeal but this year there seemed a real evenness in the first half dozen.
West Coast need strengthening in all lines and hence need to not only reinforce our bare midfield chest, but had to address other areas.
We all agreed that we will not fix it in 2021 and 2022. There will need to be another strong draft in 2023 (most likely to happen with a bottom 4 finish).
The overview of the 2022 draft was that it was not weak. It lacked the half dozen pointy end prospects as well as star KPF's but it has a lot of other things.
We all believe Norf will not make another silly mistake and will bid on Ashcroft - Clarkson will make sure of that.
There were good prospects from 2 to 7 that were mainly midfield but also included Cadman and Busslinger.
Prospects from 8 to 20 were also pretty even. Again, mainly midfield.
A good mix from 20 onwards including some talls and again more midfield.

How do we position ourselves in the draft?
We were all open to sliding back 2 to 3 spots but not past pick 6 (which becomes 7).

If we could get the Brisbane R1 pick (now 15 to 18), it would be good but we should not give up 20 and not give up a future pick).
A 3 way trade with Lions and Suns would be good provided the Suns value our pick 2 and we slide back to 5 and end up with enough points from the Suns to trade with Lions for their R1. Somehow going in with 5, 15, 20 and 26 would be a very nice outcome. Any deal like that is likely to be done post trade and prior to the draft night.

It is a real possibility that GWS are prepared to buy pick 2 so that they go 2 and 3 with Cadman and Busslinger. GWS will be given a suite of picks but we all felt the Richmond pick being too far back as our first pick.

Both Essendon and Hawks may come knocking for pick 2 to land Sheezel. He would fit both their list needs and a slide back to 4 was fine a bit riskier with a slide back to 6 so would require a bit more of a premium.

Other options on selling pick 2 was Tigers to get a pointy end pick to GWS and Freo likewise for Jackson. (BTW the AGM has stated OK to push up the price for Jackson but we do not want him at this stage of our list rebuild). Examples include Tigers pick 11 and a future first (say 15) plus 30 for 2. Likewise Freo deal of 2 for 13 and future R1 (say 16) plus something else they will get as the rats leave the ship in the trade period this year. Both scenarios would need to be significantly in our advantage. The problem with this is being outside the top 10 this year but having another R1 in 2023 was a big plus.

The view of the 2023 draft was that 2023 is very strong - there will be at least a Super Six and even more.
With this in mind, we were OK in moving some possible picks (e.g. Rioli compensation) being moved to 2023.
The cost of getting in the top 10 for 2023 will be steep. Suns are the natural seller and if they make finals then the top 10 gets even harder to get inside.

1662967342492.png
With the glasses being drained, it was time to refill and get to the actual draft.

Second Half
Draft 2022
Picks 2, 20, 26, 38 and possibly Port 's Amon compensation pick

Who do we take at 2?
Taking either Cadman or Busslinger felt like a real Pieman approach. We were all OK with this option (not preferred so almost resigned to expect it) thinking there were some good different midfield options there for pick 20 and 26.
There was a lack of interest at Tsatas at 2.
Sheezel is a real talent and may warrant a club coming knocking but if we went for him, we would get 2 years and at least our money back if he wanted to go home.
Wardlaw offers a load but the hammies are a worry, especially with our poorly track record in S&C and with flying.
Pillipou was of high interest and perhaps has the highest ceiling of all the top prospects.
Clark was considered a decent pick but there would be some disappointment if we went Clark at 2 thinking we could have got something else to take him with a slide back.

Leaving pick 2 aside, we then thought some great options at 20 would include Hotton, Szybkowski, Hustwaite and possibly even Hewett.

At pick 26, there was interest in D'Aloia, Ginbey and Barnett to name a few. There was also interest in Coby Burgiel and Charlie Clark.

Part 3
Trade
We should be seller and not buyers in 2022. Not a lot to sell but we would listen.

We are likely to lose Nelson as a FA to Victoria but will not get much back.

Consensus that Rioli is a decent player but getting the Port R2 (either 2023 or Amon compo) would probably be best for both clubs. If Port try to Ebert us, we have good options with Essendon and Tigers plus rather screw Port and let him go to the PSD to Norf who can afford his $$.

Meeks - Monocle was very early this year suggesting Pick 38 for Meeks was worthwhile and this sat comfortably with us.

Anything inside the third round we get for Rotham - we should take. Given the interest in Logue, we might be able to flog Rotham as the poor man's Griffin to the runner up club.

Robertson OK if cheap ie pick 38 of a future third.

2 possible Victorian options in Duggan and Petruccelle. Again, price would need to be OK but do not expect the club to be open for Duggan bids and Petch not likely if we lose Rioli.

With second round of drinks finished, it was decided to call to a conclusion the AGM.

1662969599667.png

Last Thursday was the gathering of draft watchers AGM when Eastcoasteagle and AsterixTheGaul (armed with virtual input from Monocle) caught up for discussions at the Limerick Arms in South Melbourne. After over 2 years with Uncle Mark closing the borders and Dropkick Dan locking away the Melburnians, we had a quorum to go ahead with the pre draft AGM

Start of the AGM
View attachment 1506346

First Half
The 2022 Draft
It was unanimous that this is the best draft hand we have had in some time and that 2021 was a good basis to have started our list rebuild.
What was also agreed was that pick 2 in most years would have someone of real appeal but this year there seemed a real evenness in the first half dozen.
West Coast need strengthening in all lines and hence need to not only reinforce our bare midfield chest, but had to address other areas.
We all agreed that we will not fix it in 2021 and 2022. There will need to be another strong draft in 2023 (most likely to happen with a bottom 4 finish).
The overview of the 2022 draft was that it was not weak. It lacked the half dozen pointy end prospects as well as star KPF's but it has a lot of other things.
We all believe Norf will not make another silly mistake and will bid on Ashcroft - Clarkson will make sure of that.
There were good prospects from 2 to 7 that were mainly midfield but also included Cadman and Busslinger.

We were all open to sliding back 2 to 3 spots but not past pick 6 (which becomes 7).

If we could get the Brisbane R1 pick (now 15 to 18), it would be good but we should not give up 20 and not give up a future pick).
A 3 way trade with Lions and Suns would be good provided the Suns value our pick 2 and we slide back to 5 and end up with enough points from the Suns to trade with Lions for their R1. Somehow going in with 5, 15, 20 and 26 would be a very nice outcome. Any deal like that is likely to be done post trade and prior to the draft night.

It is a real possibility that GWS are prepared to buy pick 2 so that they go 2 and 3 with Cadman and Busslinger. GWS will be given a suite of picks but we all felt the Richmond pick being too far back as our first pick.

Both Essendon and Hawks may come knocking for pick 2 to land Sheezel. He would fit both their list needs and a slide back to 4 was fine a bit riskier with a slide back to 6 so would require a bit more of a premium.

Other options on selling pick 2 was Tigers to get a pointy end pick to GWS and Freo likewise for Jackson. (BTW the AGM has stated OK to push up the price for Jackson but we do not want him at this stage of our list rebuild). Examples include Tigers pick 11 and a future first (say 15) plus 30 for 2. Likewise Freo deal of 2 for 13 and future R1 (say 16) plus something else they will get as the rats leave the ship in the trade period this year. Both scenarios would need to be significantly in our advantage. The problem with this is being outside the top 10 this year but having another R1 in 2023 was a big plus.

The view of the 2023 draft was that 2023 is very strong - there will be at least a Super Six and even more.
With this in mind, we were OK in moving some possible picks (e.g. Rioli compensation) being moved to 2023.
The cost of getting in the top 10 for 2023 will be steep. Suns are the natural seller and if they make finals then the top 10 gets even harder to get inside.

View attachment 1506368
With the glasses being drained, it was time to refill and get to the actual draft.

Second Half
Draft 2022

Who do we take at 2?
Taking either Cadman or Busslinger felt like a real Pieman approach. We were all OK with this option (not preferred so almost resigned to expect it) thinking there were some good different midfield options there for pick 20 and 26.
Sheezel is a real talent and may warrant a club coming knocking but if we went for him, we would get 2 years and at least our money back if he wanted to go home.
Wardlaw offers a load but the hammies are a worry, especially with our poorly track record in S&C and with flying.
Pillipou was of high interest and perhaps has the highest ceiling of all the top prospects.
Clark was considered a decent pick but there would be some disappointment if we went Clark at 2 thinking we could have got something else to take him with a slide back.

Leaving pick 2 aside, we then thought some great options at 20 would include Hotton, Szybkowski, Hustwaite and possibly even Hewett.

At pick 26, there was interest in D'Aloia, Ginbey and Barnett to name a few. There was also interest in Coby Burgiel and Charlie Clark.

Part 3
Trade
We should be seller and not buyers in 2022. Not a lot to sell but we would listen.

Consensus that Rioli is a decent player but getting the Port R2 (either 2023 or Amon compo) would probably be best for both clubs. If Port try to Ebert us, we have good options with Essendon and Tigers plus rather screw Port and let him go to the PSD to Norf who can afford his $$.

Meeks - Monocle was very early this year suggesting Pick 38 for Meeks was worthwhile and this sat comfortably with us.

Anything inside the third round we get for Rotham - we should take. Given the interest in Logue, we might be able to flog Rotham as the poor man's Griffin to the runner up club.

2 possible Victorian options in Duggan and Petruccelle. Again, price would need to be OK but do not expect the club to be open for Duggan bids and Petch not likely if we lose Rioli.

With second round of drinks finished, it was decided to call to a conclusion the AGM.

View attachment 1506379

Two rounds of beers and the meeting concluded? :rolleyes: :straining:

The Eagles have some serious list issues to rectify gents. At a minimum we are talking half a carton would be needed to work through 80% of our issues.

Now sprinkle a bit of concrete into the next pot and get back to work...............geeeeez! ;) :tearsofjoy: :thumbsu: o_O

Two rounds of beers and the meeting concluded? :rolleyes: :straining:

The Eagles have some serious list issues to rectify gents. At a minimum we are talking half a carton would be needed to work through 80% of our issues.

Now sprinkle a bit of concrete into the next pot and get back to work...............geeeeez! ;) :tearsofjoy: :thumbsu: o_O
Id say any more than 3 pints in and then the reminiscing begins, Turley masks, Kerry punching taxi drivers, Wellingham on trampolines:heartarrow:
:heartarrow:

Start of the AGM
View attachment 1506346

First Half
The 2022 Draft

View attachment 1506368

Second Half
Draft 2022

Who do we take at 2?

Part 3
Trade

View attachment 1506379
Person right of pic was very measured and even with the sips. Person on left looks like they drank it in two halves.
I'm guessing Eastcoasteagle on left and AsterixTheGaul on right?

BTW - Thanks for the write up and insights...Appreciated as always.

Start of the AGM
View attachment 1506346

First Half
The 2022 Draft

View attachment 1506368

Second Half
Draft 2022

Who do we take at 2?

Part 3
Trade

View attachment 1506379
Spot on lads, they looked to go down very easily.
  • I'm almost sure we take Cadman at #2 (doubling down on the Brander fiasco)
  • Would be very happy with Charlie Clarke & Barnett at #20 & #26:hearteyes:

• 38 for Meek isn't cheap enough to have the Freo stench around the clubrooms
  • In the future we need Duggans mullet flowing in the breeze

Spot on lads, they looked to go down very easily.
  • I'm almost sure we take Cadman at #2 (doubling down on the Brander fiasco)
  • Would be very happy with Charlie Clarke & Barnett at #20 & #26:hearteyes:

• 38 for Meek isn't cheap enough to have the Freo stench around the clubrooms
  • In the future we need Duggans mullet flowing in the breeze
Yep, I'm starting to really really like Charlie Clarke.

His game on the weekend was brilliant. He's had real impact on games all year.