List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

Sorry but Georgiades is worth far more than Rioli, not the other way around. I can see it being something like Rioli + 25 (I know we can't give it back but something around there or slightly later seems fair)
Actually, I’m pretty sure you can give it back.

You can’t trade it back in the same trade & draft period, but you can trade it back in the following years trade period.

I was trying to get a multi-team trade along the lines of

Gold Coast gain: pick 2
Gold Coast lose: pick 5 (Rankine), pick 7

Melbourne gain: pick 5, Grundy
Melbourne lose: Jackson

West Coast gain: Jackson, pick 7
West Coast lose: pick 2, pick 20, Williams

Collingwood gain: pick 20, Williams
Collingwood lose: Grundy

But it depends on Gold Coast wanting to trade up which I’m not sure they do, Collingwood wanting Williams in as ruck depth which I’m not sure they would, and Melbourne accepting unders for Jackson simply because it’s probably still better than Fremantle’s offer. And I still don’t like it from our point of view.

Too hard. Let Freo have him.

For a Big Footy trade, I think you’ve done pretty well. If we can pull that off, it really would be great but I still think Jackson will land at Fremantle.

Also, I reckon GWS might be willing to trade up if they get 2-3 1sts for Hopper, Taranto, Bruhn etc.

Surely the picks Freo would get for Lobb and Co wouldn’t be enough for Melbourne?? Unless they try to package a heap of picks and get closer to the top 5-10? If they get 11 and have 13 already, would that be enough on its own? I’m torn whether I actually want Jackson, but I do like the idea of taking him, knowing Freo want him. I’m also torn on the trading pick 2 for him? It’s a bit like the Kelly deal. Everyone says we sold the farm for him, who’s to say the kids we picked with late first rounders would amount to anything close to what Kelly was showing at the time? Same with this one, who’s to say pick 2 turns out to better than what Jackson is?

Heaps;

Gawn - pick 34
Cox - Rookie
Mumford - pick 57
Nankervis - pick 35
Witts - pick 67
Jacobs - Rookie
Darcy - pick 38
Goldstein - pick 37

Meanwhile every ruck or tall taken in the top 10 between 2008 and 2016 (I feel five years on a list is enough time to judge whether a tall is capable) - ignoring Patton and Boyd who people correctly pointed out probably didn't live up to their potential:

Watts - pick 1 (174 games)
Naitanui - pick 2 (213 games)
Vickery - pick 8 (125 games)
Davis - pick 10 (267 games)
Day - pick 3 (147 games)
Longer - pick 8 (66 games)
Plowman - pick 3 (144 games)
Stringer - pick 5 (172 games)
Daniher - pick 10 (150 games)
P McCartin - pick 1 (57 games)
Wright - pick 8 (109 games)
D Moore - pick 9 (125 games)
Weitering - pick 1 (133 games)
Schache - pick 2 (72 games)
Weideman - pick 9 (59 games)
McKay - pick 10 (86 games)

Of that list, they have all contributed significantly (except maybe Schache) and of the non-active players, only Longer may be a disappointment and even then he showed glimpses but was plagued by injury - which can also apply to Paddy McCartin too.

You'd find the later rounds of drafts are also littered with spare parts ruckmen and project talls that played no or single digit number of games - gems like Cox and Sandilands were more through luck rather than knowing a genuine elite tall had slipped into the rookie draft.

But it depends on Gold Coast wanting to trade up which I’m not sure they do, Collingwood wanting Williams in as ruck depth which I’m not sure they would, and Melbourne accepting unders for Jackson simply because it’s probably still better than Fremantle’s offer. And I still don’t like it from our point of view.

Adelaide gain: Rankine
Adelaide lose: pick 5

Gold Coast lose: Rankine, pick 7

Melbourne gain: Grundy, pick 5, Freo future 1st
Melbourne lose: Jackson, pick 32

West Coast gain: Meek, Georgiades, pick 7, pick 32
West Coast lose: Williams, Rioli, pick 2, pick 38

Collingwood gain: Williams, pick 13

Freo gain: Jackson, pick 53
Freo lose: Meek, pick 13, future 1st

Port gain: Rioli, pick 38
Port lose: Georgiades, pick 53
Gold Coast the big losers there. Pick 2 would want to be some type of player if it costs them Rankine and pick 7!

The other issue with using pick 2 on Jackson is that he theoretically makes our first rounder next year worse as he “should” help us win more games next year. That’s a lose lose.
More reasons to trade our future first for Jackson, keep this years pick 2 for Wardlaw. Add Jackson and Wardlaw, easier fixtures and improvement/ injured players available next year.

Back us in the get back up the ladder, and not be happy to endure another year like 22.

Our first pick next year could be 8-12

I know it is Gold Coast but no way would they trade 5 and 7 for 2 .

I think they’d do 5 and 7 for 2 and 20 potentially

I could see them wanting to secure Sheezel or even Tsatas

But yeah, I think GWS might be more likely once they get a warload of picks from Taranto, Bruhn and Hopper

I think they’d do 5 and 7 for 2 and 20 potentially

I could see them wanting to secure Sheezel or even Tsatas

But yeah, I think GWS might be more likely once they get a warload of picks from Taranto, Bruhn and Hopper
Say it was around the other way, we have 5 and 7, would you trade them for 2 and 20 ? Clubs all have different needs, but no one is doing that deal.

If there was a prospect I wanted, then yeah, that’s what it will depend on. I’m not sure why you think that’s an incredibly bad deal for GC either, I don’t think it is, not saying they’d definitely do it, but I think there’s a chance if they are hell bent on Sheezel or Tsatas.

All this nonsense about Jackson. There is no way we are in the market for Jackson. Just an elaborate plot to keep the boys down the road on edge.

Would have to add our future 2nd (going to GC) into the trade. I think GC would want another future pick also (maybe Melbourne's future 2nd - possible that GC then send their future 3rd back).

I think the easiest 'multi trade' for us (assuming we are even a chance at Jackson) is chasing GC's future 1st, then also looking to split pick 2 this year.

Basically end up with 2 x 2022 1st rounders around the 10-14 mark (from pick 2 plus a sweetener) and 2 x 2023 1st rounders (from our future 2nd, another future 2nd for Rioli, plus a bit more) ours plus GC's.

Then offer our highest this year (say pick 10) plus GC's future 1st for Jackson.

It's a lot of work on a 'maybe he wants to come here' but essentially costs us Rioli, pick 2 down to pick 14 this year plus our future 2nd.

Meanwhile every ruck or tall taken in the top 10 between 2008 and 2016 (I feel five years on a list is enough time to judge whether a tall is capable) - ignoring Patton and Boyd who people correctly pointed out probably didn't live up to their potential:

Day - pick 3 (147 games)

Of that list, they have all contributed significantly (except maybe Schache) and of the non-active players, only Longer may be a disappointment and even then he showed glimpses but was plagued by injury - which can also apply to Paddy McCartin too.

You'd find the later rounds of drafts are also littered with spare parts ruckmen and project talls that played no or single digit number of games - gems like Cox and Sandilands were more through luck rather than knowing a genuine elite tall had slipped into the rookie draft.
Great list. Question is, how many outright stars? Naitanui, Moore. Tough call.

If you go by All Australians as a rough guide for elite rucks (since 2012)...

Minson - pick 20
Cox - rookie
Sandilands - rookie
Goldstein - pick 37
Ryder - pick 7
Grundy - pick 18
Naitanui - pick 2
Gawn - pick 34

Day - pick 3 (147 games)

Plowman, Day, Vickery all spuds. Weideman very much a fringe player still.

I love a good convoluted trade scenario so here it goes.

Let Junior Walk for Ports second next year. We'll call it pick 30.

Trade Gold Coast our second and third rounders next year and Ports second. Let's call them picks 22, 30, 40 for pick 8 and 34. It's 190 points in our favour but Gold Coast get to bank 1903 points for next years academy boys. If we finish lower than 15th it's a bigger win for GC but if Port finish higer than 7th it's a small downgrade as well.

Trade Brisbane picks 27, 35 & 39 for pick 16 (assuming they lose this week and all picks get pushed back one point) That's a 600 point upgrade for Brisbane.

Offer picks 8 and 16 for Jackson.

Go to the draft with picks 2 & 20.

OUT: Junior Rioli, picks 26, 38 and 2023 second and third round picks.
IN: Luke Jackson.

Essentially we are offering Junior Rioli and two second round & third round picks for Jackson and keeping our first and second this year and next years first in the process.

Plowman, Day, Vickery all spuds. Weideman very much a fringe player still.

The former three were serviceable. We all mock Vickery now but back then he did his job effectively.

Weideman is an interesting case but for now he sits in the 'pass' category.

The former three were serviceable. We all mock Vickery now but back then he did his job effectively.

Weideman is an interesting case but for now he sits in the 'pass' category.
Only a closet Melbourne supporter reading from his PDA at the ski slopes could think this

It
What would the narrative be around the trade value of Jackson if it were Freo who’d used a high pick on him and he wanted a trade to Victoria?
Cerra went for pick 6 and a future 3rd. Jackson would be worth more than that I would have thought.
I’d say a top 10 pick and early second or future 2nd.