List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't see why . He only started playing as a back recently. He was always a ruck forward.

If we could cross jamerson athletic abilities with Hedwards defensive experience we would have our next KPD
He made mistakes in the AFL this year that had nothing to do with back craft. Dropped marks that resulted in goals. Terrible below his feet. Poor kicks that resulted in goals. If he had Rothams name he would be slandered.

He didn’t make it in those other positions for the same reasons. He just isn’t afl standard.

You’re a reasonable poster Orange crush, are Perryman and Cumming re-signing? Must be nice to have a production line of good footballers.
I am 70% they’ll resign … Cumming the more likely of the two, but Pez seems very attached to life in Sydney

I think we are offering 650ish x 5 so would need to be significantly more

I am 70% they’ll resign … Cumming the more likely of the two, but Pez seems very attached to life in Sydney

Probably needs to be band 2 for Perryman to shift the needle for him which means an early 20s pick for you. You can’t really lose with your backline depth. Looks like Haynes will be on the move too if he wants a 2 year deal.

From what I am hearing that wont come close to keeping Perryman, IF , it's just based on money, because he will be getting multiple offer better than that.

Harry and his Manager will not be short of keen suitors and they are going to have some serious decisions to make.

Probably needs to be band 2 for Perryman to shift the needle for him which means an early 20s pick for you. You can’t really lose with your backline depth. Looks like Haynes will be on the move too if he wants a 2 year deal.
Band 2 would be great …. I’m unsure on Haynes … as a founding giant we’d love him to stay but on minimum dollars. He’s still got goood footy in him so could see a number of clubs kern

He made mistakes in the AFL this year that had nothing to do with back craft. Dropped marks that resulted in goals. Terrible below his feet. Poor kicks that resulted in goals. If he had Rothams name he would be slandered.

He didn’t make it in those other positions for the same reasons. He just isn’t afl standard.
Its a moot point because he is contracted. He has 18 months to show his wears

From what I am hearing that wont come close to keeping Perryman, IF , it's just based on money, because he will be getting multiple offer better than that.

Harry and his Manager will not be short of keen suitors and they are going to have some serious decisions to make.
He’ll get bigger offers but he’s not really a star …. Can’t pay everyone 800+

Agree and that the problem you have when you get a talent stacked list, not everyone can get the big bucks.

Mind you thats a great place to be in for a Club in a Premiership window, the better sides the last decade have been able to keep the band together by them taking collective unders, OR, trading out players and collecting good draft capital to restock the youthful talent larder.

Your window will be open for another 5 years, so it's inevitable with the talent that you have, that some of it will be lost to lesser performing Clubs and particularly those that come calling with a heavy purse.

Of course money is not always every players motivator, many will take less to keep the band of brothers together.

Agree and that the problem you have when you get a talent stacked list, not everyone can get the big bucks.

Mind you thats a great place to be in for a Club in a Premiership window, the better side the last decade have been able to keep the band together by them taking collective unders, OR, trading out players and collecting good draft capital to restock the youthful talent larder.

Your window will be open for another 5 years, so it's inevitable with the talent that you have, that some of it will be lost to lesser performing Clubs and particularly those that come calling with a heavy purse.

Of course money is not always every players motivator, many will take less to keep the band of brothers together.
Spot on! I think there is a feeling around the club that if they take small unders they can keep the band together and be a threat for years to come … Himmel, Green, Taylor, Buckley Callaghan have all resigned lately

McCluggage now signed on for seven years. Everyone wants to avoid Tassie and losing players back to their home states by the looks of it

Every time I either read or hear the name " Hugh McCluggage" a smile comes to my face.

Because it reminds me that, the dead set smart arsed Adrian Dodoro, took Andrew McGrath before Hugh.
The Dodo Bird always tried to be too cleaver by half and this one, has come back to bit him on the arse.

It was a total head scratcher of a decision IMO, as I just didn't get the logic of drafting a fast half back flanker, before a goal kicking midfielder, a real WTF moment in draft history. :shrug:

Thus far into the careers:

AM - 146 games and 20 goals.
HM - 166 games and 103 goals.

Goal kicking mids are a scarce commodity and when they become available with your draft pick, IMO, you never hesitate and take them.

Every time I either read or hear the name " Hugh McCluggage" a smile comes to my face.

Because it reminds me that, the dead set smart arsed Adrian Dodoro, took Andrew McGrath before Hugh.
The Dodo Bird always tried to be too cleaver by half and this one, has come back to bit him on the arse.

It was a total head scratcher of a decision IMO, as I just didn't get the logic of drafting a fast half back flanker, before a goal kicking midfielder, a real WTF moment in draft history. :shrug:

Thus far into the careers:

AM - 146 games and 20 goals.
HM - 166 games and 103 goals.

Goal kicking mids are a scarce commodity and when they become available with your draft pick, IMO, you never hesitate and take them.
Mccluggage would have a goal a game if he didn't have the yips with his goal kicking too

I feel that a Jake Waterman style amnesty for Cal Jamieson will one day appear on this board

How's the top 5 looking, ik there are some mids there. Top 2 generational, 3-5 AA potential? give me some player comps

we just need another high talent mid to add
There’s one WA mid available next year that kicks goals, is evasive, hits the contest at pace. Chad Warner clone.

Good for him financially I suppose but I would have thought that we would have been able to at least match, if not beat what GWS were offering. Our current plight means we’re not a destination club even for WA boys.

Fair dinkum, there must be some creative accounting going on at GWS in cahoots with their AFL parent. Salary cap would have to be tighter than a nun’s karnt.

Coniglio, Kelly, Green, Greene, Whitfield & Himmelberg all on big money deals. Surely Taylor wouldn’t have re-signed for less than $900k pa.

Signing for 7 years to stay at a VFL club feeder franchise in front of home crowds of 10,000. Good luck to you Sam.