List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016 part 2 - see Mod Warning p 281

How can you include Langdon, how many games did he play this year?

Because he hadn't improved at all in the gametime he had. Whilst he hadn't regressed he is still the exact same player he was when he first entered the system.

Quick decision making and intensity can be improved on (easily) yet they were still absent from his game in the 7 times he took the field this year. Unfortunately footy is very ruthless and if you aren't improving you get left behind very quickly doubly so for him with Howe having taken his spot and Scharenberg returning. Take a look at WHE at the conclusion of 2014 he was the bees knees I actually remember discussions with ksardog around him being a pipedream recruit. Look at him now he could be available for a pick in the 3rd round.

I'm not an advocate of trading Langdon more that he needs to start adding to his game and take the next step in order to help us improve as a group. It's also the biggest challenge confronting Smith next year he either needs to find hurt factor or improve his defensive side significantly or he'll get left behind quicksmart with Ramsay returning.

Edit: I can't find the quote, but Buckley's comments post the first Richmond clash re not knowing where exactly to play Langdon said a bit about where he was at early season. He was concequently dropped v St Kilda, but earned a reprieve when Ramsay went down.

Because he hadn't improved at all in the gametime he had. Whilst he hadn't regressed he is still the exact same player he was when he first entered the system.

Quick decision making and intensity can be improved on (easily) yet they were still absent from his game in the 7 times he took the field this year. Unfortunately footy is very ruthless and if you aren't improving you get left behind very quickly doubly so for him with Howe having taken his spot and Scharenberg returning. Take a look at WHE at the conclusion of 2014 he was the bees knees I actually remember discussions with ksardog around him being a pipedream recruit. Look at him now he'll could be available for a pick in the 3rd round.

I'm not an advocate of trading Langdon more that he needs to start adding to his game and take the next step in order to help us improve as a group. It's also the biggest challenge confronting Smith next year he either needs to find hurt factor or improve his defensive side significantly or he'll get left behind quicksmart with Ramsay returning.

Edit: I can't find the quote, but Buckley's comments post the first Richmond clash re not knowing where exactly to play Langdon said a bit about where he was at early season. He was concequently dropped v St Kilda, but earned a reprieve when Ramsay went down.
Good points, I too have really high hopes for Ramsay (smart player and under-rated) and Scharenberg.

Ramsay's the one to watch. I had him as our most important player entering 2016 because I was of the opinion that he would release Williams, but the irony is that I'd now be hoping Sinclair makes a return in order to release Ramsay. I think he could be the JJ type we've been lacking since Shaw's departure!

He is also a very good mark and kick.

If Williams does leave and Langdon can/does improve, I see him more than Sinclair in that role.

How do you rate our development program?
I think it could be better. Your post wasn't well thought out in regards to the players you listed though imo, as quite a few others have pointed out.

How can we afford to give up his lock down defence ? I look at it the other way and think that Rama allows Sinclair to run although Rama's disposal is a bit more reliable. I was hoping at the start of the year that Rama would allow Williams and Sinclair to push higher up the ground as they are the only true "line breakers" we possess from the back half. Better butchering the ball deep into forward 50 than coming out of defence :(

He is also a very good mark and kick.

If Williams does leave and Langdon can/does improve, I see him more than Sinclair in that role.

With his intercept game it works, but it gets back to his development. If he adds intensity to compliment his repeat sprint ability and can add a bit more to his kicking I'm on board.

Sinner's desire to take the game on is what appeals most to me. Plenty to work with though which is a positive!

What about Frost + 25 for Hanley?

Why? Surely we have enough of his type?
Honestly, every f@#&* pick we have this year should be used to draft talls.... Our list composition is that stuffed!

Can we stop listing midfielder after midfielder after flanker after flanker..... We've got a team full of 'em!

Looking forward to next week!
C'mon Derek show us what you've got.

Small forward who is consistent goal kicker, KPD, 2nd String KPF and some father sons please.

How can we afford to give up his lock down defence ? I look at it the other way and think that Rama allows Sinclair to run although Rama's disposal is a bit more reliable. I was hoping at the start of the year that Rama would allow Williams and Sinclair to push higher up the ground as they are the only true "line breakers" we possess from the back half. Better butchering the ball deep into forward 50 than coming out of defence :(

For me Sinner adds enough 1 v 1 so it does very much come down to where you want the ball turned over I'm also very bullish about Maynard's ability to win contests in D50.

IMO, Sinner's ball use is nowhere near as bad as advertised and with the game unfolding in front of him (frontal pressure) as opposed to it chasing him he's a reliable user.

Maynard is rough around the edges, but he'll hold his own in ground level one on one's its when he's isolated against smart players that are always on the move that he gets exploited. That's a system breakdown though. A good case to look at for Maynard was v Betts. He was solid when shoulder to shoulder with him, but got lost in transition because Betts is like a fire cracker withhis reactions.

It's not worth much, but I was chatting to a mate of mine who works for Richmond and we started talking about key forwards, he described James Stewart as "not AFL standard" and said that draft prospect Josh Battle was also no good and that he "isn't a key forward".

However I would still love the pies to pick up James Stewart or Sam Reid. We can't go into 2017 with just Darcy and Jesse

Some of those 'tweeners' can be really hard to pick. There's always guys that everyone gets excited about and then wonders WTF went wrong when they either don't get selected, or go really late then fail. Matthew Panos springs to mind. He was a top 10 'lock' according to all the phantom drafters. 'A CHF in the Pavlich mould'. Didn't get drafted at all. (Rookied years later I think).

Intetesting discussion going on between Lucas and Allen on SEN re a player not playing in a VFL Preliminary Final because they were told not to by a northern club. Intriguing hypothetical if you ask me...

I can confirm that Frost was cleared to play in the Prelim and declined to play.

For me Sinner adds enough 1 v 1 so it does very much come down to where you want the ball turned over I'm also very bullish about Maynard's ability to win contests in D50.

IMO, Sinner's ball use is nowhere near as bad as advertised and with the game unfolding in front of him (frontal pressure) as opposed to it chasing him he's a reliable user.

Maynard is rough around the edges, but he'll hold his own in ground level one on one's its when he's isolated against smart players that are always on the move that he gets exploited. That's a system breakdown though. A good case to look at for Maynard was v Betts. He was solid when shoulder to shoulder with him, but got lost in transition because Betts is like a fire cracker withhis reactions.
Lets hope so. I imagine Maynard as a "see ball get ball" junior and he does get stuck ball watching occasionally on the small forwards. Can't get his head around the idea that someone would cheat from a contest. He did show significant development after the high press / hard zone was let go. Not sure if you heard the statement from Chris Fagan about creating a game style that is simple and allows the inexperienced players too play more than think during a game ? Reckon this applied to Maynard and some others in the team in the first half of the year.

Some of those 'tweeners' can be really hard to pick. There's always guys that everyone gets excited about and then wonders WTF went wrong when they either don't get selected, or go really late then fail. Matthew Panos springs to mind. He was a top 10 'lock' according to all the phantom drafters. 'A CHF in the Pavlich mould'. Didn't get drafted at all. (Rookied years later I think).

It depends on their attributes, IMO. At that height they need vice like hands, pace off the mark and a good tank. By all reports Battle's tank is draft best (Snoop, Knight or VV would need to confirm) so I'd be supremely comfortable taking him within the top 20-25 if he doesn't have any issues with work rate.

Thought I heard tonight on Ch7 news that all our list managers/recruiters have re-signed?

Yep. Tom Browne said after rumours of a shake up within the Collingwood recruiting dept all four recruiters (no names) had been signed up again. Said it showed stability!

Working on it... so far have Fyfe, Mitchell, Lynch, Rance and 2 first rounders coming to us with Witts, Cloke, Frost, 25 and 43 going out. Just need to find another 4th rounder to go to GWS and it should be all systems go! :drunk:;)

This post captures the essence of every 4+ club hypothetical trade ever suggested on this website. :thumbsu:

Lets hope so. I imagine Maynard as a "see ball get ball" junior and he does get stuck ball watching occasionally on the small forwards. Can't get his head around the idea that someone would cheat from a contest. He did show significant development after the high press / hard zone was let go. Not sure if you heard the statement from Chris Fagan about creating a game style that is simple and allows the inexperienced players too play more than think during a game ? Reckon this applied to Maynard and some others in the team in the first half of the year.

Absolutely re Fagon's directive. That defensive setup was woeful early year and I did get a chuckle out of the average BF punter being bang on with our need to tighten up!

The issue was that we weren't quick enough by foot or in the mind to implement it which lead to too much lag and some bog ordinary defensive passages. The St Kilda replay should be burned into the retinas of the FD!

That was my general feel with Maynard he just couldn't transition from U18 to VFL to AFL level and what was expected with each jump. Bar the North match ge'd settled well late season.

FWIW bringing it back on topic. Frost + 25 for Cutler anyone? Now he is one about to explode 18.5 ppg @78% for 414 metres gained has breakout written all over it given he's entering his 4th season! Worst case scenario it gets the blood pressure of lurking Brions supporters to spike ;)

Why? Surely we have enough of his type?
Honestly, every f@#&* pick we have this year should be used to draft talls.... Our list composition is that stuffed!

Can we stop listing midfielder after midfielder after flanker after flanker..... We've got a team full of 'em!
So much this. Only mid id be open to drafting is Villis. But guys like Logue, Battle, Kerr, Maibaum, McCarthy should be our priority. Bolton be good too as an X factor crumbing fwd but I think Daicos should provide that.

Yep. Tom Browne said after rumours of a shake up within the Collingwood recruiting dept all four recruiters (no names) had been signed up again. Said it showed stability!

He did Name Hine: