List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

I'm still baffled with Rotham being contracted until the END of 2024.

Gee whiz we really have a habit of handing out medium/long term contracts to C grade players willy Nilly. Petrucelle, Rotham. Langdon for 3 years. Struth.

Just pump the breaks ffs. I get you need to give targeted players incentive to move here, but for players we already have on the books it seems very reckless.

Imagine Langdon being THAT important to the club we gift him 3 years. Despite the fact he was a bit player in and out of the GWS line-up.

Screen Shot 2022-09-30 at 8.42.58 pm.png

Expecting a few more delistings. Here is a revised best guess at our team to start the season, with ages as of Round 1, 2023 indicated.

That's the team to start the season, which should look very different to our team that finishes the season, and also assumes a fully available squad (flipping lol). Also assumes Rioli nets us Pick 27.

By my count, those delisting and acquisitions (and assuming we take our draft picks rather than bundling for a better one), would give us 37 on the main list with two rookies (West and Culley).

Hough is the one i scratch my head about, with the carry on on here.

Yes, I get that he's raw and I love his athleticism and desperation, it's very exciting, but..... do people just not see his disposals or...?

Talked about like he's Judd, yet constantly cooks us with dinky loopy kicks, direct turnovers or lollipop handballs. Need to tighten up on that quick smart or he'll get pegged as Rosa MK II, then pigeon holed as a lockdown defender on smalls. That'll probably happen anyway I reckon. Bailey Dale is who he should be modelling his game on.
I see a young Nelson. Not the exact type of player but I think he’ll be around the 22 without being special

I'm still baffled with Rotham being contracted until the END of 2024.

Gee whiz we really have a habit of handing out medium/long term contracts to C grade players willy Nilly. Petrucelle, Rotham. Langdon for 3 years. Struth.

Just pump the breaks ffs. I get you need to give targeted players incentive to move here, but for players we already have on the books it seems very reckless.

Imagine Langdon being THAT important to the club we gift him 3 years. Despite the fact he was a bit player in and out of the GWS line-up.

Look just hold up there young fella.

Langdon has the legs of a God. He is there to set standards.

1610610487872_G4N33NAE5.1-0.JPG

You know it. He knows it. Barrett knows it. Everyone knows it.

So I think it is fair enough that if you 👉 are having a crack at his ☝️football abilities I think you 👈 should back it up with a photo of your 👈🤌 legs.

Pics of GTFO

PS: I know we are now sponsored by Jim Beam but geez the JD Tennessee Honey is pretty fine on the rocks👋👋🤪

Adding Hunt and Narkle for only cap space would be a win.

Hopefully in play for Dev and Sharpe but happy to wait a year if they have indicated they want to return home. Happy to flip the Rioli pick for either
Yep! Dev,Hunt,Narkle and Sharpe. What a recruiting team!!

Culley is an ideal Redden replacement. Tackles like a madman, tough in the clinches, big enough to make oppo mids work for it.

Probs going to have issues spreading offensively or finding uncontested ball (Just like Red Bull Rowell), but like Thorne said, there's plenty to work with.

Worst case, turn him into a run with player.

Just have to be cautious we don't bring in too many more draftees like just like him. Need some outside run, pace, X factor.
Just need to add some players with swervability to get through the traffic. Go Eagles will reappear and we’ll win a premiership.

I don't get the Hunt pickup. I could probably see it if we were pushing for top 4 and needed some more dare off the half back...but we are at the ass end of the table and I'd have thought the last thing we need right now is cast off 27 year olds from other clubs. I'd have thought the draft would be our main focus for the next few years unless a genuine A grade star wanted to come back home.

Don’t really understand it but i reckon he’s gotta bit of sex about him. Defs provides something we lack
In all honesty he’ll be good to have as our youngins develop.
He’s an upgrade on a lot of the players on our list and will help us from being historically bad again next season.

Not a massive fan of the Hunt signing but once it’s offical that’s he’s an Eagle I’ll support him to the end.

Might even get me a headband

I don't get the Hunt pickup. I could probably see it if we were pushing for top 4 and needed some more dare off the half back...but we are at the ass end of the table and I'd have thought the last thing we need right now is cast off 27 year olds from other clubs. I'd have thought the draft would be our main focus for the next few years unless a genuine A grade star wanted to come back home.

That's the thing - a pick up like this is an experienced durable head won't cost us our focus on the draft for this year and beyond. I'd be bemused if we paid an actual draft pick but as a free shot - meh, could do a lot worse. Likely to not turn out to be much good or be around for our next flag tilt but we cannot gut all the fading senior players at once and keep playing nothing but teenagers like Melbourne in the Bailey/Neeld era.

Better than the bottom 10 (at least) on our list and in an age bracket we need....wouldn't be against it

If we can again snatch him for nothing I wouldn't be opposed.

This is the sort of astute recruitment we need if we want to rebuild via the draft. Shown glimpses and wouldn't cost much.

Questions over first year (or even .5 years) players is a little premature.

Culley showed a lot of the c-word about him which has been missing since JK’s bender to sink Richmond.

Hough is a twig and I was shocked to see how much he even played. Yes kicking is a little iffy but this guy oozes composure which IMO, you either have it or you don’t.

That's the thing - a pick up like this is an experienced durable head won't cost us our focus on the draft for this year and beyond. I'd be bemused if we paid an actual draft pick but as a free shot - meh, could do a lot worse. Likely to not turn out to be much good or be around for our next flag tilt but we cannot gut all the fading senior players at once and keep playing nothing but teenagers like Melbourne in the Bailey/Neeld era.
Indeed, or the North Melbourne now era.

Anyone questioning the recruitment of hunt +\- narkle forgets that Simpson is coaching for his career at the expense of complete rebuild. Would you prefer wooden spoon and pick 1 or a bit more fight and pick 1-6?

I’d say after all the heat the Eagles are in for a torturous preseason.For that reason alone I’d keep Winder.he’s very talented and one big season could make or break him.There’s no substitute for talent!
Hough has in a very short time come from country footy to AFL level. When I first saw the skinny *ucker I thought bloody hell. But he’s hard at it and makes good decisions. Another big preseason and who knows?
Hunt is handy and cheap.Far better value than say a West? But happy or unhappy about the decision don’t compound it by adding Sharpes, Robertson,Narkle and any other castoff that nobody else wants.
I know most won’t agree with me but I think Xon can replace Reddan.Not as good a mark but has a much better left and has lifted his tackling rate.Looked to have bulked up this year.Reddan always seemed to rack up acceptable tackling numbers but I mainly remember him as a coraller to the point of madness( mine)

The Demons are not prepared to add an extra pick to the deal, with the Dockers not keen to use an extra selection to move up the board.

West Coast has also looked closely at Jackson and has the No.2 pick in the pre-season draft if a trade fell through, but the Eagles are not prepared to use their No.2 national draft selection in a direct deal for the 21-year-old.

Love it, about time we played hardball this time of year
What Melbourne want and what Melbourne Get are 2 different things .

Has Richard Taylor retired? Could provide some handy experience through the midfield and protect the kids by enabling them to play for the Beagles.